Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Testing PhoneGap - stuck @ "PhoneGap - Device is ready"

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Jaime Ben David
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Karkur, Israel
    Posts
    976

    Default Testing PhoneGap - stuck @ "PhoneGap - Device is ready"

    Hi
    I have built my first phonegap test application, step by step as per the documentation. The publishing went ok.
    Now i installed the app on my phone, but when i run it it's just stuck at "PhoneGap - Device is ready"

    What am i missing?

    Jaime

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    David Kates
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Unionville, ON
    Posts
    7,576

    Default Re: Testing PhoneGap - stuck @ "PhoneGap - Device is ready"

    If Security is turned on in your Project, you've set Security for the UX to Always Allowed?
    You've published the UX?
    You've set the Alpha PhoneGap Build Builder property "URL for All Ajax Callbacks?

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Jaime Ben David
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Karkur, Israel
    Posts
    976

    Default Re: Testing PhoneGap - stuck @ "PhoneGap - Device is ready"

    I did everything except for the "URL for All Ajax Callbacks" property.
    Should this be set to the URL where the index.html file is?

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    David Kates
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Unionville, ON
    Posts
    7,576

    Default Re: Testing PhoneGap - stuck @ "PhoneGap - Device is ready"

    If you're referring to the index.html file found in the www folder of your PhoneGapProjects project folder, then no. The index.html file contains, among other things, your main UX component and is only used by PGB.

    Your "URL for All Ajax Callbacks" should point to the Alpha server address and folder where you published your UX. If you're making callbacks to the server, your installed app makes a call to your server... to your published UX... the same UX used by PGB. In a sense... they talk to each other.

    However, not setting the URL would/should not result in your app being stuck at PhoneGap - Device is Ready. Your app should display... but won't be able to communicate with your Alpha server.
    Last edited by Davidk; 06-26-2017 at 11:37 AM.

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    Jaime Ben David
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Karkur, Israel
    Posts
    976

    Default Re: Testing PhoneGap - stuck @ "PhoneGap - Device is ready"

    Entered the correct URL, still no joy

  6. #6
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    David Kates
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Unionville, ON
    Posts
    7,576

    Default Re: Testing PhoneGap - stuck @ "PhoneGap - Device is ready"

    If you can, post a clip of the QRCode for Android and I'll have a look. Android is a bit easier to debug. I'd guess you have a Javascript error somewhere.

  7. #7
    Member
    Real Name
    Jaime Ben David
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Karkur, Israel
    Posts
    976

    Default Re: Testing PhoneGap - stuck @ "PhoneGap - Device is ready"

    Many thanks David!
    It's basically the inspection sample UX with hebrew titles and labels...
    Here is the QRCode
    inspectiontest.png

  8. #8
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    David Kates
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Unionville, ON
    Posts
    7,576

    Default Re: Testing PhoneGap - stuck @ "PhoneGap - Device is ready"

    In my tests... after installing... the app isn't getting stuck on "Device is ready". The app opens but then an error occurs... device not defined... and it's failing on this code...

    Code:
    document.addEventListener('deviceready', function() 
    {
         var platform = device.platform;
         switch (platform) 
         {
             case "Android":
                 break;
             case "iOS":
                 StatusBar.hide()
                 break;
          }
    });
    This probably means that you have not included the "Device" plugin... but you are trying to use it.

  9. #9
    Member
    Real Name
    Jaime Ben David
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Karkur, Israel
    Posts
    976

    Default Re: Testing PhoneGap - stuck @ "PhoneGap - Device is ready"

    Thanks a million for spotting this. Where do i include the device plugin, in the Phonegap generation settings?

  10. #10
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    David Kates
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Unionville, ON
    Posts
    7,576

    Default Re: Testing PhoneGap - stuck @ "PhoneGap - Device is ready"

    There are 2 sections in the Alpha PhoneGap Build Builder... "Required PhoneGap Core Plugins" and "Required Third Party PhoneGap Plugin". "Required" means required by you... by your app. Check any plugin you want to include in your app. The list of plugins is not exhaustive... there are lots more... but these are all the main plugins. Also, Cordova plugins can now be used... not just Plugins designed specifically for PhoneGap Build.

Similar Threads

  1. How test a phonegap app on an actual iphone device?
    By drgarytraub in forum Mobile & Browser Applications
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-13-2015, 05:43 PM
  2. PhoneGap accessing "local on device" file
    By Jason Penner in forum Mobile & Browser Applications
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-09-2015, 05:43 PM
  3. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-31-2014, 09:52 AM
  4. PhoneGap device. APIs. uuid, version, platform, etc.
    By CarlMPearson in forum Mobile & Browser Applications
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-04-2014, 08:10 PM
  5. Replies: 22
    Last Post: 02-17-2014, 10:10 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •