Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Reports Issue

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Larry F. Carraher
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    145

    Default Reports Issue

    Hopefully someone has seen this one before.

    I copied a report from one computer to a database on another computer. Made a few changes to the format and ran the report.

    So far, looks OK.

    BUT... there is no way I can change the sorting/sequencing for the report.

    Yes, it is the file and
    Yes, I can change data fields but not affect the sequencing.

    I even created a new filed called SORTFIELD and put data into that field. This had NO EFFECT ON THE SEQUENCING.

    Does anyone have any clues ???

    Lar

  2. #2
    Member
    Real Name
    Larry F. Carraher
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    145

    Default Re: Reports Issue

    I have tried the following:
    * Report / Select Records and then ORDER - nothing
    * I built a new index - no change

    Is there a file that may be locked ??

    Is there a file that perhaps got toasted during the COPY of the report.

    And, when I try to change one of the fileds and insert another field, the computer locks up and I have to cancel.


    ?????????

    Lar

  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Ronald Anusiewicz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Southampton, MA
    Posts
    1,529

    Default Re: Reports Issue

    One thing to try is database compact.
    You don't specify if the order issue is when in design mode or when running the report from a script.
    If the report has groups, the order can be set in the group definition.
    Alpha Anywhere v3.5
    Version 12.3, Build 2999
    MySql56 & DBF's

    Alpha 4, 5, Anywhere

    Ron Anusiewicz

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic Ted Giles's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ted Giles
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    In the Wolds, Louth, Lincolnshire, UK
    Posts
    4,145

    Default Re: Reports Issue

    Few of questions.
    1 how did you copy the report?
    2 are the databases the same Alpha build?
    3 are you able to change the order on the original report, on the original Db?
    Ted Giles
    Example Consulting - UK
    .

    https://exampleltd.example-software.com/
    See our site for Alpha Support, Conversion and Upgrade.

Similar Threads

  1. Linked Reports Argument issue
    By Rod Porter in forum Mobile & Browser Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-25-2016, 08:00 PM
  2. Weird Reports Issue
    By K2kcc in forum Alpha Five Version 11 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-09-2015, 02:38 PM
  3. Issue with group properties in reports?
    By DVSOL005 in forum Alpha Five Version 10 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-12-2011, 11:30 AM
  4. Search fields issue re: reports
    By jfg in forum Application Server Version 10 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-30-2010, 07:12 AM
  5. Margin issue when running reports
    By MarkDReigle in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 02-04-2009, 12:59 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •