Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Submitting Multiple Rows of Data in a List Control

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Scott Binger
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    316

    Default Submitting Multiple Rows of Data in a List Control

    I have a relatively straightforward UX component with two lists, A and B. I've successfully set this up so that a user can double click on as many or as few rows in List A and the records will automatically be added to list B. What I cannot figure out is how to commit the new records to the appropriate table (using SQL Server database).

    So, for example, let's say a user adds four records to List B. By clicking a button, I'd like these four records (as well as any edits from pre-existing records) to be committed to appropriate table in the database.

    I've attempted to do this, guided by Selwyn's videos (http://www.ajaxvideotutorials.com/V1...taonajax_1.swf and http://www.ajaxvideotutorials.com/V1...taonajax_2.swf) but have not had any luck.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Member
    Real Name
    Jeremy Scrime
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    110

    Default Re: Submitting Multiple Rows of Data in a List Control

    Checkout the 6 part video series in the Video Finder within Alpha. Search for "UXL_V12--21" or "List Control - Methods - Populating List, Moving Data from One List to Another - Moving Rows Up and Down".

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Scott Binger
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    316

    Default Re: Submitting Multiple Rows of Data in a List Control

    I've been through these several times. While they're very helpful, they don't provide info on what I described above, saving multiple list records to a SQL table with one click (not going through the detail view).

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    Nate Mitchell
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Lexington, KY
    Posts
    103

    Default Re: Submitting Multiple Rows of Data in a List Control

    There are a number of ways to achieve this.
    In my opinion, your desire to have a conditional statement (update or insert) would probably be best handled by a SQL stored procedure.
    I have attached a ux and sql statement that will illustrate one approach.

    If you have seen Selwyn's videos on submitting list data, this should look familiar.
    This builds off that concept but leverages a stored procedure for determining whether to update or insert.

    Good luck.

    listAppendSubmit.ziplistSubmit_sp.txt
    Nate Mitchell PMP

  5. #5
    "Certified" Alphaholic peteconway's Avatar
    Real Name
    Peter Conway
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,674

    Default Re: Submitting Multiple Rows of Data in a List Control

    not going through the detail view
    Why not?
    Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.
    Albert Einstein, (attributed)
    US (German-born) physicist (1879 - 1955)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 12
    Last Post: 12-09-2016, 11:59 PM
  2. List Control - Binding same data to multiple controls for display purposes?
    By CarlMPearson in forum Mobile & Browser Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-01-2015, 12:15 PM
  3. List Control VISIBLE count? Used when a list has some rows hidden.
    By CarlMPearson in forum Mobile & Browser Applications
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-21-2014, 09:56 PM
  4. Highlight multiple rows in List View by Left Click Dragging
    By jjones8 in forum Windows Desktop Applications
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-05-2014, 10:12 PM
  5. Updating LIST control fields/rows from xBasic
    By JPMPA in forum Mobile & Browser Applications
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-13-2014, 02:22 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •