Alpha DevCon 2018
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Creating a list on a menu screen

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Bob M
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    540

    Default Creating a list on a menu screen

    I am creating a CMS program for my own use. I am using A5V10.5

    I access a variety of customers in the database throughout the day. I could, every day, want to revisit several of them several times a day as I receive more information.

    Is there a way to show, on the opening screen of the program, the last 5 reviewed in my program and those five names (Last Name, First name, Unique Contact ID#)? Hence the list can change in one day or over several days (as opposed to doing a query and opening that info in the appropriate form. The parent table, in my set, holds all the relevant information.

    My first thought is creating 5 variables and as I access a customer store the information in a variable field on the screen and list the variables on the opening screen. I want to be able to click on the name and it takes me to the customers more detailed information. But this seems bulky to me.

    FYI, I am not fluent, or even competent, in XBasic but I can get through with Action Scripting.

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic MoGrace's Avatar
    Real Name
    Robin
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    3,454

    Default Re: Creating a list on a menu screen

    Hi Bob,
    In the table that holds the customer info, add a date field with its calculated value set to date(). Also add a logical field that you set on the form to be a checkbox and set the field's OnChange event to save the record.

    When you review a customer, set the checkbox to TRUE and the date field will be updated. Any change to a record will update the calc field if you don't use the checkbox.

    At the close of the app (assuming every day) you could run an update operation to set the logical field to FALSE for all customers who do not have the date field = date().

    Now when you open the app the following day, you can display the customers whose date field was yesterday using a filter on the form or you can call the form with a query.

    I'll see if I can make you an example using AlphaSports...
    Last edited by MoGrace; 06-13-2018 at 12:18 PM.
    Robin

    Discernment is not needed in things that differ, but in those things that appear to be the same. - Miles Sanford

  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic MoGrace's Avatar
    Real Name
    Robin
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    3,454

    Default Re: Creating a list on a menu screen

    Open AlphaSports and import these two forms based on the customer table. Open Cust_Rev to see records dated 6/12/18. There is also the option on that form to select a different date (6/8 or 6/11) in case you don't see this today...

    edit_cust_info.a5pkg
    cust_rev.a5pkg
    Robin

    Discernment is not needed in things that differ, but in those things that appear to be the same. - Miles Sanford

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    Bob M
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    540

    Default Re: Creating a list on a menu screen

    Thanks.

    I will take a look at the Alpha Sports suggestions

  5. #5
    "Certified" Alphaholic DaveM's Avatar
    Real Name
    Dave Mason
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Hudson, FL
    Posts
    5,919

    Default Re: Creating a list on a menu screen

    In a current CRM I sell, The user is presented an option to open a report(in preview) of similar to what you are wanting? Just created a report for people scheduled for followup and then just ask the user if they would like to see it when they enter the application. If they click "ok" they can view report, then print as needed.
    Dave Mason
    dave@aldaweb.com

    Skype is dave.mason46

  6. #6
    Member
    Real Name
    Bob M
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    540

    Default Re: Creating a list on a menu screen

    Thanks for the input. What I think I did was a combination of suggestions.

    Created a logical field in my main table called Under_Review. I placed it on the base form of my customer detail form as a checkbox. Defaulted it to .F. for data entry. If my work with a particular customer is not done (usually for lack of documents attached to their record), I check the under review box on the customer's detail screen.

    I placed a button on my opening screen that opens a filtered browse (under_review=.T.). This calls a filtered browse with Customer ID, First and Last Name and city of residence fields. I used rowdblclick event to open the detail customer screen. And, then I am at the point where I can continue adding information and remove the under review check if done or leave it there if still more to do.

    Thanks for the input. It certainly helped and pointed me in a final plan/method that works.

  7. #7
    "Certified" Alphaholic MoGrace's Avatar
    Real Name
    Robin
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    3,454

    Default Re: Creating a list on a menu screen

    Good to hear.
    Robin

    Discernment is not needed in things that differ, but in those things that appear to be the same. - Miles Sanford

Similar Threads

  1. Creating menu tool bar
    By MikeData in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-23-2010, 09:01 AM
  2. Creating a Main Menu
    By jbk in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-25-2009, 09:45 AM
  3. Menu bar not showing in full screen
    By Mary Nickerson in forum Alpha Four Versions 7 and 8
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-26-2005, 03:26 PM
  4. Creating right click menu's
    By Tom Mills in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-30-2002, 04:45 PM
  5. Opening on Menu screen
    By Madelene Ferguson Allen in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-05-2001, 04:51 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •