Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Error Saving UX component

  1. #1
    Member leetv's Avatar
    Real Name
    Lee Taylor-Vaughan
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Hillsborough, NJ/Avondale, AZ/Sheffield, UK
    Posts
    352

    Default Error Saving UX component

    Hello!

    I'm trying to save changes to a UX component, however, i'm getting the following error:

    Script:UI_DLG_BOX:@=genericPageBuilder_title_var_162438523
    Line 2647
    flagsave = saveComponent(wp,local_variables())
    Property not found
    wp2.page_fields[] subelement not found.


    Anyone have any idea how i fix this? or what this means?


    Thanks
    Lee

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic peteconway's Avatar
    Real Name
    Peter Conway
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,672

    Default Re: Error Saving UX component

    What build?
    Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.
    Albert Einstein, (attributed)
    US (German-born) physicist (1879 - 1955)

  3. #3
    Member leetv's Avatar
    Real Name
    Lee Taylor-Vaughan
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Hillsborough, NJ/Avondale, AZ/Sheffield, UK
    Posts
    352

    Default Re: Error Saving UX component

    Quote Originally Posted by peteconway View Post
    What build?
    I'm using latest build of alpha anywhere.

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic peteconway's Avatar
    Real Name
    Peter Conway
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,672

    Default Re: Error Saving UX component

    Official release?
    Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.
    Albert Einstein, (attributed)
    US (German-born) physicist (1879 - 1955)

  5. #5
    Member leetv's Avatar
    Real Name
    Lee Taylor-Vaughan
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Hillsborough, NJ/Avondale, AZ/Sheffield, UK
    Posts
    352

    Default Re: Error Saving UX component

    Quote Originally Posted by peteconway View Post
    Official release?
    yes. Official release.

  6. #6
    "Certified" Alphaholic Clipper87's Avatar
    Real Name
    Frank
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Antwerp, Belgium
    Posts
    1,891

    Default Re: Error Saving UX component

    This is clearly a bug. Probably only seen if you have some specific control or a control with some specific properties set on your UX. Revert to earlier versions of your UX (right click on the component in webprojects control panel & restore backup & see when it occurs. Then try to replicate it with the simplest possible ux & if you succeed send in a bug report. It will be fixed probably by the next day if not sooner & the community will be thankful to you :-)
    Frank

    Tell me and I'll forget; show me and I may remember; involve me and I'll understand

  7. #7
    Member leetv's Avatar
    Real Name
    Lee Taylor-Vaughan
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Hillsborough, NJ/Avondale, AZ/Sheffield, UK
    Posts
    352

    Default Re: Error Saving UX component

    Thanks I'll work on your recommendation.

  8. #8
    "Certified" Alphaholic TheSmitchell's Avatar
    Real Name
    Sarah
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    1,334

    Default Re: Error Saving UX component

    I run into these issues quite often. Closing the app and relaunching AA usually fixes the issue. Worst case scenario, do as Frank suggests and roll back the component to a previous version. Though, that's not always a sure thing. On rare occasions I've had to rebuild components.
    Alpha Anywhere latest pre-release

  9. #9
    Member leetv's Avatar
    Real Name
    Lee Taylor-Vaughan
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Hillsborough, NJ/Avondale, AZ/Sheffield, UK
    Posts
    352

    Default Re: Error Saving UX component

    I wasn't able to roll back due to a file system issue and all files had the same date/time! grr... in the end i uninstalled AA and reinstalled it. I've ran into these also from time to time and I often end up just re-creating the object.
    after reinstall of AA: It still didn't work and i couldn't find where it was erring. I'm on such a time crunch today to get this done that i just recreated to UX and thus far it's working flawlessly. I could always submit as a bug, however, the time to make an Sql back up right now is not in my time constraints for today. i have it on my list of things to do later this evening.

  10. #10
    "Certified" Alphaholic TheSmitchell's Avatar
    Real Name
    Sarah
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    1,334

    Default Re: Error Saving UX component

    Quote Originally Posted by leetv View Post
    I wasn't able to roll back due to a file system issue and all files had the same date/time! grr... in the end i uninstalled AA and reinstalled it. I've ran into these also from time to time and I often end up just re-creating the object.
    after reinstall of AA: It still didn't work and i couldn't find where it was erring. I'm on such a time crunch today to get this done that i just recreated to UX and thus far it's working flawlessly. I could always submit as a bug, however, the time to make an Sql back up right now is not in my time constraints for today. i have it on my list of things to do later this evening.
    Submitting a bug can be hard on these problems. If you can, send it in. But a bad file doesn't necessarily lend any clues to how it happened, so the root problem may not be found. I had a similar problem occur earlier today when I changed the "Conditional Style Level" on a control from "Cell" to "Control". Alpha bugged out and wouldn't save. After a restart of AA, I could change the style level with no issues. So it's not like you can point to that property definitively and say "X happens whenever I Y".
    Alpha Anywhere latest pre-release

  11. #11
    Member leetv's Avatar
    Real Name
    Lee Taylor-Vaughan
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Hillsborough, NJ/Avondale, AZ/Sheffield, UK
    Posts
    352

    Default Re: Error Saving UX component

    Quote Originally Posted by TheSmitchell View Post
    Submitting a bug can be hard on these problems. If you can, send it in. But a bad file doesn't necessarily lend any clues to how it happened, so the root problem may not be found. I had a similar problem occur earlier today when I changed the "Conditional Style Level" on a control from "Cell" to "Control". Alpha bugged out and wouldn't save. After a restart of AA, I could change the style level with no issues. So it's not like you can point to that property definitively and say "X happens whenever I Y".
    Thanks. I tried to re-create the issue by removing a few controls from my UX at a time and saving (to eliminate which control it is) and nothing seems to be helping. I just recreated. I'll still send a bug report, but I don't have much to give Alpha in the ways of recreating the bug. :(

    Thanks everyone.

    Lee

  12. #12
    "Certified" Alphaholic peteconway's Avatar
    Real Name
    Peter Conway
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,672

    Default Re: Error Saving UX component

    Sorry I can't add any more on this.. I do in the past that if this kind thing did surface I would shut down and revert to the last working copy from the auto backups.
    Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.
    Albert Einstein, (attributed)
    US (German-born) physicist (1879 - 1955)

  13. #13
    "Certified" Alphaholic CharlesParker's Avatar
    Real Name
    Charles Parker
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    New Orleans, LA
    Posts
    2,158

    Default Re: Error Saving UX component

    It seems to me that one thing that keeps surfacing is having a hidden control as the last control in a container and or in a component. If you have any hidden fields move them up always. If you look at the release notes, and or follow pre-release versions you will see ocasional errors with this - that do get fixed ASAP. The other thing that keeps popping up are edit-combo errors. This may have nothing to do with your particular error BUT if you have either condition - a hidden field as the last control, or an edit-combo dropdown I would suggest eliminating them and test. If it is repeatable send it in as a bug otherwise it could be numerous things. When I run into an error like this on save, the first thing I do is select all objects and "copy to clipboard". Create a new UX, paste the controls and start removing them until it works. This helps find the offenders FAST.
    NWCOPRO: Nuisance Wildlife Control Software My Application: http://www.nwcopro.com "Without forgetting, we would have no memory at all...now what was I saying?"

Similar Threads

  1. Saving data in embedded UX component
    By CampnJim in forum Mobile & Browser Applications
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-19-2016, 11:24 AM
  2. UX Control - Component not saving
    By RobGordon in forum Mobile & Browser Applications
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-30-2014, 11:57 AM
  3. Error saving login component
    By eduran582 in forum Application Server Version 8
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-11-2008, 07:54 AM
  4. Error when saving dialog component
    By Louis Nickerson in forum Web Application Server v6
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-17-2005, 08:22 AM
  5. Error when saving grid component
    By Dermot in forum Web Application Server v6
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-18-2005, 11:48 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •