Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 1 of 1

Thread: Editors: Cascading Dropdown Boxes

  1. #1
    Alpha Software Employee Beta Spark's Avatar
    Real Name
    Sarah Mitchell
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    425

    Default Editors: Cascading Dropdown Boxes

    Last week, we posted about Dropdown Box Editors. This week, we want to continue the discussion about dropdown boxes with how you would create cascading dropdown boxes.

    A cascading dropdown box is a dropdown box whose choices are dependent on the selection made in "parent" control. The parent control can be another dropdown box, checkbox, radio control, etc. The child dropdown box's choices are filtered and populated based on the value of the parent field.

    In a Grid or UX Component, cascading dropdown boxes are often implemented using multiple dropdown box controls. With the new Editors for tablet forms, however, you only need one dropdown box control for all fields that can be edited with a dropdown box.

    The example in this video filters the chioces for a City field based on the selection made for the State field. Learn how the choices for the dropdown box are generated based on the data in the List control and how to populate the City field with values that are only available for the selected State.

    Cascading Dropdownbox Editors



    Video Link: https://www.viddler.com/v/e363f182

    Prerequisite Knowledge Base

    Cascading Dropdown box editors builds upon the FormView control and basic dropdown box editors. If you missed the posts on these items, don't worry! We've linked them for you below:

    • Introduction to the FormView Control: This gives an overview of the FormView control and a basic introduction to Editors and Editor Sets
    • Editors: Using a Dropdown Box: This discussion covers how to configure and populate a Dropdown Box Editor, allowing you to have one dropdown box control for editing multiple fields in your form.
    Last edited by Beta Spark; 04-16-2019 at 05:00 PM.
    Sarah Mitchell

    Looking for answers? Try our documentation.
    If you can't find something, let us know!

Similar Threads

  1. Editors: Using a Dropdown Box
    By Beta Spark in forum Tablet-Optimized Form Capabilities Beta
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-05-2016, 04:50 PM
  2. Can i use 1 parent dropdown box for multiple cascading drop down boxes ???
    By Corne in forum Mobile & Browser Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-13-2013, 04:18 PM
  3. How to refresh cascading child dropdown boxes
    By timbochard in forum Application Server Version 11 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-09-2012, 03:43 PM
  4. Cascading Dropdown in Dialog: Second Dropdown is blank
    By josevelez in forum Application Server Version 11 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-12-2012, 05:55 PM
  5. Cascading Dropdown Boxes
    By josevelez in forum Application Server Version 10 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 04-19-2011, 06:23 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •