Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Accessing Word Press Site using OAuth2 for Word Press

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Steve
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    25

    Default Accessing Word Press Site using OAuth2 for Word Press

    Hi
    Trying to find information on how to access a Word Press site using OAuth, I was following the article on Creating OAuth Client Application but when I try to create the
    Resource Provider it ask to select a provider from a drop down list and Word Press in not in the list. Is it possible to access Word Press site ? Any info will be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,607

    Default Re: Accessing Word Press Site using OAuth2 for Word Press

    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    David Kates
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Unionville, ON
    Posts
    7,683

    Default Re: Accessing Word Press Site using OAuth2 for Word Press

    Quote Originally Posted by hogie503 View Post
    Hi
    Trying to find information on how to access a Word Press site using OAuth, I was following the article on Creating OAuth Client Application but when I try to create the
    Resource Provider it ask to select a provider from a drop down list and Word Press in not in the list. Is it possible to access Word Press site ? Any info will be appreciated.
    Have a look here...

    https://developer.wordpress.com/docs/oauth2/

    You'll need to create your own Provider... and for help on this look here...

    https://www.alphasoftware.com/docume...Definition.xml

    Once you create your provider it should be available in the Resource Provider dropdown. However... as with all Standards... every single implementation I've created for OAuth2 (assuming you're using OAuth2) has been completely different.

    The parameters are different, the responses are different... pretty much everything. Alpha is expecting a very specific response from a Resource Provider... so... who knows if the WordPress stuff will work. You can only try.

    I'll give it a try but you'd need to send me your WP credentials in a PM.

    Have a look at the OAuth Provider JSON files... and... using a sample such as Box... see if you can build a profile for WP.

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    Steve
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    25

    Default Re: Accessing Word Press Site using OAuth2 for Word Press

    I was looking for info on how to access Word Press site from within a Alpha Anywhere Application, I was following the "Creating the OAuth client application" from the Documentations on Alpha site but when configuring the Name Provider I had to pick a provider from a drop down list and nothing about Word Press is in the list, was looking how to get around or add to that list

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    Steve
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    25

    Default Re: Accessing Word Press Site using OAuth2 for Word Press

    Thanks David, I will look at the info you suggested, and see if I can figure some of it out. will also send you WP credentials in PM.. Thanks

  6. #6
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    David Kates
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Unionville, ON
    Posts
    7,683

    Default Re: Accessing Word Press Site using OAuth2 for Word Press

    Last time I created a Resource Provider was for Office365. It didn't exist within Alpha at the time. No matter what I tried nothing would work. I asked Alpha to have a look and they were great about it. They determined that the info being returned by Microsoft was completely different that what is considered standard... and what was expected. Alpha has to change their internal functions to get the Resource Provider to work for Office365. It was a mess, but Alpha figured it out. OAuth2 is a mess... and that's about the only thing that is standard about it.

  7. #7
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Larry Grupido
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1,791

    Default Re: Accessing Word Press Site using OAuth2 for Word Press

    Also looking to connect to Wordpress from Alpha.


    Did you ever get this working?

  8. #8
    Member
    Real Name
    Steve
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    25

    Default Re: Accessing Word Press Site using OAuth2 for Word Press

    Sorry, Never got it working

  9. #9
    Member
    Real Name
    Sean OKelly
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Charleston, WV
    Posts
    220

    Default Re: Accessing Word Press Site using OAuth2 for Word Press

    What are you attempting to do with WordPress from within Alpha? Are you trying to have users manipulate data? Are you just trying to display or programmatically manipulate data?

  10. #10
    Member
    Real Name
    mumfie
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    200

    Default Re: Accessing Word Press Site using OAuth2 for Word Press

    Quote Originally Posted by lgrupido View Post
    Also looking to connect to Wordpress from Alpha.


    Did you ever get this working?
    I used a WP plugin in the past with JWT option but docs suggest it also supports OAuth.
    https://wordpress.org/plugins/disabl...authentication
    You can test it with postman to get the token then pass it to subsequent requests.

    Like a lot of WP plugins it has not been updated for latest version of WP and documentation is minimal.

Similar Threads

  1. Need to press the button twice
    By Michael1954 in forum Mobile & Browser Applications
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-17-2014, 09:32 AM
  2. Do you want to be featured on our site and in the press?
    By Richard Rabins in forum Announcements
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-24-2010, 01:51 PM
  3. Open Word, Add text, save and close Word
    By Mike Wilson in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-23-2010, 11:40 AM
  4. Microsoft Word Merge with Word 2007
    By Brad Chesnut in forum Alpha Five Version 8
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-28-2008, 01:36 PM
  5. OLE with WORD leaves Word OPEN
    By richkerr in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 09-08-2005, 04:12 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •