Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Group break with group footer in grid - need to show subtotals on one line

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Carsell Lankford
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Fontana, CA
    Posts
    94

    Default Group break with group footer in grid - need to show subtotals on one line

    Hello all,

    I need to put subtotals in a grid group break within a group footer. I have the subtotals working, however the only way I was able to get to align to the corresponding column was to basically "stack" the subtotals where they kind of cascade to the right, but awkardly step down each line to the right. Essentially creating this "stairstep" type look.

    It works, but would be way more easy on the eye if were able to include on the same "row" for each column. Below is the code for your reference.

    I'm sure there is probably an easier way. Can someone please advise?



    <tr >
    <td class="[class.gridSummaryData]" colspan="{systemcolumnCount}">&nbsp;</td>
    <td class="[class.gridSummaryData]" colspan="{systemcolumnCount}">&nbsp;</td>
    <td class="[class.gridSummaryData]" colspan="{systemcolumnCount}">&nbsp;</td>
    <td class="[class.gridSummaryData]" colspan="{systemcolumnCount}">&nbsp;</td>
    <td class="[class.gridSummaryData]" colspan="{systemcolumnCount}">&nbsp;</td>
    <td colspan="100" > <b>{alltrim(str( convert_type([[groupSummary.ITMFOBCost.total]],"N") ,250,2,","))}</b></td>
    </tr>

    <tr >
    <td class="[class.gridSummaryData]" colspan="{systemcolumnCount}">&nbsp;</td>
    <td class="[class.gridSummaryData]" colspan="{systemcolumnCount}">&nbsp;</td>
    <td class="[class.gridSummaryData]" colspan="{systemcolumnCount}">&nbsp;</td>
    <td class="[class.gridSummaryData]" colspan="{systemcolumnCount}">&nbsp;</td>
    <td class="[class.gridSummaryData]" colspan="{systemcolumnCount}">&nbsp;</td>
    <td class="[class.gridSummaryData]" colspan="{systemcolumnCount}">&nbsp;</td>
    <td colspan="100" > <b>{alltrim(str( convert_type([[groupSummary.ITMDutyCost.total]],"N") ,250,2,","))}</b></td>

    <tr >
    <td class="[class.gridSummaryData]" colspan="{systemcolumnCount}">&nbsp;</td>
    <td class="[class.gridSummaryData]" colspan="{systemcolumnCount}">&nbsp;</td>
    <td class="[class.gridSummaryData]" colspan="{systemcolumnCount}">&nbsp;</td>
    <td class="[class.gridSummaryData]" colspan="{systemcolumnCount}">&nbsp;</td>
    <td class="[class.gridSummaryData]" colspan="{systemcolumnCount}">&nbsp;</td>
    <td class="[class.gridSummaryData]" colspan="{systemcolumnCount}">&nbsp;</td>
    <td class="[class.gridSummaryData]" colspan="{systemcolumnCount}">&nbsp;</td>
    <td colspan="100" > <b>{alltrim(str( convert_type([[groupSummary.ITMBrokerCost.total]],"N") ,250,2,","))}</b></td>

    <tr >
    <td class="[class.gridSummaryData]" colspan="{systemcolumnCount}">&nbsp;</td>
    <td class="[class.gridSummaryData]" colspan="{systemcolumnCount}">&nbsp;</td>
    <td class="[class.gridSummaryData]" colspan="{systemcolumnCount}">&nbsp;</td>
    <td class="[class.gridSummaryData]" colspan="{systemcolumnCount}">&nbsp;</td>
    <td class="[class.gridSummaryData]" colspan="{systemcolumnCount}">&nbsp;</td>
    <td class="[class.gridSummaryData]" colspan="{systemcolumnCount}">&nbsp;</td>
    <td class="[class.gridSummaryData]" colspan="{systemcolumnCount}">&nbsp;</td>
    <td class="[class.gridSummaryData]" colspan="{systemcolumnCount}">&nbsp;</td>
    <td colspan="100" > <b>{alltrim(str( convert_type([[groupSummary.ITM7501Cost.total]],"N") ,250,2,","))}</b></td>

    <tr >
    <td class="[class.gridSummaryData]" colspan="{systemcolumnCount}">&nbsp;</td>
    <td class="[class.gridSummaryData]" colspan="{systemcolumnCount}">&nbsp;</td>
    <td class="[class.gridSummaryData]" colspan="{systemcolumnCount}">&nbsp;</td>
    <td class="[class.gridSummaryData]" colspan="{systemcolumnCount}">&nbsp;</td>
    <td class="[class.gridSummaryData]" colspan="{systemcolumnCount}">&nbsp;</td>
    <td class="[class.gridSummaryData]" colspan="{systemcolumnCount}">&nbsp;</td>
    <td class="[class.gridSummaryData]" colspan="{systemcolumnCount}">&nbsp;</td>
    <td class="[class.gridSummaryData]" colspan="{systemcolumnCount}">&nbsp;</td>
    <td class="[class.gridSummaryData]" colspan="{systemcolumnCount}">&nbsp;</td>
    <td colspan="100" > <b>{alltrim(str( convert_type([[groupSummary.ITMFreightCost.total]],"N") ,250,2,","))}</b></td>

    <tr >
    <td class="[class.gridSummaryData]" colspan="{systemcolumnCount}">&nbsp;</td>
    <td class="[class.gridSummaryData]" colspan="{systemcolumnCount}">&nbsp;</td>
    <td class="[class.gridSummaryData]" colspan="{systemcolumnCount}">&nbsp;</td>
    <td class="[class.gridSummaryData]" colspan="{systemcolumnCount}">&nbsp;</td>
    <td class="[class.gridSummaryData]" colspan="{systemcolumnCount}">&nbsp;</td>
    <td class="[class.gridSummaryData]" colspan="{systemcolumnCount}">&nbsp;</td>
    <td class="[class.gridSummaryData]" colspan="{systemcolumnCount}">&nbsp;</td>
    <td class="[class.gridSummaryData]" colspan="{systemcolumnCount}">&nbsp;</td>
    <td class="[class.gridSummaryData]" colspan="{systemcolumnCount}">&nbsp;</td>
    <td class="[class.gridSummaryData]" colspan="{systemcolumnCount}">&nbsp;</td>
    <td colspan="100" > <b>{alltrim(str( convert_type([[groupSummary.ITMLandedCost.total]],"N") ,250,2,","))}</b></td>

    <tr >
    <td class="[class.gridSummaryData]" colspan="{systemcolumnCount}">&nbsp;</td>
    <td class="[class.gridSummaryData]" colspan="{systemcolumnCount}">&nbsp;</td>
    <td class="[class.gridSummaryData]" colspan="{systemcolumnCount}">&nbsp;</td>
    <td class="[class.gridSummaryData]" colspan="{systemcolumnCount}">&nbsp;</td>
    <td class="[class.gridSummaryData]" colspan="{systemcolumnCount}">&nbsp;</td>
    <td class="[class.gridSummaryData]" colspan="{systemcolumnCount}">&nbsp;</td>
    <td class="[class.gridSummaryData]" colspan="{systemcolumnCount}">&nbsp;</td>
    <td class="[class.gridSummaryData]" colspan="{systemcolumnCount}">&nbsp;</td>
    <td class="[class.gridSummaryData]" colspan="{systemcolumnCount}">&nbsp;</td>
    <td class="[class.gridSummaryData]" colspan="{systemcolumnCount}">&nbsp;</td>
    <td class="[class.gridSummaryData]" colspan="{systemcolumnCount}">&nbsp;</td>
    <td colspan="100" > <b>{alltrim(str( convert_type([[groupSummary.ITMTotalLandedCost.total]],"N") ,250,2,","))}</b></td>


    </tr>

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    David Kates
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Unionville, ON
    Posts
    7,726

    Default Re: Group break with group footer in grid - need to show subtotals on one line

    What's throwing you off is the colspan="100" on each summary line. It's not needed for what you want. It's kind of an arbitrary number to ensure proper formatting of the summary line to the end of the line.

    You can just put all your summary td tags together but give them a colspan of 1 (or whatever is needed... but not 100). The very last summary line must have a colspan of 100... but not all the previous lines. This formats out quite nicely... showing 2 summary totals on the same line... 1 column apart. You'll see what I mean about "end of line formatting" if you change the last 100 to 1. Proper formatting of the summary line will end with the 2nd summary column with the balance of the summary line showing as white space.

    Code:
    <tr >
    	<td class="[class.gridSummaryData]" colspan="{systemcolumnCount}">&nbsp;</td>
    	<td class="[class.gridSummaryData]" colspan="1" > <b>{alltrim(str( convert_type([[groupSummary.CustAmount.total]],"N") ,250,2,","))}</b></td>
    	<td class="[class.gridSummaryData]" colspan="100" > <b>{alltrim(str( convert_type([[groupSummary.Total.total]],"N") ,250,2,","))}</b></td>
    </tr>

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Carsell Lankford
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Fontana, CA
    Posts
    94

    Default Re: Group break with group footer in grid - need to show subtotals on one line

    Thank you David, what you say makes sense. When I get back to my workspace I will give it a try.

    Thanks!

    -Casey

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    Carsell Lankford
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Fontana, CA
    Posts
    94

    Default Re: Group break with group footer in grid - need to show subtotals on one line

    Hey David, just wanted to give you a quick update. Your code above worked like a charm. Just published to the company server and seamlessly updated "behind the scenes" for our company without having to install on each client UI.

    Another Alpha success story!

    Thank you so much David for taking the time to help!


    -Casey


    -Casey

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    Raymond Wang
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    19

    Default Re: Group break with group footer in grid - need to show subtotals on one line

    Removed post
    Last edited by rnrwang; 10-14-2019 at 10:42 PM.

  6. #6
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    David Kates
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Unionville, ON
    Posts
    7,726

    Default Re: Group break with group footer in grid - need to show subtotals on one line

    Raymond, please don't hijack this thread. What you're asking about has nothing to do with this thread subject. Please remove your post and post a new question.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-12-2014, 03:52 PM
  2. Dynamically setting/removing "Has group break" in grid ( by user )
    By WindForce in forum Mobile & Browser Applications
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-26-2013, 03:49 PM
  3. Action button in grid group break group header
    By Steve Workings in forum Application Server Version 11 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-08-2012, 12:59 AM
  4. Hide/show linked grid based on security group. How To?
    By cptutrecht in forum Application Server Version 10 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-19-2010, 08:54 PM
  5. placing group break totals in the report footer
    By eeetee in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-12-2003, 04:13 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •