Alpha DevCon 2018

Thread: Apha 4v4 - Printing issue

Real Name
    Denise Graff

Default Apha 4v4 - Printing issue

I've never worked with Alpha databases before but have a decent knowledge with databases and techie things in general. My company has asked me to take a look at their Alpha Four programs and get some things working. Specific issue that needs to be addresses ASAP is printing. The user that has the computer with Alpha Four on it, if she attempts to print, it closes out Alpha Four on her. She is running Windows 7. Others are printing to the same network printer that she is without issue. Four users, only 2 can print. Where do I start to get this issue resolved?

Real Name
    Dave Mason

Default Re: Apha 4v4 - Printing issue

Hi Denise,

Welcome to the forum

Most of us left a4 many years ago. There are still a few that remember and a few that still use it.
    I have never used it since windows 2000 came out.
    Hopefully someone with more knowledge and memory will show up to help you.

One question I am sure will need to be answered. What is different from the 2 computers that DO print and the 2 computers that do NOT print?
    Dave Mason
    dave@aldaweb.com

Skype is dave.mason46

Real Name
    Paul Verboom

As with anything DOS based, it's going to get increasing difficult to Alpha4 working each successive version of windows. You may wish to consider using a DOS emulator under windows. The following free one has good reviews;
    http://sourceforge.net/projects/vdos/

It is based on DOSbox which is used run old games on modern PC's. It emulates a DOS-PC, but is intended for “serious”, non-gaming, programs. It lacks most of the hardware emulation of DOSbox like non-vga graphics, joysticks, soundcards and the like. Instead it offers a live file system, file/record locking, printing and a scalable font/window. You can have a look at:
    youtube.com/watch?v=IIdtsvuDfr0
    youtube.com/watch?v=jCCFFIi60VQ
    youtube.com/watch?v=SYLQPjXHKsc