Alpha Software Mobile Development Tools:   Alpha Anywhere    |   Alpha TransForm subscribe to our YouTube Channel  Follow Us on LinkedIn  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Facebook

Announcement

Collapse

The Alpha Software Forum Participation Guidelines

The Alpha Software Forum is a free forum created for Alpha Software Developer Community to ask for help, exchange ideas, and share solutions. Alpha Software strives to create an environment where all members of the community can feel safe to participate. In order to ensure the Alpha Software Forum is a place where all feel welcome, forum participants are expected to behave as follows:
  • Be professional in your conduct
  • Be kind to others
  • Be constructive when giving feedback
  • Be open to new ideas and suggestions
  • Stay on topic


Be sure all comments and threads you post are respectful. Posts that contain any of the following content will be considered a violation of your agreement as a member of the Alpha Software Forum Community and will be moderated:
  • Spam.
  • Vulgar language.
  • Quotes from private conversations without permission, including pricing and other sales related discussions.
  • Personal attacks, insults, or subtle put-downs.
  • Harassment, bullying, threatening, mocking, shaming, or deriding anyone.
  • Sexist, racist, homophobic, transphobic, ableist, or otherwise discriminatory jokes and language.
  • Sexually explicit or violent material, links, or language.
  • Pirated, hacked, or copyright-infringing material.
  • Encouraging of others to engage in the above behaviors.


If a thread or post is found to contain any of the content outlined above, a moderator may choose to take one of the following actions:
  • Remove the Post or Thread - the content is removed from the forum.
  • Place the User in Moderation - all posts and new threads must be approved by a moderator before they are posted.
  • Temporarily Ban the User - user is banned from forum for a period of time.
  • Permanently Ban the User - user is permanently banned from the forum.


Moderators may also rename posts and threads if they are too generic or do not property reflect the content.

Moderators may move threads if they have been posted in the incorrect forum.

Threads/Posts questioning specific moderator decisions or actions (such as "why was a user banned?") are not allowed and will be removed.

The owners of Alpha Software Corporation (Forum Owner) reserve the right to remove, edit, move, or close any thread for any reason; or ban any forum member without notice, reason, or explanation.

Community members are encouraged to click the "Report Post" icon in the lower left of a given post if they feel the post is in violation of the rules. This will alert the Moderators to take a look.

Alpha Software Corporation may amend the guidelines from time to time and may also vary the procedures it sets out where appropriate in a particular case. Your agreement to comply with the guidelines will be deemed agreement to any changes to it.



Bonus TIPS for Successful Posting

Try a Search First
It is highly recommended that a Search be done on your topic before posting, as many questions have been answered in prior posts. As with any search engine, the shorter the search term, the more "hits" will be returned, but the more specific the search term is, the greater the relevance of those "hits". Searching for "table" might well return every message on the board while "tablesum" would greatly restrict the number of messages returned.

When you do post
First, make sure you are posting your question in the correct forum. For example, if you post an issue regarding Desktop applications on the Mobile & Browser Applications board , not only will your question not be seen by the appropriate audience, it may also be removed or relocated.

The more detail you provide about your problem or question, the more likely someone is to understand your request and be able to help. A sample database with a minimum of records (and its support files, zipped together) will make it much easier to diagnose issues with your application. Screen shots of error messages are especially helpful.

When explaining how to reproduce your problem, please be as detailed as possible. Describe every step, click-by-click and keypress-by-keypress. Otherwise when others try to duplicate your problem, they may do something slightly different and end up with different results.

A note about attachments
You may only attach one file to each message. Attachment file size is limited to 2MB. If you need to include several files, you may do so by zipping them into a single archive.

If you forgot to attach your files to your post, please do NOT create a new thread. Instead, reply to your original message and attach the file there.

When attaching screen shots, it is best to attach an image file (.BMP, .JPG, .GIF, .PNG, etc.) or a zip file of several images, as opposed to a Word document containing the screen shots. Because Word documents are prone to viruses, many message board users will not open your Word file, therefore limiting their ability to help you.

Similarly, if you are uploading a zipped archive, you should simply create a .ZIP file and not a self-extracting .EXE as many users will not run your EXE file.
See more
See less

KeyboardEditor, standard code issue

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

    KeyboardEditor, standard code issue

    I'm exploring the standard keybard editor. One can define additional key's in the formview field settings.
    If one defines multiple values to 1 key they are shown in an additional popup
    The keyboard has a compact and large variant.

    Questions / issues:

    1. In the large variant the additional popup is hidden behind the other keys (it works correct in the compact variant). See images below:

    CompactKeyboardPopupOk.PNGLargeKeyboardPopupHidden.PNG


    2. The case key only changes the standard keys content in to case. How can I make it also work for the content of the additional key?

    Thanks in advance
    Ger Kurvers
    Alpha Anywhere / V4.6.1.9- Build 6488 (production) / V4.6.5.1 - 8722-5683(testing)
    Development: Mysql, windows 10 64 Applicationserver: standard on Windows server 2019

    #2
    Re: KeyboardEditor, standard code issue

    Add this to the Editor CSS defined for this Control. You'll see a couple of entries for .multiKeyMenu. Add this in as well. This will bring the additional keys to the forefront.

    Code:
    .multiKeyMenu {
    	z-index:9999;
    }

    Comment


      #3
      Re: KeyboardEditor, standard code issue

      Thanks David, works great!
      Ger Kurvers
      Alpha Anywhere / V4.6.1.9- Build 6488 (production) / V4.6.5.1 - 8722-5683(testing)
      Development: Mysql, windows 10 64 Applicationserver: standard on Windows server 2019

      Comment


        #4
        Re: KeyboardEditor, standard code issue

        For the 2nd part... uppercasing the multi-keys... change the "key" item, onDown Event of the Editor.

        Find this line of code...

        Code:
        if(ia == 'multi'){
        In the original code, this line is next...

        Code:
        if(!(this.data.settings.allowLowerCase && this.data.settings.lowerCase) && typeof v == 'string') v = v.toUpperCase();
        The issue is with the "type" of value in v. Normally, with "abc", "def" etc... it's a 'string'. But, with defined values, it's an 'object'.

        So... comment out that line of code... and put this in it's place...

        Code:
        	if(!(this.data.settings.allowLowerCase && this.data.settings.lowerCase)){
        		if(typeof v == 'string'){
        			v = v.toUpperCase();
        		}
        		if(typeof v == 'object'){
        			$('{dialog.viewBoxId}.MULTIKEY').style.textTransform = "uppercase";
        		}
        	}
        Now... if it's a 'string' we uppercase the popup menu. If it's an object, we change it's style and transform the characters to uppercase.
        Last edited by Davidk; 09-15-2017, 03:04 PM.

        Comment


          #5
          Re: KeyboardEditor, standard code issue

          Thanks David, perfect again.

          I noticed that when saving the adjustment in the key-item onDown event of the viewbox (in the editor) throws a javascript error in an other part of the standard code, but ignoring it doesn't throw an error when testing local host (at least at Build 4594-4964 17-SEP-2017 - 8:40 AM)
          Ger Kurvers
          Alpha Anywhere / V4.6.1.9- Build 6488 (production) / V4.6.5.1 - 8722-5683(testing)
          Development: Mysql, windows 10 64 Applicationserver: standard on Windows server 2019

          Comment


            #6
            Re: KeyboardEditor, standard code issue

            Yes... the Javascript syntax checker is a tiny bit too sensitive. As you say... no rendering or running issues. I only find this in the ViewBox code areas. There are a couple of lines in that code not completed with a ";". Doesn't hurt, but I usually tack them on.

            Comment


              #7
              Re: KeyboardEditor, standard code issue

              I extend this thread with an additional, related question....

              In the userdefined multikey one must seperate values with a "," (comma).
              So I figured out that specifying a comma can only be done by entering the html value: ,
              That display's correct in the popup.

              However when the comma is selected, in the viewbox appears , in stead of ",".

              Solved, must have made a typo somewhere, now also in the viewbox a comma is returned.......
              Last edited by cptutrecht; 09-21-2017, 10:20 AM.
              Ger Kurvers
              Alpha Anywhere / V4.6.1.9- Build 6488 (production) / V4.6.5.1 - 8722-5683(testing)
              Development: Mysql, windows 10 64 Applicationserver: standard on Windows server 2019

              Comment


                #8
                Re: KeyboardEditor, standard code issue

                Originally posted by cptutrecht View Post
                I'm exploring the standard keybard editor. One can define additional key's in the formview field settings.
                If one defines multiple values to 1 key they are shown in an additional popup
                The keyboard has a compact and large variant.

                Questions / issues:

                1. In the large variant the additional popup is hidden behind the other keys (it works correct in the compact variant). See images below:

                [ATTACH=CONFIG]43978[/ATTACH][ATTACH=CONFIG]43979[/ATTACH]


                2. The case key only changes the standard keys content in to case. How can I make it also work for the content of the additional key?

                Thanks in advance
                Hello Ger,

                If you haven't already, please submit a bug report on item 1 to the development team so they can investigate this and fix it. Thanks.
                Sarah Mitchell
                Director of Customer Success | [URL="https://www.alphasoftware.com"]Alpha Software Corporation[/URL]
                [B]Get in the know! [/B] Join us for our Weekly Webinars: [URL="https://www.alphasoftware.com/weekly-transform-tuesday-webinar"]TransForm Tuesday[/URL] and [URL="https://www.alphasoftware.com/weekly-alpha-anywhere-overview-webinar"]Wednesday's Alpha Anywhere Demo and Q&A[/URL]
                Connect with us: [URL="https://www.instagram.com/alpha_software_corp/"]Instagram[/URL] | [URL="https://twitter.com/AlphaSoftware"]Twitter[/URL] | [URL="https://www.facebook.com/AlphaSoftware/"]Facebook[/URL] | [URL="https://www.linkedin.com/company/alpha-software"]LinkedIn[/URL] | [URL="https://www.youtube.com/user/AlphaSoftwareInc"]YouTube[/URL]

                Comment


                  #9
                  Re: KeyboardEditor, standard code issue

                  The issue and a suggested code fix (as if I know what I'm doing) was submitted to Selwyn on the 15th... Subject Line "AlphaNumeric KeyPad Editor" with a sample UX.

                  Comment


                    #10
                    Re: KeyboardEditor, standard code issue

                    Originally posted by Davidk View Post
                    The issue and a suggested code fix (as if I know what I'm doing) was submitted to Selwyn on the 15th... Subject Line "AlphaNumeric KeyPad Editor" with a sample UX.
                    Great! Thanks David.
                    Sarah Mitchell
                    Director of Customer Success | [URL="https://www.alphasoftware.com"]Alpha Software Corporation[/URL]
                    [B]Get in the know! [/B] Join us for our Weekly Webinars: [URL="https://www.alphasoftware.com/weekly-transform-tuesday-webinar"]TransForm Tuesday[/URL] and [URL="https://www.alphasoftware.com/weekly-alpha-anywhere-overview-webinar"]Wednesday's Alpha Anywhere Demo and Q&A[/URL]
                    Connect with us: [URL="https://www.instagram.com/alpha_software_corp/"]Instagram[/URL] | [URL="https://twitter.com/AlphaSoftware"]Twitter[/URL] | [URL="https://www.facebook.com/AlphaSoftware/"]Facebook[/URL] | [URL="https://www.linkedin.com/company/alpha-software"]LinkedIn[/URL] | [URL="https://www.youtube.com/user/AlphaSoftwareInc"]YouTube[/URL]

                    Comment

                    Working...
                    X