Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Multiple App Server Instances - Question

  1. #1
    "Certified" Alphaholic mikeallenbrown's Avatar
    Real Name
    Mike Brown
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    1,749

    Default Multiple App Server Instances - Question

    Currently I have a separate IP Address for each alpha instance. All of this works well. I have a need now to expand and create more instances. I'll be moving to a new, better, faster server and have asked the hosting company (Rackspace for anyone who is interested) for more IP addresses for the additional App Server instances. Well, they are giving me a hard time about the additional IP addresses. Because of the limited number of IPv4s available they don't want to give me any more.

    So, my question is can I run my alpha instances using the same IP address but just a different port for each one? Any reason why I couldn't?

    Thanks in advance!
    Mike Brown - Contact Me
    Programmatic Technologies, LLC
    Programmatic-Technologies.com
    Independent Developer & Consultant

  2. #2
    Alpha Software Employee Lenny Forziati's Avatar
    Real Name
    Lenny Forziati
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Alpha Software
    Posts
    4,680

    Default Re: Multiple App Server Instances - Question

    Using different ports on a single IP address will work just fine. This is the configuration commonly used by customers.

    You may also want to consider using the Application Server for IIS, where you do not need to deal with managing and balancing multiple instances.

    Lenny Forziati
    Vice President, Internet Products and Technical Services
    Alpha Software Corporation

  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic mikeallenbrown's Avatar
    Real Name
    Mike Brown
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    1,749

    Default Re: Multiple App Server Instances - Question

    Quote Originally Posted by Lenny Forziati View Post
    Using different ports on a single IP address will work just fine. This is the configuration commonly used by customers.

    You may also want to consider using the Application Server for IIS, where you do not need to deal with managing and balancing multiple instances.
    Thanks Lenny. I thought so but wanted confirmation.

    I'm interested in IIS, but, not sure of the steps needed to convert the "standard" alpha app to one that works with IIS. Is there a step-by-step guide available?



    EDIT: ...found it: https://www.alphasoftware.com/docume...ion/index.html
    Mike Brown - Contact Me
    Programmatic Technologies, LLC
    Programmatic-Technologies.com
    Independent Developer & Consultant

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Lee Vasic
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Salt Lake City
    Posts
    1,186

    Default Re: Multiple App Server Instances - Question

    I went from running 8 instances of Alpha Server to 1 instance of IIS. I'm very happy with the performance.

  5. #5
    "Certified" Alphaholic kkfin's Avatar
    Real Name
    Kenneth
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    1,520

    Default Re: Multiple App Server Instances - Question

    Quote Originally Posted by lvasic View Post
    I went from running 8 instances of Alpha Server to 1 instance of IIS. I'm very happy with the performance.
    This is out of context of this threat but I wonder the functionality of IIS integration.
    When using classic server you can use xbasic to start a Nodejs server in my case expressjs server and this server then starts in whatever port you want and serves html content to the client. This works fine in classic server and you can serve for example which is what I do forms and then have ability to run server side javascript using this expressjs server. You can use all the scripts available what you can find in web and your own.
    I wonder if this kind of functionality is still available using IIS. And does Nodejs work at all using IIS integration?

  6. #6
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    eric
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    1,284

    Default Re: Multiple App Server Instances - Question

    Quote Originally Posted by kkfin View Post
    This is out of context of this threat but I wonder the functionality of IIS integration.
    When using classic server you can use xbasic to start a Nodejs server in my case expressjs server and this server then starts in whatever port you want and serves html content to the client. This works fine in classic server and you can serve for example which is what I do forms and then have ability to run server side javascript using this expressjs server. You can use all the scripts available what you can find in web and your own.
    I wonder if this kind of functionality is still available using IIS. And does Nodejs work at all using IIS integration?
    hotspot!!

Similar Threads

  1. Runing multiple instances on alpha application server
    By eduduru in forum Mobile & Browser Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-10-2015, 08:53 AM
  2. How We Reached A Stable Environment By Using Multiple Instances of the Web Server
    By kingcarol in forum Mobile & Browser Applications
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 03-02-2015, 04:32 PM
  3. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-25-2014, 05:22 PM
  4. How to use one Applicaiton server for multiple instances of Alpha5?
    By Fisher in forum Application Server Version 11 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 10-25-2011, 05:06 PM
  5. multiple installs (not instances) of WAS on 1 server
    By Clipper87 in forum Application Server Version 10 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-23-2010, 07:57 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •