Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: No records in query

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Larry F. Carraher
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    185

    Default No records in query

    So, been using this form for a year or two. Today,
    when trying to open the form, it now says NO RECORDS IN QUERY.

    Sounds like there's something wrong with the database file.
    Reindexed, added new records and reindexed, added a new field, all with no good results.
    So, does anyonme have any ideas ?

    I'd appreciate it.

    Thanks,

    Lar

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic DaveM's Avatar
    Real Name
    Dave Mason
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Hudson, FL
    Posts
    5,983

    Default Re: No records in query

    Have you checked? Is there a memo field in the table? If so, check the size?
    Dave Mason
    dave@aldaweb.com

    Skype is dave.mason46

  3. #3
    Member Corelius's Avatar
    Real Name
    Cornelius Koempel
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Germany, Duisburg
    Posts
    168

    Default Re: No records in query

    Have you edit the form before? May there is a form filter?

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    Larry F. Carraher
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    185

    Default Re: No records in query

    Are there supporting files I can delete ?

    Still down.

    Lar

  5. #5
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Gregg Schmidt
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee
    Posts
    1,243

    Default Re: No records in query

    I would go right to the source.
    Verify the table(s) involved actually have data.
    Next, Check to see if the filter is requesting the right data.
    Easiest way to check if the filter is the problem is to eliminate the filter.
    Hope this helps.

    Gregg

  6. #6
    Member
    Real Name
    Larry F. Carraher
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    185

    Default Re: No records in query

    Well, I will try. However, I've checked the file. There ARE 2 MEMO fields. Correct type and length, now. That field was incorrectly defined previously.

    The file does in fact have approx. 3,500 records. The records appear to have legitimate data.

    I am stuck.

    There are records in the file I CAN access.

    ?????????????????????

    Lar :-(

  7. #7
    Member
    Real Name
    Larry F. Carraher
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    185

    Default Re: No records in query

    So, here's an update. I think I have another database issue.

    The major should have AUTO INCREMENT field. Checked file structure - not there. Tried to set the field as AUTO INCREMENT - NO LUCK... ???

    Says, change already begun. I rebooted the PC without success.

    WILL NOT ACCEPT a change for that file.

    Any ideas are greatly appreciated.

    Lar

  8. #8
    Member
    Real Name
    Larry F. Carraher
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    185

    Default Re: No records in query

    I cannot make ANY changes now to the file. Error message says "Change Already Begun".

    How can I cancel that change ?

    Lar

  9. #9
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Gregg Schmidt
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee
    Posts
    1,243

    Default Re: No records in query

    The good news is your data is actually there. Just need to figure out why you can't get at it.
    This is difficult to help you through as we have no idea whether you're using dbfs or sql,
    or even which flavor of sql. All this info helps us give you helpful suggestion and often
    the correct solution.

  10. #10
    Member
    Real Name
    Larry F. Carraher
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    185

    Default Re: No records in query

    DBF's

    Keep hitting the "change already begun" error.

    How can I get past ?

    Lar

  11. #11
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Gregg Schmidt
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee
    Posts
    1,243

    Default Re: No records in query

    issue a command to cancel the change.

  12. #12
    Member
    Real Name
    Lonnie D Kelley
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    8

    Default Re: No records in query

    In Form Properties, under the Filter/Order tab, make sure there isn't anything in the Filter Expression.

  13. #13
    Member
    Real Name
    Larry F. Carraher
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    185

    Default Re: No records in query

    Lonnie,

    Much to my dismay, I tried your suggestion.

    SO FAR, SO GOOD !

    Don't remember making that changes but looks good... right now.

    Thank you,

    Lar :-)

  14. #14
    Member
    Real Name
    Lonnie D Kelley
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    8

    Default Re: No records in query

    LOL - it's happened to me a couple of times. I haven't put anything in there, but it ends up in there after something I do.

  15. #15
    Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,557

    Default Re: No records in query

    Quote Originally Posted by nugget3825 View Post
    Lonnie,

    Much to my dismay, I tried your suggestion.

    SO FAR, SO GOOD !

    Don't remember making that changes but looks good... right now.

    Thank you,

    Lar :-)
    That can happen when you call the form from a script with a filter, then go to design mode, make a change to the form and save.

    Always go back to the filter to see that it is what you want.
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

Similar Threads

  1. Query multible records the query against sql
    By steve745 in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-10-2010, 06:42 AM
  2. Help doing query on only records from another query
    By jaryder in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-30-2010, 09:48 AM
  3. Use variables in Xbasic for deleting duplicate records on query.order, query.filter,
    By leufj in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-23-2009, 09:36 AM
  4. Browse does not clear records after query and 0 records found
    By georgefurnel in forum Alpha Five Version 8
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-23-2008, 05:20 PM
  5. Query with no records displays old records
    By nedsim in forum Alpha Four Versions 7 and 8
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-17-2007, 11:27 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •