Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: One to many child problem.

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    John Glasgow
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Ottawa Canada
    Posts
    19

    Default One to many child problem.

    I ham having a problem with a one to many child entry. When I add an entry to the table it works. When I add a second entry to the same table the first entry disappears in the embedded browse on the form and the net row is not accessible. Yet the entries are in the actual child table. The parent to many child link is with 3 fields. All are character and all are the same length. If I change the link to an auto increment numeric field on the parent with a corresponding field in the child table. It works. My original form worked. I have added a second child table with the identical linking fields. I removed the second linking table, to no avail. What have I missed?

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic MoGrace's Avatar
    Real Name
    Robin
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    3,584

    Default Re: One to many child problem.

    I thought this was new in v12, never saw it in v11, but now most of the time. I started using pop up forms to add new records - which doesn't always refresh the browse either. If there is a solution, let's hope someone will share it!
    Robin

    Discernment is not needed in things that differ, but in those things that appear to be the same. - Miles Sanford

  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic Ted Giles's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ted Giles
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    In the Wolds, Louth, Lincolnshire, UK
    Posts
    4,270

    Default Re: One to many child problem.

    Linking is always easiest using a Primary Key, so that is why it works with an integer.
    If you use links based on characters, you may want to put a trim() in the link, as in trim (mylink1)
    When I had this issue a long time back, the old data caused issues, so try the logic on a clean table from scratch, I would suggest.
    Another way to try is creating a concatenated field in the tables which represents the 3 fields you want to link on.
    As in;
    Commlnk = trim (field1)+trim (field 2)+trim (field 3) and use that field as the link between the tables.
    Ted Giles
    Example Consulting - UK
    .

    http://ec12.example-software.com//
    See our site for Alpha Support, Conversion and Upgrade.

Similar Threads

  1. Add First Child Problem
    By michaelwpayton in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-30-2009, 12:02 AM
  2. Parent-Child Problem
    By Charles Hoens in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-18-2004, 07:43 AM
  3. child problem
    By David Day in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-27-2002, 03:59 PM
  4. Delete Child Problem
    By Peter.Greulich in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-16-2002, 06:00 AM
  5. Child Posting Problem
    By aecone in forum Alpha Five Versions 2 and 3
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-22-2000, 03:02 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •