Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Report with table of contents

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    David L. Aery
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    336

    Default Report with table of contents

    I have a db, the data has fields:
    Item, Description, Department, Style, Size. Etc..
    in my Report I have Groups by:
    Department, Style, Size
    I am always adding records to the db.
    Is there a way to create a Table of contents with page numbers?
    Thanks,
    David
    A5V12.3
    Win7, 64 bit
    Qbks 2018 Enterprise
    QODBC R/W

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic Ronald Anusiewicz's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ronald Anusiewicz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Southampton, MA
    Posts
    1,583

    Default Re: Report with table of contents

    Alpha Anywhere v3.5
    Version 12.3, Build 2999
    MySql56 & DBF's

    Alpha 4, 5, Anywhere

    Ron Anusiewicz

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    David L. Aery
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    336

    Default Re: Report with table of contents

    thanks!!
    David
    A5V12.3
    Win7, 64 bit
    Qbks 2018 Enterprise
    QODBC R/W

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    David L. Aery
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    336

    Default Re: Report with table of contents

    I am having a lot of trouble.
    In the screen shot I am trying to make 2 columns but it has extra partial 3rd column.
    Also, how can I stop the repeating lines? this is not because of a set, this is that there is several items in the same "Group"
    the repeats are how many records are in that group.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    David
    A5V12.3
    Win7, 64 bit
    Qbks 2018 Enterprise
    QODBC R/W

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    David L. Aery
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    336

    Default Re: Report with table of contents

    through trial and error i did get rid of the extra / 3rd column.
    David
    A5V12.3
    Win7, 64 bit
    Qbks 2018 Enterprise
    QODBC R/W

  6. #6
    Member
    Real Name
    David L. Aery
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    336

    Default Re: Report with table of contents

    Where do I try to sort my table of contents alphabetical instead by page number?
    also i am getting extra column as shown in the pic
    Attached Images Attached Images
    David
    A5V12.3
    Win7, 64 bit
    Qbks 2018 Enterprise
    QODBC R/W

  7. #7
    "Certified" Alphaholic Ronald Anusiewicz's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ronald Anusiewicz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Southampton, MA
    Posts
    1,583

    Default Re: Report with table of contents

    I didn't even know this feature was available for reports.
    I found this video.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dIStUzdxb8M
    Alpha Anywhere v3.5
    Version 12.3, Build 2999
    MySql56 & DBF's

    Alpha 4, 5, Anywhere

    Ron Anusiewicz

  8. #8
    Member
    Real Name
    David L. Aery
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    336

    Default Re: Report with table of contents

    thanks!, that video is in the Alpha help but I couldn't get the sound to work. the youtube works fine.
    other places in help show places for pics but they no pic.
    David
    A5V12.3
    Win7, 64 bit
    Qbks 2018 Enterprise
    QODBC R/W

  9. #9
    Member
    Real Name
    David L. Aery
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    336

    Default Re: Report with table of contents

    can you direct me in the help how to setup a table of contents, the video does not show how that I understand. Trying to search in the help file I have not had any luck.
    the video shows that the table of contents along with the index and the bookmarks I can click on item in the table of contents and go to that part of the report.
    I don't understand how the index and bookmarks work together with the table of contents or if I need the index and bookmarks. I can't seen to get a grasp how to edit this other than change the fonts.
    David
    A5V12.3
    Win7, 64 bit
    Qbks 2018 Enterprise
    QODBC R/W

Similar Threads

  1. Report Table of Contents Page No Error
    By tev in forum Application Server Version 10 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-23-2011, 12:00 AM
  2. Large Report Mysql &Table Of Contents Video
    By chadbrown in forum Application Server Version 10 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-03-2011, 07:42 PM
  3. Report content preceding Table of Contents
    By mcohen in forum Archived Wishlist
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-30-2010, 09:29 AM
  4. table of contents
    By martinwcole in forum Alpha Five Version 10 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 08-28-2010, 02:31 PM
  5. Catalog with Table of Contents
    By burtnco in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-23-2000, 01:58 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •