Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: How do I schedule an Xbasic script, operation or backup to run in off hours

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Mark Gallagher
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Sarasota, Florida
    Posts
    37

    Default How do I schedule an Xbasic script, operation or backup to run in off hours

    I have not seen where I can schedule a job like a backup or an Xbasic script to run as a schedule job.

    Is there a job scheduler interface I can use to schedule a task?

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    25,119

    Default Re: How do I schedule an Xbasic script, operation or backup to run in off hours

    For scripts

    https://www.alphasoftware.com/docume...20Function.xml

    You can also leave a form open and code the ontimer event.

    You can also use the on_condition() function.

    https://www.alphasoftware.com/docume...20Function.xml

    There is no built in task scheduler.
    There can be only one.

  3. #3
    Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,561

    Default Re: How do I schedule an Xbasic script, operation or backup to run in off hours

    Stan mentioned option 1

    Option 2 is to use Window's task scheduler to open Alpha and run a script/function at startup -

    Build a shortcut that works and use that info for window's task scheduler.

    Be advised that task scheduler now works as a background process and starts Alpha there too.

    If you are calling another desktop program from Alpha, it may not work.

    Then you go to option 3 which says make option 1 work, or get a 3rd party scheduler that runs in the foreground of windows.
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    Mark Gallagher
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Sarasota, Florida
    Posts
    37

    Default Re: How do I schedule an Xbasic script, operation or backup to run in off hours

    If I can use the Window's task scheduler to open Alpha and run my a script, I think that would be enough.

    I'll get to this in a few days.

    Thanks and I appreciate all your suggestions.

    Mark

Similar Threads

  1. Schedule Script on an Encrypted DB
    By mgallardo in forum Windows Desktop Applications
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 12-08-2016, 05:04 PM
  2. Script Schedule v10 ok v11 not ok
    By omagarc in forum Alpha Five Version 11 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-04-2015, 10:27 AM
  3. Schedule a Script
    By raydasilva in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-17-2006, 08:56 AM
  4. Script Schedule
    By Mike Levesque in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-16-2005, 05:01 AM
  5. Run Operation versus Xbasic Script
    By Bob Houle in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-17-2001, 03:20 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •