Alpha DevCon 2018
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: license for tablet-optimised beta application server?

  1. #1
    Member mariusm's Avatar
    Real Name
    Marius M.
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Plymouth, UK
    Posts
    198

    Default license for tablet-optimised beta application server?

    Hi, I can't find the question for this anywhere, sorry if it's been answered already.
    I just installed the tablet-optimised beta AA and the beta AA server on a separate machine than my regular laptop. It accepted my license number for the AA, but the application server is in demo mode.
    Should I use my regular server licence to activate it? Can I keep my production server activated and use the same license number on the beta server, will they both stay activated, or is there any other way to activate the beta server?
    It is easier to get older than wiser

  2. #2
    Alpha Software Employee Beta Spark's Avatar
    Real Name
    Sarah Mitchell
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    399

    Default Re: license for tablet-optimised beta application server?

    Quote Originally Posted by mariusm View Post
    Hi, I can't find the question for this anywhere, sorry if it's been answered already.
    I just installed the tablet-optimised beta AA and the beta AA server on a separate machine than my regular laptop. It accepted my license number for the AA, but the application server is in demo mode.
    Should I use my regular server licence to activate it? Can I keep my production server activated and use the same license number on the beta server, will they both stay activated, or is there any other way to activate the beta server?
    Hi Marius,

    You can install the beta build and the production release on the same machine in different folders, but you would need to share the license number between both installs. Activating the beta install would deactivate your production installation (and vice versa.)

    Hope that helps.
    Sarah Mitchell

    Looking for answers? Try our documentation.
    If you can't find something, let us know!

  3. #3
    Member mariusm's Avatar
    Real Name
    Marius M.
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Plymouth, UK
    Posts
    198

    Default Re: license for tablet-optimised beta application server?

    Hi 'Beta', it doesn't help but it does answer my question. I was hoping there is a way to try the Beta server without giving up on my production one. I can understand the reasoning behind it though, the beta seems to be a full, regular AA application server but with added functionality, you wouldn't want to give that away for free even if it is a beta version.
    I hope your activation is done automatically, I would hate to be the guy doing it if you have a lot of beta testers switching their activation between the production and the beta release all the time.
    It is easier to get older than wiser

Similar Threads

  1. Application Server License
    By lgrupido in forum Mobile & Browser Applications
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-01-2014, 10:42 AM
  2. application server license
    By gkeramidas in forum Application Server Version 11 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-14-2014, 03:04 PM
  3. Web Application Server License v11
    By purnawarman in forum Application Server Version 11 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-22-2013, 10:34 PM
  4. Do I need a new License for each application server?
    By MitchL in forum Application Server Version 9 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-06-2008, 05:50 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •