Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Open a window with Tabbed UI

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Richard Mumma
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Richland, WA
    Posts
    164

    Default Open a window with Tabbed UI

    I would like to open a UX Component, in a window, that floats over the TabbedUI when it opens. I can't seem to find a simple method to do this.
    Has anyone attempted this or know how I might to this.

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    David Kates
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Unionville, ON
    Posts
    7,576

    Default Re: Open a window with Tabbed UI

    If you don't already have an a5w page for your UX, edit your UX and click the Save Page button to create one. Then in your TabbedUI, on a button, onClick, Text mode, add code like this...

    Code:
    var winURL = "http://192.168.0.11:81/AlphaTest/ux_date_genie.a5w";
    window.open(winURL, "myWindow", "width=200,height=100");
    Lots more options for window.open().

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Richard Mumma
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Richland, WA
    Posts
    164

    Default Re: Open a window with Tabbed UI

    thanks for your replay.
    I was able to get a window open using the onClick event of a button. I'm having a problem with the path. If I'm going to use this on a server, I will need a alias path name.

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    Richard Mumma
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Richland, WA
    Posts
    164

    Default Re: Open a window with Tabbed UI

    I actually put the code in the Client-Side "onRenderComplete" event and was able to open a window. Firefox did block the popup the first time. But I still need to resolve how best to get a valid path to the a5w page

  5. #5
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    David Kates
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Unionville, ON
    Posts
    7,576

    Default Re: Open a window with Tabbed UI

    Not sure I understand... get a valid path to the a5w page? It's where you published it.

  6. #6
    Member
    Real Name
    Richard Mumma
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Richland, WA
    Posts
    164

    Default Re: Open a window with Tabbed UI

    I was making it too difficult. The code that worked was;
    var winURL = "/DoPlanDisplayWindow.a5w";
    window.open(winURL, "myWindow", "width=1200, height = 600");

  7. #7
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    David Kates
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Unionville, ON
    Posts
    7,576

    Default Re: Open a window with Tabbed UI

    Well that's cool... I thought a fully qualified url was needed. Never would have thought to try a relative url. Excellent. Glad it worked out.

Similar Threads

  1. Open a URL in a new window (browser tab) from Tabbed UI button
    By 2ninerniner2 in forum Application Server Version 11 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 02-21-2015, 08:29 AM
  2. Can a window be opened out side of a Tabbed UI
    By Cygnux in forum Mobile & Browser Applications
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-02-2015, 09:57 AM
  3. Center window registration form on Tabbed UI
    By davidhs in forum Mobile & Browser Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-01-2013, 05:13 PM
  4. Tabbed UI in Desktop Window
    By ChristopherG in forum Alpha Five Version 11 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-26-2012, 01:23 AM
  5. Tabbed UI is launching PDF in a seperate IE window.
    By Julie in forum Application Server Version 10 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-09-2012, 07:18 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •