Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Script doesn't execute

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Bruce Roberson
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    88

    Default Script doesn't execute

    Why doesn't my script execute? I have a yes no dialog. In the case of the user selecting yes, it should follow with a playing of the script.

    If the user selects no or cancel, it should not run and should end the script.

    I started with an inline x basic where you don't write the code. The problem there was it let you choose Yes, No, or cancel, but then the actions of running the operations always followed regardless of the answer. So, I had to strip out those command actions and change it to xbasic code and try and edit that, which I did in the attachment. Now I just need it to behave as I described in the first paragraph.

    Thanks,


    Bruce
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,557

    Default Re: Script doesn't execute

    How is this code called and from where?

    If YES is selected you are setting Confirm_YES_Button= .t.

    If anything else is selected you are setting a variable to .f.

    Using the code you sent works as expected for me and only goes to the script_play_local() if YES is selected.

    I avoid script_play_local() for almost all items and instead build a specific UDF for that script. Easy to do.

    I don't think that is your issue, but instead is something before or after this code or how it is called.

    Since you started with action scripting is this one step of a multiple step action script?

    Remember that object names should start with a letter - only contain letters, numbers, and an underscore.

    I would not use the name of "Import/Upload History" for any object, but would use "Import_Upload_History"
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

Similar Threads

  1. Question about debugging xbasic script, specifically the SQL conn.execute...
    By coleresources in forum Mobile & Browser Applications
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-08-2015, 11:29 AM
  2. Wait dialog for Script to execute series of oiperations
    By JetLi in forum Alpha Five Version 11 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 03-25-2012, 05:08 AM
  3. Action script issue for SQL "Execute INSERT Query on a SQL database" using Excel 2007
    By ecsaltz in forum Alpha Five Version 10 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-19-2011, 07:07 AM
  4. execute a script on a schedule
    By lemandras in forum Application Server Version 10 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-18-2011, 04:20 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •