Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Switching focus from Form to Form not working correctly after software update

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Willy Berchtold
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    70

    Default Switching focus from Form to Form not working correctly after software update

    Changing focus form one form to another is not always working us it used to. On the top Alpha menu bar, record numbers change, but record navigation stays with the previous selected Form. I have to also click on a field to make it work. very annoying. I am still using Windows 7. I am not sure after which update it started. I think it was
    around mid last year. We still have an non updated (version 2999-4519) runtime desktop using the same workspace. no issue here.
    Hope a future update will address this issue

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic MoGrace's Avatar
    Real Name
    Robin
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    3,597

    Default Re: Switching focus from Form to Form not working correctly after software update

    Try compacting the database - after making a back up
    Robin

    Discernment is not needed in things that differ, but in those things that appear to be the same. - Miles Sanford

  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Finian Lennon
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    1,801

    Default Re: Switching focus from Form to Form not working correctly after software update

    For what it's worth, I'm using that same build (the 2999-4519 one, that is) and have never had reason to move off of it. There really haven't been many (any?) new features or fixes that would justify moving to a later build, and my impression is that the latest builds, because of the internal architecture changes, have been pretty buggy. So unless there is some important new feature in a later build, don't change.
    Finian

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic DaveM's Avatar
    Real Name
    Dave Mason
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Hudson, FL
    Posts
    5,994

    Default Re: Switching focus from Form to Form not working correctly after software update

    I am also using the same build and no issue. I have rt apps on all windows versions from XP3- 10+ and no issues by any of my clients or here. My computers are all on win10/10pro
    Dave Mason
    dave@aldaweb.com

    Skype is dave.mason46

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    Willy Berchtold
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    70

    Default Re: Switching focus from Form to Form not working correctly after software update

    I have not seen any improvements on the updates either. May be its best to stay with what is working

  6. #6
    "Certified" Alphaholic Ronald Anusiewicz's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ronald Anusiewicz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Southampton, MA
    Posts
    1,564

    Default Re: Switching focus from Form to Form not working correctly after software update

    That said, it would benefit the Alpha community greatly if you submit a bug report with a working example.
    Alpha Anywhere v3.5
    Version 12.3, Build 2999
    MySql56 & DBF's

    Alpha 4, 5, Anywhere

    Ron Anusiewicz

  7. #7
    Member
    Real Name
    Willy Berchtold
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    70

    Default Re: Switching focus from Form to Form not working correctly after software update

    For security and privacy issues I can not upload a bug report or workspace

  8. #8
    "Certified" Alphaholic DaveM's Avatar
    Real Name
    Dave Mason
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Hudson, FL
    Posts
    5,994

    Default Re: Switching focus from Form to Form not working correctly after software update

    Willy, Have you copied all to a nonsecure private invironment and tested for the same problem? If the problem still exists, then a bug report from there. If problem goes away, then the security and privacy algorythms may be at fault somehow. Contact your IT at that point.
    Last edited by DaveM; 03-11-2019 at 02:32 PM.
    Dave Mason
    dave@aldaweb.com

    Skype is dave.mason46

  9. #9
    Member
    Real Name
    Willy Berchtold
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    70

    Default Re: Switching focus from Form to Form not working correctly after software update

    Solved! Had a script on one form triggered by event: OnDeactivate Script was: "parentform.Commit()" removed it. works fine now
    Thanks for all the help

Similar Threads

  1. Put focus within form at the top field in the form when initializing form
    By BruceonA5V10 in forum Alpha Five Version 10 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-18-2012, 02:39 PM
  2. News and Update Window not working correctly
    By Lou Milone in forum Alpha Five Version 10 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 04-16-2010, 05:39 PM
  3. Embedded Browse on Form won't update correctly
    By brett s in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 08-02-2006, 09:40 PM
  4. Form calc display field not working correctly
    By Mike Konoff in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 12-21-2001, 04:39 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •