Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Offline forms converting from preexisting forms

  1. #1
    Member reedallenbrown's Avatar
    Real Name
    Reed Brown
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    473

    Default Offline forms converting from preexisting forms

    Is there anyway to convert your preexisting UX forms (Large with many panels and controls) to offline without starting from scratch?

    Thanks
    Reed Brown
    ITOT Solutions, Inc.
    Alpha v12

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    David Kates
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Unionville, ON
    Posts
    7,565

    Default Re: Offline forms converting from preexisting forms

    Could you fully define your expectation and use of "offline"? Panels are simply containers. Controls are either data bound or not... and they're actually only data bound by code.

  3. #3
    Member reedallenbrown's Avatar
    Real Name
    Reed Brown
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    473

    Default Re: Offline forms converting from preexisting forms

    Hi David. We currently have a large UX bound to a SQL database. The UX currently does not have a list on it but I guess we could add one.
    Reed Brown
    ITOT Solutions, Inc.
    Alpha v12

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    David Kates
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Unionville, ON
    Posts
    7,565

    Default Re: Offline forms converting from preexisting forms

    Sorry Reed... I'm not sure what that means.

    Because you now mention a List Control... does that mean you believe the only way to achieve offline capabilities is with a List Control?

    You've not said what your definition and use of "offline" is.

  5. #5
    Member reedallenbrown's Avatar
    Real Name
    Reed Brown
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    473

    Default Re: Offline forms converting from preexisting forms

    David,

    Yes I was told that you had to have a list control in order to have a off line form. What I mean when I say off line is, currently we have a medical form published to our Alpha App server. The user logs in with internet connection and then can fill out the form and save it. We would like them to be able to do the same thing when they do not have internet connection.
    Reed Brown
    ITOT Solutions, Inc.
    Alpha v12

  6. #6
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    David Kates
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Unionville, ON
    Posts
    7,565

    Default Re: Offline forms converting from preexisting forms

    Are you thinking about a disconnected mobile app utilizing PhoneGap Build... or a disconnected Web app accessed with a browser?

  7. #7
    Member reedallenbrown's Avatar
    Real Name
    Reed Brown
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    473

    Default Re: Offline forms converting from preexisting forms

    I did not know there was both of them available. I would love a disconnected wep app accessed with a browser but if not then it will have to be a PhoneGap app.
    Reed Brown
    ITOT Solutions, Inc.
    Alpha v12

  8. #8
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    David Kates
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Unionville, ON
    Posts
    7,565

    Default Re: Offline forms converting from preexisting forms

    I just wanted to get an idea of what you thought you could get done. Yes... PGB utilizing the device file system for offline storage is the nicest way to go. In general, you'd need to log in, with connection, at least once to be authorized. After that you can be offline. Even log in offline since you can save credentials. Still not a lot of detail about what you need to do with your form, but an easy way would be to add a List which you wouldn't actually see. Present your existing controls as the detail view of that List... fill in... and update the list... all offline.

    The app would recognize when you're back online and synchronize that one row added to the List.

    There are a lot of way to go about doing this. You don't have to use a List control, but since it already understands syncing, it's probably the easiest.

  9. #9
    Member reedallenbrown's Avatar
    Real Name
    Reed Brown
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    473

    Default Re: Offline forms converting from preexisting forms

    That's great David. I will give it a try. Thanks.
    Reed Brown
    ITOT Solutions, Inc.
    Alpha v12

Similar Threads

  1. Converting Desktop Application Forms To Web Components
    By Philip in forum Application Server Version 10 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-07-2010, 04:31 PM
  2. Forms: get name
    By dik_coleman in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-27-2005, 01:49 AM
  3. Help with forms
    By jarty67 in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-06-2004, 03:50 AM
  4. converting forms
    By WillieLucas in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-12-2003, 09:11 AM
  5. sub forms & transferring forms
    By Carrie McIver-Herndon in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-14-2003, 12:00 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •