Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Slow Reports

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Maurice Funnell
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Norwich, UK
    Posts
    93

    Default Slow Reports

    I recently had to move to a new WAS server (running Windows Server 2016) and did a full install of the Classic WAS version 5864-5310.
    Everything seems to be fine except for a number of reports which now take over 10 minutes to appear on screen. Everything else seems to be quicker as the new server uses SSD drives (two under Raid 1).
    I assume that Alpha still uses a separate report server to speed up reports but how do I know if this is the case and if it is working correctly?

    Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

    Maurice

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic peteconway's Avatar
    Real Name
    Peter Conway
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,593

    Default Re: Slow Reports

    This may help - but I can't find any docs about it later than 2012 an then it was a service pack.
    https://www.alphasoftware.com/video-report-server

    added:
    also read these:https://forum.alphasoftware.com/sear...searchid=61551
    Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.
    Albert Einstein, (attributed)
    US (German-born) physicist (1879 - 1955)

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Maurice Funnell
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Norwich, UK
    Posts
    93

    Default Re: Slow Reports

    Thanks Pete but unfortunately it says nothing about enabling the report server.
    Also your second link doesn't work.
    Such is life!

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic mikeallenbrown's Avatar
    Real Name
    Mike Brown
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    1,803

    Default Re: Slow Reports

    The report server is in your project properties. It should be enabled by default.

    Ashampoo_Snap_Sunday, July 21, 2019_10h19m02s_001_.png

    When the classic WAS is first started the report server is not running. Only once a report is ran Alpha will then, automatically, start the report server. If you open your task manager you should see two instances of Alpha running. One is the WAS the other is the report server.

    If you run the query, of a slow report, in SQL (I'm assuming you're using SQL here because you didn't say what backend you had) how long does it take on there?
    Mike Brown - Contact Me
    Programmatic Technologies, LLC
    Programmatic-Technologies.com
    Independent Developer & Consultant

  5. #5
    "Certified" Alphaholic peteconway's Avatar
    Real Name
    Peter Conway
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,593

    Default Re: Slow Reports

    Knew i'd seen it somewhere, cheers.
    Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.
    Albert Einstein, (attributed)
    US (German-born) physicist (1879 - 1955)

  6. #6
    Member
    Real Name
    Maurice Funnell
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Norwich, UK
    Posts
    93

    Default Re: Slow Reports

    Thanks Mike - I had also "forgotten" that it was now integrated into the project properties.
    Checked project properties and saw that it was not disabled - then ran slow report in one browser tab and opened application again in a second one to check that the print job was not interfering with it - worked fine.
    I then converted a copy of the report to a layout rather than a freeform report - if initial view was set to PDF it again took about 10 minutes to work, changed initial view to HTML and the report (it is only 2 pages) appeared immediately. If I then clicked on the PDF button it again took 10 minutes to produce the PDF file.
    Changed initial view to HTML Paged and it went back to 10 minutes.
    I can only assume that this is an Amyuni "problem" - any thoughts?
    And "Yes" it has a MySQL 5.6 backend.

  7. #7
    "Certified" Alphaholic mikeallenbrown's Avatar
    Real Name
    Mike Brown
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    1,803

    Default Re: Slow Reports

    Directly above the Report Server settings, in project properties, is PDF Printing Options. Maybe the XPS printer will work better for you.

    Ashampoo_Snap_Monday, July 22, 2019_07h33m09s_001_.png

    Did you run the report query in MySQL? How long does it take there? The point of trying is to make sure it's on the Alpha side of things rather than the DB side.
    Mike Brown - Contact Me
    Programmatic Technologies, LLC
    Programmatic-Technologies.com
    Independent Developer & Consultant

  8. #8
    Member
    Real Name
    Maurice Funnell
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Norwich, UK
    Posts
    93

    Default Re: Slow Reports

    Tried the XPS option but no difference.
    Definitely on the Alpha side of things as the layout report to HTML worked immediately and the reporting is all done with the Alpha report writer and its Datasource definition using Portable SQL to select the data to print.

Similar Threads

  1. Very Slow Reports
    By canc in forum Mobile & Browser Applications
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-15-2014, 12:11 PM
  2. pdf reports slow in IE 9
    By lemandras in forum Application Server Version 10 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-19-2011, 08:28 AM
  3. Reports slow to generate
    By DORaymond in forum Alpha Five Version 10 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-10-2011, 01:10 PM
  4. Reports slow compared to V1.
    By CALocklin in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 12-24-2001, 06:59 AM
  5. Slow reports
    By bobsk in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-18-2001, 04:32 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •