Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Roll back Function

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Alex Muir
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Stocksfield UK
    Posts
    426

    Default Roll back Function

    Hello

    I am 100% sure we are not the only ones who have experienced it, but networks and their stability can vary enormously.

    Despite servers and workstations becoming increasing more powerful, we are still dependent upon the piece of wire or WIFI signal that connects everything together.
    Add an ill experienced bucket shop engineer who puts it all together, and you soon realise that the highly polished and professional Alpha application you have spent considerable time, effort, money and hair pulling building
    sporadically doesn't deliver through factors outside your control.

    On the desktop is it not possible to have a SQL rollback function.

    I understand there isn't a feature, but can Alpha not provide this functionality?

    Alternatively, has anyone developed their own tool to simulate the SQL roll back which we could purchase?

    Kind regards


    Alex
    Database Software Solutions Limited
    www.dbasesolution.co.uk
    PRECISE360 -
    LYNCHPIN -

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic Ted Giles's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ted Giles
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    In the Wolds, Louth, Lincolnshire, UK
    Posts
    4,270

    Default Re: Roll back Function

    What do you mean by Roll Back?
    At the record level or the application level?

    Edit. This should be possible.
    Rollback can be effected by using the Audit Trail file which, if used, will keep a list of the edits for a given record.
    Not sure how best this could be done, but if a Coder reading this can parse the Audit Trail and replace the changes with the original values, thatvwould work.
    Last edited by Ted Giles; 03-20-2019 at 01:46 PM.
    Ted Giles
    Example Consulting - UK
    .

    http://ec12.example-software.com//
    See our site for Alpha Support, Conversion and Upgrade.

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Marco Gallardo
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    33

    Default Re: Roll back Function

    Just out of curiosity, why not just use an SQL back-end?

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic Ted Giles's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ted Giles
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    In the Wolds, Louth, Lincolnshire, UK
    Posts
    4,270

    Default Re: Roll back Function

    Don't know if Rollback works on DT. Worth exploring but I suspect the app is heavily dbf oriented.
    Ted Giles
    Example Consulting - UK
    .

    http://ec12.example-software.com//
    See our site for Alpha Support, Conversion and Upgrade.

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    Alex Muir
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Stocksfield UK
    Posts
    426

    Default Re: Roll back Function

    Hello Ted

    I am thinking at the record level.
    For example I save a job and this recalculates the total labour and parts.
    But there is a loss of network connectivity, so the job record should revert back to its original status and a message or flag appear to warn the user.

    Regarding the audit trail function we have found that this causes substantial performance issues when run on a network, so we tend to avoid it.

    Thanks for your input.

    Kind regards

    Alex
    Database Software Solutions Limited
    www.dbasesolution.co.uk
    PRECISE360 -
    LYNCHPIN -

  6. #6
    Member
    Real Name
    Alex Muir
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Stocksfield UK
    Posts
    426

    Default Re: Roll back Function

    Hello Marco
    I would say cost of licencing is too high for customers.
    Our applications tend to go into an average of 6 users.

    Thanks for your input.

    Kind regards

    Alex
    Database Software Solutions Limited
    www.dbasesolution.co.uk
    PRECISE360 -
    LYNCHPIN -

  7. #7
    Member
    Real Name
    Marco Gallardo
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    33

    Default Re: Roll back Function

    Quote Originally Posted by alexmuir View Post
    Hello Marco
    I would say cost of licencing is too high for customers.
    Our applications tend to go into an average of 6 users.

    Thanks for your input.

    Kind regards

    Alex
    Ah I can relate to the cost being a factor. Our local application is actually on DBFs but last night I started to contemplate moving to SQL but we don't have money to just throw around. I haven't had a chance to research yet but MySQL might be a possible no-cost solution. MSSQL actually has a free version too, but it is only good up to 10GB.

  8. #8
    "Certified" Alphaholic Ted Giles's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ted Giles
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    In the Wolds, Louth, Lincolnshire, UK
    Posts
    4,270

    Default Re: Roll back Function

    Both.
    Try Smarterasp.net
    I have unlimited everything for $100 a year.
    Shared hosting, and I have AA and a separate web app runjing against SQL16

    Back to the question.
    Short of having a file which records the current status when Change is activated with a mechanism for replacing the data, I am stumped.
    So on Change, copy data to a separate table. If rollback required pick a date and do it.
    The rollback table can be purged up to 24 hours old?
    Ted Giles
    Example Consulting - UK
    .

    http://ec12.example-software.com//
    See our site for Alpha Support, Conversion and Upgrade.

Similar Threads

  1. SQL Server transaction won't roll back?
    By nlights in forum Mobile & Browser Applications
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-13-2014, 11:19 AM
  2. Disable browser BACK function
    By mikeallenbrown in forum Mobile & Browser Applications
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-03-2014, 12:50 PM
  3. Roll back to previous build?
    By wpickthorn in forum Application Server Version 9 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-10-2009, 01:30 PM
  4. How Do I "Roll Back?"
    By Rich Hartnett in forum Web Application Server v6
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-14-2005, 04:21 AM
  5. Patch Roll Back
    By Chris.Tanti in forum Web Application Server v6
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-10-2005, 06:20 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •