Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Alpha V12

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Alex Muir
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Stocksfield UK
    Posts
    443

    Default Alpha V12

    Hello

    Recieved a couple of emails from Alpha in the last week re A5V12 being the only version guaranteed to work with Windows 10.

    I would be interested in knowing where this fits in with regards to Alpha Anywhere.
    For us desktop developers it would appear a logical upgrade from A5V10.
    However, having bought A5V11, there didn't appear to be great advantages over V10.

    Cynically I am inclined to think that V12 may well just be an appeasement product, which may have a limited life.
    However, if it has a bucket load of improvements over V10, and it is a product with a future, then it
    may be worth considering.

    Is there a list of V12 improvements available?

    Does any fellow desktop specialists have any views?

    Kind Regards

    Alex
    Database Software Solutions Limited
    www.dbasesolution.co.uk
    PRECISE360 -
    LYNCHPIN -

  2. #2
    Member SNusa's Avatar
    Real Name
    Robert Tupper
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Northeast, USA
    Posts
    893

    Default Re: Alpha V12

    Everything has "limited life" lol.....

    I've been working with the desktop exclusively for years and have a fairly complicated 100% desktop component/project nearing "completion." With the exception of several fixes (early v.11 fixes mostly) the v.12 desktop side is not much different than it's predecessor. (I have many versions dating way back, and this project began on v.10. The "core" of the project was re-written/significantly upgraded on v.11 and now is getting "all the extras" added in v.12.) ~ In hindsight, I believe I made the right choice by staying with the current version. "no surprises"

    With the exception of keeping it usable within the newer OS's (and maybe some SQL performance improvements which I can't confirm/am not presently using) Alpha's focus has been mostly on enhancing the web/tablet side..... Even so: If you have a lot of time invested in desktop development with previous versions and billable projects, I'd say "go for it." (Especially since Alpha again began offering just the desktop component as a stand-alone product for desktop only users.) Also, I know of several "notable bug fixes" (one in particular in the expression builder which I had initially encountered/reported) that IMO made the upgrade from v.10/10x definitely worthwhile.

    Note: I still have a subscription so I am working within the "full AA version." But I'm pretty sure the desktop side I'm using is exact same as what you're asking about. (Regardless, it would be reassuring to see them "breath a little more life" back into the desktop side of things. ~ After all, Alpha with xBasic is a worthy development tool, and you do need a real PC to develop!)
    Last edited by SNusa; 01-26-2016 at 12:31 PM.
    Robert T. ~ "I enjoy manipulating data... just not my data."
    It's all about the "framework." (I suppose an "a5-induced" hard drive crash is now in order?)
    RELOADED: My current posting activity here merely represents a "Momentary Lapse Of Reason."

  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic DaveM's Avatar
    Real Name
    Dave Mason
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Hudson, FL
    Posts
    6,026

    Default Re: Alpha V12

    version 10.5 is where alpha switched over.
    I have versions from 7 to 12 all working in win10 now.
    There were some bug fixes for v12 which helped in my case, but don't know about your case.
    There were a very few changes as well.
    Dave Mason
    dave@aldausa.com
    Skype is dave.mason46

  4. #4
    VAR
    Real Name
    Martin W. Cole
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Terrell, Texas (near Dallas)
    Posts
    5,956

    Default Re: Alpha V12

    Previous post said V10.5 forward will work in Windows 10 - make the shortcut compatibility with windows 7
    Cole Custom Programming - Terrell, Texas
    972 524 8714
    martin_w_cole@msn.com

    ____________________
    "A young man who is not liberal has no heart, but an old man who is not conservative has no mind." GB Shaw

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    Alex Muir
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Stocksfield UK
    Posts
    443

    Default Re: Alpha V12

    Hello

    Thanks everyone for your comments.

    If I have understood things correctly, the V12 desktop is exactly what is in Alpha Anywhere?

    That V10.5 can be configured with Windows 10 is reassuring.

    Kind Regards

    Alex
    Database Software Solutions Limited
    www.dbasesolution.co.uk
    PRECISE360 -
    LYNCHPIN -

  6. #6
    "Certified" Alphaholic Ted Giles's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ted Giles
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    In the Wolds, Louth, Lincolnshire, UK
    Posts
    4,365

    Default Re: Alpha V12

    The only issue you might have is using grids as the WAS in V9-11 uses Port 80 if you dig into that area.
    I'm investigating changing the port numbers for the WAS.
    Ted Giles
    Example Consulting - UK
    .

    http://ec12.example-software.com//
    See our site for Alpha Support, Conversion and Upgrade.

  7. #7
    VAR
    Real Name
    Martin W. Cole
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Terrell, Texas (near Dallas)
    Posts
    5,956

    Default Re: Alpha V12

    Alex,
    Alpha Anywhere is another name for V12.
    I have not heard of any new features in V12 for the desktop.
    V11 added a new help file - a super improvement.

    That said, I moved my biggest client from 10.5 to 12. The reason is that Microsoft may come out with changes that will affect our software.
    Cole Custom Programming - Terrell, Texas
    972 524 8714
    martin_w_cole@msn.com

    ____________________
    "A young man who is not liberal has no heart, but an old man who is not conservative has no mind." GB Shaw

  8. #8
    Volunteer Moderator Peter.Greulich's Avatar
    Real Name
    Peter Greulich
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    11,644

    Default Re: Alpha V12

    If I have understood things correctly, the V12 desktop is exactly what is in Alpha Anywhere?
    As others have said, I don't think there is anything new on the desktop side in v12. AA is all about mobile and web, emphasis being on mobile. I have desktop-only clients mostly on v11.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-02-2013, 01:31 AM
  2. Alpha Five 2011 Plans & Announcing - a comprehensive Alpha Five Subscription Plan
    By Richard Rabins in forum Alpha Five Version 10 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 12-26-2010, 04:18 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-22-2010, 12:37 PM
  4. Alpha Five 2011 Plans & Announcing - a comprehensive Alpha Five Subscription Plan
    By Richard Rabins in forum Application Server Version 10 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-22-2010, 12:37 PM
  5. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-20-2009, 04:19 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •