Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: PDF Printer no longer working

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Laura Thomas
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default PDF Printer no longer working

    Running Alpha5V12 and I am getting the following message when trying to print preview a PDF.
    Alpha five was not able to install the pdf printer. it is possible that you do not have the necessary permission to install printer drivers.
    please log on to this computer with administrator privileges.

    I am logged on as a user with administrative rights, and also, this used to work before. I believe it worked prior to my upgrade from Windows8 to Windows10. I have tried removing the Alpha5 Printer (actually I was previously just getting an error with the preview, so I removed to printer to try and reinstall it).
    I also performed the Amyumi directory reinstall as was mentioned in another post.

    Thanks in advance for any help.
    Laura

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    25,119

    Default Re: PDF Printer no longer working

    Switched to win 10? I would try reinstalling Alpha entirely, not just print driver.
    There can be only one.

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Laura Thomas
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: PDF Printer no longer working

    Quote Originally Posted by Stan Mathews View Post
    Switched to win 10? I would try reinstalling Alpha entirely, not just print driver.
    That worked perfectly! Thank you so much!

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    Adam Brown
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: PDF Printer no longer working

    Quote Originally Posted by Stan Mathews View Post
    Switched to win 10? I would try reinstalling Alpha entirely, not just print driver.
    I just switched to win 10 too and have the same problem. Do I uninstall and then reinstall? Do I need to back anything up? Thanks.

  5. #5
    VAR
    Real Name
    Martin W. Cole
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Terrell, Texas (near Dallas)
    Posts
    5,949

    Default Re: PDF Printer no longer working

    The only thing I deleted was all the Amyuni printer drivers - and reinstalled Alpha from scratch as well as the patch that I was using.
    Cole Custom Programming - Terrell, Texas
    972 524 8714
    martin_w_cole@msn.com

    ____________________
    "A young man who is not liberal has no heart, but an old man who is not conservative has no mind." GB Shaw

  6. #6
    Member
    Real Name
    Brien Lilja
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    24

    Default Re: PDF Printer no longer working

    FWIW, I've found with my Win10 upgrades that I only needed to re-install the most recent patch, not the entire program.
    We're on v12.3 Build 2399, so our "most recent" patch is from 2014. We haven't gone subscription.

  7. #7
    Member
    Real Name
    Brian Bazinet
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: PDF Printer no longer working

    I am new to Alpha, will this also work on Alpha 5 Version 11?

    We just uploaded to windows 10 and cannot print now, having administrator error message appear when trying to download print driver even though I am administrator.

    Any help is appreciated.

  8. #8
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    25,119

    Default Re: PDF Printer no longer working

    It should. Why don't you try it and let us know the results? Reinstalling a patch only takes a short time and doesn't disturb your data. Same for reinstalling Alpha itself.
    There can be only one.

  9. #9
    Member
    Real Name
    Brian Bazinet
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: PDF Printer no longer working

    Quote Originally Posted by Stan Mathews View Post
    It should. Why don't you try it and let us know the results? Reinstalling a patch only takes a short time and doesn't disturb your data. Same for reinstalling Alpha itself.
    We installed the patch but still can not print...well that is not exactly true, we just realized that we can print a batch report but it is the PDF conversion process that locks everything up and will not allow us to print.

  10. #10
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    25,119

    Default Re: PDF Printer no longer working

    See post #2 and #3, this thread.
    Last edited by Al Buchholz; 07-19-2016 at 11:04 AM. Reason: added links to other posts
    There can be only one.

  11. #11
    Member
    Real Name
    Brian Bazinet
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: PDF Printer no longer working

    Quote Originally Posted by Stan Mathews View Post
    It should. Why don't you try it and let us know the results? Reinstalling a patch only takes a short time and doesn't disturb your data. Same for reinstalling Alpha itself.
    Still can't print invoices - We have uninstalled Alpha5V11, reinstalled and installed the patch. I believe there is an error in the PDF conversion portion (error message attached).

    Alpha 5 Printer Error.png

    The weird part is we can print batch reports.

    Any help is greatly appreciated as we have been dealing with this too long.

  12. #12
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    25,119

    Default Re: PDF Printer no longer working

    Not sure what a batch report might be.

    Just to check, are you trying to print a report within Alpha and direct the output to the AlphaFivePrinterV4P5?
    There can be only one.

  13. #13
    Member
    Real Name
    John Fabrega
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    104

    Default Re: PDF Printer no longer working

    I am working with bbazinet on this issue.

    The main process that is failing is an output to PDF (which then gets emailed, printed or faxed). The batch report that he mentioned is direct to printer so doesn't really apply. We have other machines that are running Win10 original installs and a couple that are running Win10 from upgrades. It is being done in a script. Reading the above and what I just wrote, we're going to try direct print to .pdf to see if it makes any difference. If it does, I'll pull some of the code to see if anybody sees any obvious issues.

  14. #14
    VAR
    Real Name
    Martin W. Cole
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Terrell, Texas (near Dallas)
    Posts
    5,949

    Default Re: PDF Printer no longer working

    what I did to get it working was to first delete all alpha-amyuny printer drivers from the windows 'devices and printers' screen
    then I installed Alpha and patch from scratch - fixed the issue
    Cole Custom Programming - Terrell, Texas
    972 524 8714
    martin_w_cole@msn.com

    ____________________
    "A young man who is not liberal has no heart, but an old man who is not conservative has no mind." GB Shaw

  15. #15
    Member
    Real Name
    John Fabrega
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    104

    Default Re: PDF Printer no longer working

    After additional research, we've found that the amyuni driver doesn't appear to be the primary problem in our case. It works fine to create .pdfs for email or fax but not for printing. It seems that it switches to the amyuni printer as the default printer then gets stuck on amyuni so when the script continues to physically print, it tries to basically print to itself. It doesn't happen on computers that are still Win 8. It doesn't happen on one that was upgraded from Win 7 to 10. It does happen on at least one that upgraded from Win 8 to Win 10 and a couple more that we can't remember if were originally Win 8 or Win 10. One option I'm looking at is to modify the script so it prompts for the printer but I'd rather find a solution that allows it to run as intended. It is Alpha V11 BTW. We have a subscription/license for the most current version but haven't gotten around to installing/testing it.

    EDIT: I found a possible solution here: http://www.alphasoftware.com/alphafo...rinter+windows
    Last edited by JohnFabrega; 07-23-2016 at 02:10 PM. Reason: Found possible solution

  16. #16
    Member
    Real Name
    Jon Moody
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Brackley, UK
    Posts
    222

    Default Re: PDF Printer no longer working

    Customer just had the same problem - reinstalled AA runtime and then got an 'invalid license' error. Suffered this one before as well and had to delete all registry entries for AA then restart Alpha and enter correct license number.

Similar Threads

  1. Filtered no longer working
    By gaby_h in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-22-2008, 01:58 PM
  2. Date Picker No Longer Working
    By Rich Hartnett in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-11-2008, 03:13 PM
  3. ui_select_color2() no longer working?
    By Peter.Greulich in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-04-2004, 04:48 AM
  4. Prompt for parameters no longer working
    By Robin Sculthorpe in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-08-2004, 07:20 AM
  5. HP Printer - no longer crashes!
    By Steven Mason in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-09-2001, 11:30 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •