Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: UX Argument definition

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Kenyon Sprankle
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Marlton, NJ
    Posts
    175

    Default UX Argument definition

    In grid components under query there is way to set up an argument by requesting a prompt to request the value you want to accept the record for, with the ability to define the prompt and control type and then filter that argument like :WhatState, In a UX component the argument lets you set the value at run-time, but there is way to set the prompt. How do you do set it up to request the value at run-time and filter :WhatState? Thanks.
    Ken

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Larry Grupido
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1,675

    Default Re: UX Argument definition

    What are you using the argument for?

    In a UX, you could put the entire component in a container that is hidden until a "state" is selected. So you have the state field at the top of the UX and once someone sets the state, you can run some code and then show the rest of the UX - just as an example.

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Kenyon Sprankle
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Marlton, NJ
    Posts
    175

    Default Re: UX Argument definition

    I am trying to use a UX component to access a database that contains multiple locations. The following UX has data on facility starting with 24 and 17. Want to exclude 17.
    www.swksystems.com/erac24app.a5w
    Ken

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Larry Grupido
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1,675

    Default Re: UX Argument definition

    If you are trying to lock in (or out) a certain facility, you might as well use a session variable. Then you can set the argument to the value of the session variable.

    That is assuming you want to be able to see different facilities for different people. Otherwise, just hard code the filter to facility <> 17!

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    Kenyon Sprankle
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Marlton, NJ
    Posts
    175

    Default Re: UX Argument definition

    In a grid component the filter is in query. Where is filter in UX component?

  6. #6
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Larry Grupido
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1,675

    Default Re: UX Argument definition

    From the component you posted, it looks like you are filtering a list.

    The filter is inside the list where you select the data. That is where you need the argument.

Similar Threads

  1. UX List Control Argument Reverts to 1st Argument in the Argument List
    By forskare in forum Mobile & Browser Applications
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-24-2015, 05:39 PM
  2. How To Test For Valid SQL::Argument argument
    By gkpurcey in forum Application Server Version 11 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-08-2012, 05:22 PM
  3. Dialog with Argument: how can i check no argument passed?
    By WindForce in forum Application Server Version 11 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-06-2012, 05:24 AM
  4. Lookup Definition
    By njguy in forum Application Server Version 10 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-04-2010, 12:00 PM
  5. argument definition problem
    By Flommer in forum Application Server Version 8
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-23-2007, 08:59 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •