Alpha Software Mobile Development Tools:   Alpha Anywhere    |   Alpha TransForm subscribe to our YouTube Channel  Follow Us on LinkedIn  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Facebook

Announcement

Collapse

The Alpha Software Forum Participation Guidelines

The Alpha Software Forum is a free forum created for Alpha Software Developer Community to ask for help, exchange ideas, and share solutions. Alpha Software strives to create an environment where all members of the community can feel safe to participate. In order to ensure the Alpha Software Forum is a place where all feel welcome, forum participants are expected to behave as follows:
  • Be professional in your conduct
  • Be kind to others
  • Be constructive when giving feedback
  • Be open to new ideas and suggestions
  • Stay on topic


Be sure all comments and threads you post are respectful. Posts that contain any of the following content will be considered a violation of your agreement as a member of the Alpha Software Forum Community and will be moderated:
  • Spam.
  • Vulgar language.
  • Quotes from private conversations without permission, including pricing and other sales related discussions.
  • Personal attacks, insults, or subtle put-downs.
  • Harassment, bullying, threatening, mocking, shaming, or deriding anyone.
  • Sexist, racist, homophobic, transphobic, ableist, or otherwise discriminatory jokes and language.
  • Sexually explicit or violent material, links, or language.
  • Pirated, hacked, or copyright-infringing material.
  • Encouraging of others to engage in the above behaviors.


If a thread or post is found to contain any of the content outlined above, a moderator may choose to take one of the following actions:
  • Remove the Post or Thread - the content is removed from the forum.
  • Place the User in Moderation - all posts and new threads must be approved by a moderator before they are posted.
  • Temporarily Ban the User - user is banned from forum for a period of time.
  • Permanently Ban the User - user is permanently banned from the forum.


Moderators may also rename posts and threads if they are too generic or do not property reflect the content.

Moderators may move threads if they have been posted in the incorrect forum.

Threads/Posts questioning specific moderator decisions or actions (such as "why was a user banned?") are not allowed and will be removed.

The owners of Alpha Software Corporation (Forum Owner) reserve the right to remove, edit, move, or close any thread for any reason; or ban any forum member without notice, reason, or explanation.

Community members are encouraged to click the "Report Post" icon in the lower left of a given post if they feel the post is in violation of the rules. This will alert the Moderators to take a look.

Alpha Software Corporation may amend the guidelines from time to time and may also vary the procedures it sets out where appropriate in a particular case. Your agreement to comply with the guidelines will be deemed agreement to any changes to it.



Bonus TIPS for Successful Posting

Try a Search First
It is highly recommended that a Search be done on your topic before posting, as many questions have been answered in prior posts. As with any search engine, the shorter the search term, the more "hits" will be returned, but the more specific the search term is, the greater the relevance of those "hits". Searching for "table" might well return every message on the board while "tablesum" would greatly restrict the number of messages returned.

When you do post
First, make sure you are posting your question in the correct forum. For example, if you post an issue regarding Desktop applications on the Mobile & Browser Applications board , not only will your question not be seen by the appropriate audience, it may also be removed or relocated.

The more detail you provide about your problem or question, the more likely someone is to understand your request and be able to help. A sample database with a minimum of records (and its support files, zipped together) will make it much easier to diagnose issues with your application. Screen shots of error messages are especially helpful.

When explaining how to reproduce your problem, please be as detailed as possible. Describe every step, click-by-click and keypress-by-keypress. Otherwise when others try to duplicate your problem, they may do something slightly different and end up with different results.

A note about attachments
You may only attach one file to each message. Attachment file size is limited to 2MB. If you need to include several files, you may do so by zipping them into a single archive.

If you forgot to attach your files to your post, please do NOT create a new thread. Instead, reply to your original message and attach the file there.

When attaching screen shots, it is best to attach an image file (.BMP, .JPG, .GIF, .PNG, etc.) or a zip file of several images, as opposed to a Word document containing the screen shots. Because Word documents are prone to viruses, many message board users will not open your Word file, therefore limiting their ability to help you.

Similarly, if you are uploading a zipped archive, you should simply create a .ZIP file and not a self-extracting .EXE as many users will not run your EXE file.
See more
See less

Issues with checkbox control

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

    Issues with checkbox control

    I have a checkbox similar to:

    - dogs
    - cats
    -tigers

    I can use javascript to set the value to say dogs (by saying checkbox=dogs, and then the dogs box is checked - similarly for cats and tigers.

    But, if I want to check the dogs box AND the cats box, and I try to set the checkbox to check the dogs AND cats checkboxes (by saying checkbox=dogs,cats nothing happens.

    So if I use {grid.Object}.setValue('G','SLEEP_PROBLEMS',rowNum,'Good'); the good box is checked
    If I use {grid.Object}.setValue('G','SLEEP_PROBLEMS',rowNum,'Poor'); the poor box is checked
    But, if I use {grid.Object}.setValue('G','SLEEP_PROBLEMS',rowNum,'Good,Poor'); nothing happens when what I want is for good and poor both to be checked.

    What am I missing?
    Last edited by drgarytraub; 08-26-2018, 05:46 PM. Reason: rethought
    Gary S. Traub, Ph.D.


    #2
    Re: Issues with checkbox control

    Maybe something like {grid.Object}.setValue('G','SLEEP_PROBLEMS[]','[Good','Poor']);
    Alpha Anywhere v12.4.6.5.2 Build 8867-5691 IIS v10.0 on Windows Server 2019 Std in Hyper-V

    Comment


      #3
      Re: Issues with checkbox control

      That does not work, and neither does this: {grid.Object}.setValue('G','SLEEP_PROBLEMS',rowNum,'[Good','Poor']);

      The real issue that I am trying to resolve is to do this with a lookup. For example, I have a form with a checkbox control as described above. I also have defined a lookup table so that when a link is clicked, it will open a table showing me a list of prior records I can copy in to the new record. The lookup grid is also made up of checkbox controls. This works as expected when there is only one box checked on the lookup grid's checkbox control, but does not work at all when there is more than one box checked. Two or more values will copy correctly from the lookup in to the new record if the receiving control is a textbox control but not a checkbox control. Is this a bug? Or is there a workaround?
      Gary S. Traub, Ph.D.

      Comment


        #4
        Re: Issues with checkbox control

        Try this.
        Code:
        {grid.Object}.setValue('G','SLEEP_PROBLEMS[]',rowNum,'Good','Poor');
        Gregg
        https://paiza.io is a great site to test and share sql code

        Comment


          #5
          Re: Issues with checkbox control

          Maybe a Grid is different, but in a UX you would not include [] after the control ID and you would pass in an array not a string. It would look like this:


          Code:
          {dialog.object}.setValue('SLEEP_PROBLEMS', ['Dogs', 'Cats']);
          So, in Post # 2 above, there is a typo, I think meant to write:

          Code:
          {grid.Object}.setValue('G','SLEEP_PROBLEMS[]'[COLOR="#FF0000"], rowNum, ['[/COLOR]Good','Poor'] );
          If that does not work then try using just the straight control name like this:

          Code:
          {grid.Object}.setValue('G','SLEEP_PROBLEMS', rowNum, ['Good','Poor'] );
          Last edited by RichCPT; 08-27-2018, 02:20 PM. Reason: added rowNum

          Comment


            #6
            Re: Issues with checkbox control

            If you are getting a comma delimited string of choices from your lookup window when you do the 'getValue' then convert that string back into an array before calling setValue.

            Slctd = Slctd .split(',');

            Comment


              #7
              Re: Issues with checkbox control

              Originally posted by RichCPT View Post
              So, in Post # 2 above, there is a typo, I think meant to write:

              Code:
              {grid.Object}.setValue('G','SLEEP_PROBLEMS[]'[COLOR="#FF0000"], rowNum, ['[/COLOR]Good','Poor'] );
              Perhaps Rich is correct, however the Alpha Documentation on this states the following regarding checkboxes:

              Set the value in 'FAVORITECOLOR'. Assume that 'FAVORITECOLOR' is a multi-valued field (e.g. a Checkbox control or a Dropdown control configured to allow multiple values):
              {grid.Object}.setValue('S','FAVAORITECOLOR[]',['alpha','beta','gamma']);
              https://www.alphasoftware.com/docume...e%20Method.xml
              Alpha Anywhere v12.4.6.5.2 Build 8867-5691 IIS v10.0 on Windows Server 2019 Std in Hyper-V

              Comment


                #8
                Re: Issues with checkbox control

                Originally posted by drgarytraub View Post
                I have a checkbox similar to:

                - dogs
                - cats
                -tigers

                I can use javascript to set the value to say dogs (by saying checkbox=dogs, and then the dogs box is checked - similarly for cats and tigers.

                But, if I want to check the dogs box AND the cats box, and I try to set the checkbox to check the dogs AND cats checkboxes (by saying checkbox=dogs,cats nothing happens.

                So if I use {grid.Object}.setValue('G','SLEEP_PROBLEMS',rowNum,'Good'); the good box is checked
                If I use {grid.Object}.setValue('G','SLEEP_PROBLEMS',rowNum,'Poor'); the poor box is checked
                But, if I use {grid.Object}.setValue('G','SLEEP_PROBLEMS',rowNum,'Good,Poor'); nothing happens when what I want is for good and poor both to be checked.

                What am I missing?
                Hello Everyone!

                I saw this post today and updated the documentation for {grid.object}.setValue() to clarify the information and hopefully clear up this question.

                The syntax to set multiple values is an array. You must specify the row number if you're setting the value in a Grid row. Otherwise, the row number is not needed:
                Code:
                // Grid Part
                {grid.object}.setValue('G','COLORS[]',2,['blue','grey']);
                
                // Search Part - no row number
                {grid.object}.setValue('S','COLORS[]',['blue','grey']);
                
                // Detail View Part - no row number
                {grid.object}.setValue('D','COLORS[]',['blue','grey']);
                The [] are not necessarily required here as the method will append them if they are needed. However, in other contexts -- such as using the $n() method -- you must include them. So it's best to be in the habit of adding them.

                Hope this is helpful.
                Sarah Mitchell
                Director of Customer Success | [URL="https://www.alphasoftware.com"]Alpha Software Corporation[/URL]
                [B]Get in the know! [/B] Join us for our Weekly Webinars: [URL="https://www.alphasoftware.com/weekly-transform-tuesday-webinar"]TransForm Tuesday[/URL] and [URL="https://www.alphasoftware.com/weekly-alpha-anywhere-overview-webinar"]Wednesday's Alpha Anywhere Demo and Q&A[/URL]
                Connect with us: [URL="https://www.instagram.com/alpha_software_corp/"]Instagram[/URL] | [URL="https://twitter.com/AlphaSoftware"]Twitter[/URL] | [URL="https://www.facebook.com/AlphaSoftware/"]Facebook[/URL] | [URL="https://www.linkedin.com/company/alpha-software"]LinkedIn[/URL] | [URL="https://www.youtube.com/user/AlphaSoftwareInc"]YouTube[/URL]

                Comment

                Working...
                X