Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: A5 V10 updates

  1. #1
    Member Jerry Hartness's Avatar
    Real Name
    Jerry Hartness
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    427

    Default A5 V10 updates

    Well, had the big disaster. My computer HD totally went bonkers and don't have 600.00+ for a recovery, but I still have my orginal V10 download, and runtime, but after installing on another computer, the update I get the 404 message. Are these updates still available? I am retired and no longer doing any programing for the company I use to work for and I still would like to fiddle around with A5 as it's an excellent program to keep the old mind active, or does anyone have the lastest update for V10 you could e-mail to me.

    Thanks in advance

    Jerry
    jhartness43@gmail.com

  2. #2
    Member
    Real Name
    Bob M
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    562

    Default Re: A5 V10 updates

    Jerry, it is my understanding that should you be using a Windows 10 machine V10 or 10.5 is not going to work. I encountered this several years back and pretty much the same reason as yours. Rather than using two systems on one machine I chose to leave one machine in the house a Windows 7 machine and used the DL I had without a problem.

    I spoke to A5 via phone in 2016 and their comment was A5 V10/10.5 is not going to be supported. If there is an update available I haven't seen it, which is certainly NO reason to believe one does not exist.

  3. #3
    Member Jerry Hartness's Avatar
    Real Name
    Jerry Hartness
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    427

    Default Re: A5 V10 updates

    Mortie, you must have misunderstood what I wanted or I worded it wrong. I want to know what was the lastest version of 10.5 before they took it offline (404 message) and if anyone had a copy of it could I have a copy. I did find an old disk that had 4369-3712 so I updated it to that. Now the computer that crashed was a W7 - Professional and so I reinstalled it on W10 using the compatibialty mode and it works fine. I also have it on my laptop which is Windows 10 with no problems.

    Thanks for your reply, didn't think I was going to get one. LOL

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,581

    Default Re: A5 V10 updates

    Quote Originally Posted by Mortie View Post
    Jerry, it is my understanding that should you be using a Windows 10 machine V10 or 10.5 is not going to work. I encountered this several years back and pretty much the same reason as yours. Rather than using two systems on one machine I chose to leave one machine in the house a Windows 7 machine and used the DL I had without a problem.

    I spoke to A5 via phone in 2016 and their comment was A5 V10/10.5 is not going to be supported. If there is an update available I haven't seen it, which is certainly NO reason to believe one does not exist.
    V 10.5 and Win 10 is fine. Run in Windows 7 compatibility.
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  5. #5
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    25,119

    Default Re: A5 V10 updates

    I found two backups with 4369-3712. I think that be the last update.
    There can be only one.

  6. #6
    Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,581

    Default Re: A5 V10 updates

    Quote Originally Posted by Stan Mathews View Post
    I found two backups with 4369-3712. I think that be the last update.
    That's what I run on...
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  7. #7
    Member
    Real Name
    Paul Verboom
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    141

    Default Re: A5 V10 updates

    Version 10.5 works in Windows 10 the main issue was when the installation program attempted to install the Microsoft DHTML editor component that for security reasons is no longer supported. That installer would generate the not lincensed for this OS error. DHTML editor was only used on the web side. The installation error doesn't come up when installing into later versions of Windows 10.

  8. #8
    Member Jerry Hartness's Avatar
    Real Name
    Jerry Hartness
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    427

    Default Re: A5 V10 updates

    Thanks everyone, looks as though I had the last update per Stan Mathews

Similar Threads

  1. updates
    By clifcro in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-11-2008, 10:19 PM
  2. V8 Updates
    By MCBrown in forum Alpha Five Version 8
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 06-27-2008, 05:24 PM
  3. Updates
    By Lanny Tonning in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-05-2005, 12:58 PM
  4. updates
    By William Everett in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-23-2004, 04:04 AM
  5. Updates
    By Ted Amiss in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-07-2003, 04:25 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •