Alpha Video Training
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 31 to 39 of 39

Thread: List Controls Not Working After Updating Alpha Software Version

  1. #31
    "Certified" Alphaholic kingcarol's Avatar
    Real Name
    Carol King
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    1,512

    Default Re: List Controls Not Working After Updating Alpha Software Version

    When I upgraded to 5221, the reports on all of my components that used list Controls and then CurrentListFilter('list1') for reports broke and were not honoring the BASE filters of the list, just the filters via a search by the user after the list was opened. So... if the list was opened filtered to one job, for example, before it was opened, and then user did report, it showed ALL the jobs. Selwyn sent me this code to put in the client side event OnRenderComplete to take care of that issue, which meant I had to do it on hundreds of components.... BUT anyway, I don't think my base filters for the list control itself were breaking like yours, but maybe some were and I didn't notice because I put that code in and it fixed that too?

    Selwyn said this was fixed in a pre-release after the 5221 one, but I didn't want to get the pre release and risk other things breaking.

    Since your question seems to relate to base filters on a list control, I thought you might see if this code Selwyn sent helps you...

    Code:
    //Reports were only recognizing filters from Search on the list control, but NOT filters set
    //before component was opened!!!  Put this code in client side OnRenderComplete
    
    {dialog.object}.listFilterOrder =  function(listId) {
    	var mode = 'filter' //mode can also be 'userFilter' which does not include the base filter
    	if(typeof arguments[1] != 'undefined') mode = arguments[1];
    	var obj = {filter: '', order: '', parameters: ''};
    	var lObj = this.getControl(listId);
    	if(lObj) {
    		if(mode == 'filter') {
    			obj.filter = lObj._state.whereClause;
    			obj.parameters = lObj._state.whereParameters;
    			if(typeof lObj.childLists != 'undefined') {
    			}
    		} else {
    			obj.filter = lObj._state.filter;
    			obj.parameters = lObj._state.filterParameters;
    		}
    		obj.order = lObj._state.order;
    	}
    	return obj;
    }
    Carol King
    Developer of Custom Homebuilders' Solutions (CHS)
    http://www.CHSBuilderSoftware.com

  2. #32
    Member
    Real Name
    Steven
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    632

    Default Re: List Controls Not Working After Updating Alpha Software Version

    So code was sent to you to fix stuff like a band-aid approach to a larger ailment? Was there a promise to fix it?

  3. #33
    "Certified" Alphaholic kingcarol's Avatar
    Real Name
    Carol King
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    1,512

    Default Re: List Controls Not Working After Updating Alpha Software Version

    Selwyn did say it had been fixed. This discussion happened with him in September when I updated to 5221, so it was fixed per Selwyn before the latest new release. I did not want to get the pre-release at the time because I did not want to introduce any possible new bugs from the pre-release, and needed to put the 5221 one into production, so I did the 'Band-Aid'.
    Carol King
    Developer of Custom Homebuilders' Solutions (CHS)
    http://www.CHSBuilderSoftware.com

  4. #34
    Member
    Real Name
    Steven
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    632

    Default Re: List Controls Not Working After Updating Alpha Software Version

    Should I try a previous version than 5221 to see if it works? I tried downloading one from the site but was having problems downloading it. Maybe the site is having trouble right now. Any recommendations on which version I should try?

  5. #35
    Member
    Real Name
    Jonathan Freestone
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    West Sussex UK
    Posts
    69

    Default Re: List Controls Not Working After Updating Alpha Software Version

    We had issues with embedded UX and not all arguments being defined in UPPERCASE in both the parent and child UX. making this change seems to have fixed our issues. YMMV

  6. #36
    Member
    Real Name
    Rich Fulham
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    995

    Default Re: List Controls Not Working After Updating Alpha Software Version

    I don't see any difference between builds 5221 and some of the later version like 5303 and 5464 with how AA's listFilterOrder function is defined.

    To me it looks like Selwyn had Carol remove the code that sets different obj.filter and obj.parameters when the UX contains child lists. But the code he had her remove still exists in later builds! Unless I'm overlooking a small change like incorrect case on a variable name, I don't see any other difference. Maybe the permanent fix was done some place else?

    Part of the code in post # 31
    Code:
    if(typeof lObj.childLists != 'undefined') {
    }
    }

    The same portion of code from builds 5221 and later:

    Code:
                    if (typeof lObj.childLists != 'undefined') {
                        if (lObj.childLists.length >= 0) {
                            obj.filter = lObj._state.filter;
                            obj.parameters = lObj._state.filterParameters;
                        }
                    }

  7. #37
    "Certified" Alphaholic kingcarol's Avatar
    Real Name
    Carol King
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    1,512

    Default Re: List Controls Not Working After Updating Alpha Software Version

    On Sept 18th, Selwyn wrote saying the issue I was having was fixed and would be in next day pre release
    Last edited by kingcarol; 11-21-2018 at 08:02 AM.
    Carol King
    Developer of Custom Homebuilders' Solutions (CHS)
    http://www.CHSBuilderSoftware.com

  8. #38
    Member
    Real Name
    Steven
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    632

    Default Re: List Controls Not Working After Updating Alpha Software Version

    Integrated Security option was checked on the UX, which was the main UX (not login), and that was causing the List Control Issue.

  9. #39
    Member
    Real Name
    Sean OKelly
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Charleston, WV
    Posts
    205

    Default Re: List Controls Not Working After Updating Alpha Software Version

    A quick note on upgrades. We recently went from the version released in April to the version just before the latest release (I think 5447). All of our list controls had problems. In order to fix, we had to do the following:

    Create a new ux
    Create a new primary list (whatever the top level list was)
    Create a detail view
    Create the list action buttons (save, delete, etc.)

    Publish and test on live server.

    Once we did that it worked fine. Then, we could copy and paste in the other controls (such as related lists) into the new ux and it would work fine. Recalculating did nothing. We also tried creating a new ux component and pasting in all controls, and that failed as well. The answer was to do what I listed above. It's possible there is something else at play for your app, so paste in controls in small segments and test after each, that way you can easily isolate any other issue.

    We hope to move everyone to Alpha Cloud as it's a way better environment for updating and testing side by side. Anyone want a sub account on the cloud let me know.

Similar Threads

  1. List Controls And Upgraded Alpha Software Problem
    By swest in forum Mobile & Browser Applications
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-16-2018, 01:19 PM
  2. Seeking Alpha 4 version 8 software
    By Jewel62 in forum Alpha Four Versions 7 and 8
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-08-2016, 12:15 PM
  3. Where Can I get Alpha Four Version 8 software upgrade
    By michaelgeller in forum Alpha Four Versions 7 and 8
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-31-2016, 10:24 PM
  4. Version Control and Alpha Software
    By dionmccormick in forum Mobile & Browser Applications
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-12-2013, 09:25 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •