Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Compare and show ability

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Tim
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    86

    Default Compare and show ability

    I have products that have lists of attributes that show up in the detailed view and I'm using the in-grid checkbox to select Product Part numbers.
    I'm also using a toolbar button to select and who the products with the checkbox checked. This is as close to a compare feature that I can figure out.

    Can anyone tell me if its possible to use the checkbox and button to open up a modal with the detail view of all of the products with checks in the checkbox?
    I want to do a compare feature like Amazon, New Egg, etc. Choose 5 or less, click compare, then you seen details of all 5 products.

    thanks
    Tim

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Andy Gill
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Barbados
    Posts
    1,028

    Default Re: Compare and show ability

    This is not going to be straight forward, but will need to be custom coded. The easy way is to use a pivot query to organise part numbers as the columns, and the possible features as rows. E.g. see http://stackoverflow.com/questions/1...ccess-2013-sql
    Many databases allow pivoting.
    For your display, try a grid, but it may not like the pivot query. So you might either customize the grid using the xbasic hooks, or custom code the output entirely in a separate a5w page or dialog2 component, for example.

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Tim
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    86

    Default Re: Compare and show ability

    Quote Originally Posted by agillbb View Post
    This is not going to be straight forward, but will need to be custom coded. The easy way is to use a pivot query to organise part numbers as the columns, and the possible features as rows. E.g. see http://stackoverflow.com/questions/1...ccess-2013-sql
    Many databases allow pivoting.
    For your display, try a grid, but it may not like the pivot query. So you might either customize the grid using the xbasic hooks, or custom code the output entirely in a separate a5w page or dialog2 component, for example.
    hmm, I'm just using the built in Database so not sure. I'll give this a look and try it. Thank you for the response! A compare feature is one that I wish they would build into Alpha Anywhere.

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic CharlesParker's Avatar
    Real Name
    Charles Parker
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    New Orleans, LA
    Posts
    2,044

    Default Re: Compare and show ability

    I think you could easily do this with a list control and it's search features - the list control will allow you to display any info from the table in a very straight forward manner, and allow you to search and filter by any of the fields, the difference being that you are not bogged down by the traditional grid/detail view in this case. You can create the list view to display ANY of the data as you see fit to show and you can SNAKE the list to appear however you want - it's pretty cool stuff.
    NWCOPRO Nuisance Wildlife Control Software-My Application: http://www.nwcopro.com "I am not discouraged, because every wrong attempt discarded is another step forward."

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    Tim
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    86

    Default Re: Compare and show ability

    Quote Originally Posted by CharlesParker View Post
    I think you could easily do this with a list control and it's search features - the list control will allow you to display any info from the table in a very straight forward manner, and allow you to search and filter by any of the fields, the difference being that you are not bogged down by the traditional grid/detail view in this case. You can create the list view to display ANY of the data as you see fit to show and you can SNAKE the list to appear however you want - it's pretty cool stuff.
    And you can build that based on a users choices from the original grid? Sounds interesting. I'll check it out. Thanks!

Similar Threads

  1. Ability to Total cal field in Web App
    By gaby_h in forum Archived Wishlist
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-10-2010, 11:56 AM
  2. Please add ability to print pdf to a frame
    By joannristau in forum Archived Wishlist
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-02-2009, 10:01 AM
  3. ability to set different languages
    By Katja in forum Archived Wishlist
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-09-2005, 12:40 PM
  4. A5 graphing ability
    By Shih-Ta Chi in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-03-2004, 10:27 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •