Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: how to import data excel from excel file was exported from alpha?

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Amit lohogaonkar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    428

    Default how to import data excel from excel file was exported from alpha?

    I have 80 records in customer northwind grid. I export the file to excel using grid export and edit 10 records and add 5 new and now I want to import same file to alpha grid.
    This behavior is somehow not working for me(export and then import same file with edits and additions). The plain new file import(insert only) works.

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,561

    Default Re: how to import data excel from excel file was exported from alpha?

    The Alpha import creates rows.

    If you want to replace data, then import to a temp table, use the append operation to update existing records.

    You need a unique linkage to get the proper record.
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Amit lohogaonkar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    428

    Default Re: how to import data excel from excel file was exported from alpha?

    thanks! Does it require heavy coding? Do you have any sample?

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,561

    Default Re: how to import data excel from excel file was exported from alpha?

    Quote Originally Posted by amitloh View Post
    thanks! Does it require heavy coding? Do you have any sample?
    No heavy coding. Try it, you'll like it.
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  5. #5
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Govindan Gandhi
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    4,294

    Default Re: how to import data excel from excel file was exported from alpha?

    I have 80 records in customer northwind grid. I export the file to excel using grid export and edit 10 records and add 5 new and now I want to import same file to alpha grid.
    why?
    why not edit and add records in the grid itself? or is this a simplified question for a vast procedure you have on hand?
    thanks for reading

    gandhi

    version 11 3381 - 4096
    mysql backend
    http://www.alphawebprogramming.blogspot.com
    ggandhi344@gmail.com
    Skype:ggandhi344@gmail.com
    1 914 924 5171

  6. #6
    Member
    Real Name
    Amit lohogaonkar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    428

    Default Re: how to import data excel from excel file was exported from alpha?

    Thanks AL.
    Gandhi-this is a hard client requirement. They want to export, work in excel few times, and import. Grid edit is good as additional feature.

  7. #7
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Larry Grupido
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1,714

    Default Re: how to import data excel from excel file was exported from alpha?

    To get around the temp table, you could always export, work in excel, delete all the records in the grid that you exported, then import all the records as new again.

    Then you wouldn't have any duplicate records and you wouldn't run into any primary key issues. (Assuming that is why you can't do the import.)

Similar Threads

  1. how to import data excel from excel file was exported from alpha?
    By zatuzee in forum Mobile & Browser Applications
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-21-2015, 06:00 AM
  2. "Import Data from Excel or Ascii file" Can I insert a my variable in the Success Message?
    By corchi72 in forum Application Server Version 10 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-08-2015, 04:44 AM
  3. import data from excel or ascii file
    By Lance Gurd in forum Mobile & Browser Applications
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-03-2014, 09:58 AM
  4. Is it possible to add a calculated field in a exported excel file
    By Reckley in forum Application Server Version 11 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-28-2013, 10:57 AM
  5. Import of Excel File
    By Andy Rutland in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-10-2002, 11:27 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •