New call-to-action
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Bubble Help Not Working In Runtime

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Craig Schumacker
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Posts
    729

    Default Bubble Help Not Working In Runtime

    Has anyone else noticed that bubble help works in the developer version, but not in the runtime?

    Or is it just me?

    I am using 12.3 Build 2446-4365...

    Thanks in advance for your time.

  2. #2
    Member
    Real Name
    Craig Schumacker
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Posts
    729

    Default Re: Bubble Help Not Working In Runtime

    never mind.... It was on my end.

    Thank you, anyway.

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Craig Schumacker
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Posts
    729

    Default Re: Bubble Help Not Working In Runtime

    In case someone else experiences this....

    In my case, the application gets opened by a custom EXE, which allows the full screen to be filled by the application on dedicated machines. No windows taskbar is visible.

    Apparently, for reasons yet unknown, bubble help doesn't work in that scenario.

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic MoGrace's Avatar
    Real Name
    Robin
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    3,739

    Default Re: Bubble Help Not Working In Runtime

    Hi Craig,

    There is a script in here from Selwyn that allows you to turn bubble help on and off from a menu selection. Even if your issue is resolved you might find it useful. If it doesn't show up in a link at the bottom of the page, perhaps I can find it for you - if you are interested.

    Found it here
    Last edited by MoGrace; 04-02-2015 at 01:31 AM.
    Robin

    Discernment is not needed in things that differ, but in those things that appear to be the same. - Miles Sanford

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    Craig Schumacker
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Posts
    729

    Default Re: Bubble Help Not Working In Runtime

    Robin:

    Thank you! I will try this tomorrow, and report back if it helped in my case.

    I suspect that it has to do with the window I am opening the runtime in - no window bar at the top and no taskbar at the bottom.

    Everything else works perfectly, though. I just use the bubble help in a couple places where room forces a smaller font than a typical middle-aged person can see well.

    (The link brought back fond memories of when Selwyn spent so much time on the board.)

  6. #6
    "Certified" Alphaholic MoGrace's Avatar
    Real Name
    Robin
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    3,739

    Default Re: Bubble Help Not Working In Runtime

    You can import this function into your control panel

    bubbleHelpToggle04-02-2015.txt

    Then call it in a menu item under View named "Bubble Help" and it should show checked when active:

    bubblehelptoggle(topparent.this)

    Oops - you will need this function too for setting up the menu item to show its checked state:

    bubbleHelpState04-02-2015.txt

    bubblehelpstate(topparent.this) = "ON"

    One more discovery - if you edit the Form View system menu and add this item, it will appear as an option you can select when you design a custom menu.
    Last edited by MoGrace; 04-02-2015 at 01:54 PM.
    Robin

    Discernment is not needed in things that differ, but in those things that appear to be the same. - Miles Sanford

  7. #7
    Member
    Real Name
    Craig Schumacker
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Posts
    729

    Default Re: Bubble Help Not Working In Runtime

    Robin:

    I tried your solution, but to no avail.

    While your functions (and Selwyn's) work in a normal window, they have no effect in full screen windows.

    I guess it's not that the bubble help is toggled off, it just does not work in a window with no windowbar at the top. It has nothing to do directly with Alpha.

    Thank you so much for your effort, but we can let it go at this point. I will need to break down the EXE, and seek a solution there.

    I'll keep the functions, though!

  8. #8
    "Certified" Alphaholic MoGrace's Avatar
    Real Name
    Robin
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    3,739

    Default Re: Bubble Help Not Working In Runtime

    Craig,
    I've been testing it again too. It seems the functions Selwyn wrote test first if there is bubble help on the current form and the option appears checked because when the form opens it begins as ON. I believe that in ver 8 it worked as expected, but testing in ver 11, the menu item only seems to work on the table the menu item was related to, eg in a right click menu. So my original intent to have this work generically for any form from the top menu- as the topparent.this pointer ought to; needs some further work...
    Robin

    Discernment is not needed in things that differ, but in those things that appear to be the same. - Miles Sanford

  9. #9
    VAR
    Real Name
    Martin W. Cole
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Terrell, Texas (near Dallas)
    Posts
    5,963

    Default Re: Bubble Help Not Working In Runtime

    I don't open my app with a custom exe, but I am running in runtime and with a fullscreen app, and bubble help works just fine.
    I have it on certain buttons and certain fields in certain screens/forms.
    Cole Custom Programming - Terrell, Texas
    972 524 8714
    martin_w_cole@msn.com

    ____________________
    "A young man who is not liberal has no heart, but an old man who is not conservative has no mind." GB Shaw

  10. #10
    Member
    Real Name
    Craig Schumacker
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Posts
    729

    Default Re: Bubble Help Not Working In Runtime

    Martin

    I'm not sure our definition of "Fullscreen" is the same. If it is, you know something I never knew.

    By fullscreen, I mean no window title bar at the top, and no taskbar at the bottom. Just like a AA web app, where the app utilizes all the screen real estate.

    In a regular window, with a title bar, the bubblehelp works just fine with both dev and runtime versions.

    Is that how you define fullscreen?

    I need to do this for two reasons:

    1) The app runs on desktops (with touchscreens) and tablets, and with Windows 10, it will run on a smartphone - with any luck.

    2) The app runs on devices dedicated solely to the app. Users cannot use, say, Chrome, and infect or deteriorate the efficiency and security of the device.

    Thanks for your input , as I am just realizing you know what this app does, already, from our conversations...

    At any rate, no one need lose time giving this much thought. The only reason I use it is to "Blow up" text that required a smaller font than I would have prefered on a tablet.

    I use 12 pt Verdana just about everywhere, except in a couple places.

    And thank you to Robin and Martin, for your input!
    Last edited by CraigSchumacker; 04-04-2015 at 09:01 PM.

  11. #11
    VAR
    Real Name
    Martin W. Cole
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Terrell, Texas (near Dallas)
    Posts
    5,963

    Default Re: Bubble Help Not Working In Runtime

    By full screen, I run it maximized - all forms and layouts take up the entire screen
    I have no menus or toolbars on any form
    And I use bubble help for objects on the form, not the form itself
    Cole Custom Programming - Terrell, Texas
    972 524 8714
    martin_w_cole@msn.com

    ____________________
    "A young man who is not liberal has no heart, but an old man who is not conservative has no mind." GB Shaw

  12. #12
    Member
    Real Name
    Craig Schumacker
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Posts
    729

    Default Re: Bubble Help Not Working In Runtime

    That is what I thought you meant.

    I'm not sure how menu or toolbars got into the conversation...

    I have no Windows Title Bar or Windows Task Bar. Those two objects are not part of Alpha; they are components of Windows. That is the difference between your setup and mine.

    At any rate, this is no crisis...
    Last edited by CraigSchumacker; 04-05-2015 at 06:45 AM.

Similar Threads

  1. Difference between bubble help and bubble help text
    By lgrupido in forum Application Server Version 11 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-15-2013, 02:33 PM
  2. Buttons working on XP Machine but not Windows7 (runtime)
    By mfriesen in forum Alpha Five Version 11 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-16-2012, 04:24 AM
  3. Bubble help not working with Check Boxes
    By smrogers in forum Alpha Five Version 8
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-05-2007, 10:21 AM
  4. runtime closing application not working well
    By Wesolson in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-12-2006, 11:16 AM
  5. start up form on runtime v7 not working
    By jbcc in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 12-20-2005, 07:57 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •