Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Field Rules not being updated in Desktop Application

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Luis E Rodriguez-Galvan
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Monterrey, N.L. Mexico
    Posts
    41

    Default Field Rules not being updated in Desktop Application

    In this desktop application the Field Rules (FR) were deleted. I define again the FR and save the Table with the FR updated, close the table and open again and the FR are not saved.
    The application was working very good and then it presented the problem. In some fields there were Lookups to another tables and they were erased.
    I tried to resolve in the testing app and in production and the same error appears in both.
    The application is in a shared server.
    I updated AA and the problem was not resolved.

    I'll appreciate if somebody could help me to resolve this.

    Thanks

    Luis R
    Mexico

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic MoGrace's Avatar
    Real Name
    Robin
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    3,660

    Default Re: Field Rules not being updated in Desktop Application

    Before you try re-adding the field rules, you might want to compact the database which should clear out any 'ghost' rules that might still be there in the dictionary files - can especially be true with table lookups.
    Robin

    Discernment is not needed in things that differ, but in those things that appear to be the same. - Miles Sanford

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Luis E Rodriguez-Galvan
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Monterrey, N.L. Mexico
    Posts
    41

    Default Re: Field Rules not being updated in Desktop Application

    Thank you for your response.
    I compacted the database, added the rules and the problem was not resolved.
    Please see videos:

    Here I compacted:

    https://take.ms/HeCij

    Here I added and FR:

    https://take.ms/Cha1q


    Thanks

    Luis R

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    John Fabrega
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    109

    Default Re: Field Rules not being updated in Desktop Application

    Quote Originally Posted by lerg View Post
    Thank you for your response.
    I compacted the database, added the rules and the problem was not resolved.
    Please see videos:

    Here I compacted:
    https://take.ms/HeCij

    Here I added and FR:
    https://take.ms/Cha1q

    Thanks
    Luis R
    I had started another thread on what may be the same subject before I saw this one. After adding a field to an existing table, ALL of the field rules for that table disappeared. I am trying to rebuild a few now to see if it is possible. I am running v12 5887_5315 what version are you on? Maybe there is a bug (though I'm currently more interested in a solution to restore the old field rules)

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    John Fabrega
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    109

    Default Re: Field Rules not being updated in Desktop Application

    Quote Originally Posted by JohnFabrega View Post
    I had started another thread on what may be the same subject before I saw this one. After adding a field to an existing table, ALL of the field rules for that table disappeared. I am trying to rebuild a few now to see if it is possible. I am running v12 5887_5315 what version are you on? Maybe there is a bug (though I'm currently more interested in a solution to restore the old field rules)
    After many hours of searching restoring from backups, etc, I stumbled upon this thread and was able to solve my issue.

  6. #6
    Member
    Real Name
    Luis E Rodriguez-Galvan
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Monterrey, N.L. Mexico
    Posts
    41

    Default Re: Field Rules not being updated in Desktop Application

    Quote Originally Posted by JohnFabrega View Post
    After many hours of searching restoring from backups, etc, I stumbled upon this thread and was able to solve my issue.
    There is no link to the thread

  7. #7
    "Certified" Alphaholic Ted Giles's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ted Giles
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    In the Wolds, Louth, Lincolnshire, UK
    Posts
    4,351

    Default Re: Field Rules not being updated in Desktop Application

    Luis, I have found that you need to save each new field rule after you create it.
    Trying to same multiple field rules never worked for me, so now I advise people to save each one as it is created.
    No need to come out of the FR screen, just hit Save.
    Ted Giles
    Example Consulting - UK
    .

    http://ec12.example-software.com//
    See our site for Alpha Support, Conversion and Upgrade.

  8. #8
    Member
    Real Name
    John Fabrega
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    109

    Default Re: Field Rules not being updated in Desktop Application

    Quote Originally Posted by lerg View Post
    There is no link to the thread
    Sorry, thought I had originally embedded it under the words 'this thread'. Here it is in full.
    https://documentation.alphasoftware....ld%20Rules.xml

  9. #9
    Member
    Real Name
    Wale Lasaki
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Abeokuta
    Posts
    37

    Default Re: Field Rules not being updated in Desktop Application

    Quote Originally Posted by Ted Giles View Post
    Luis, I have found that you need to save each new field rule after you create it.
    Trying to same multiple field rules never worked for me, so now I advise people to save each one as it is created.
    No need to come out of the FR screen, just hit Save.
    I think this is correct.please try it or re install the A5 afresh and come in with your data again. try to save in field rule area
    before going out....

  10. #10
    Member
    Real Name
    Luis E Rodriguez-Galvan
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Monterrey, N.L. Mexico
    Posts
    41

    Default Re: Field Rules not being updated in Desktop Application

    I tried defining the FR and saving for each field with and w/o going out and also uninstalling, downloading the latest version and installing AA (A5) and the problem continues.
    What it used to work fine it does not anymore.
    Do you think I have to report this issue to Alpha Software?
    Thanks

    Luis R

  11. #11
    "Certified" Alphaholic MoGrace's Avatar
    Real Name
    Robin
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    3,660

    Default Re: Field Rules not being updated in Desktop Application

    Have you tried duplicating the table (right click utilities) with none of the boxes checked to see if the new table will retain the new field rules?

    Also I noticed your table/set names are quite long and may not be unique for the first 9 chars. If Alpha cannot resolve the rule it will not let you create it.
    Last edited by MoGrace; 08-23-2019 at 10:34 AM.
    Robin

    Discernment is not needed in things that differ, but in those things that appear to be the same. - Miles Sanford

  12. #12
    "Certified" Alphaholic Ted Giles's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ted Giles
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    In the Wolds, Louth, Lincolnshire, UK
    Posts
    4,351

    Default Re: Field Rules not being updated in Desktop Application

    Well spotted Robin. I didn't look at the field names.
    Luis. Field names should be 8 char or less. This has always been a preferred option in Alpha,
    Ted Giles
    Example Consulting - UK
    .

    http://ec12.example-software.com//
    See our site for Alpha Support, Conversion and Upgrade.

  13. #13
    Member
    Real Name
    Luis E Rodriguez-Galvan
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Monterrey, N.L. Mexico
    Posts
    41

    Default Re: Field Rules not being updated in Desktop Application

    I reduced the table/set names to 9 char and it resolved the problem. I did not know that. So from now on I will make table/set names sizes to 9 or less char.

    Should I also make field names 8 char or less?

    Thanks.

    Luis R

  14. #14
    "Certified" Alphaholic MoGrace's Avatar
    Real Name
    Robin
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    3,660

    Default Re: Field Rules not being updated in Desktop Application

    8 is good for tables and 10 for fields as long as the first 9 are unique
    Robin

    Discernment is not needed in things that differ, but in those things that appear to be the same. - Miles Sanford

  15. #15
    "Certified" Alphaholic DaveM's Avatar
    Real Name
    Dave Mason
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Hudson, FL
    Posts
    6,011

    Default Re: Field Rules not being updated in Desktop Application

    Good job Robin. Have been caught many times with too long namings. 90% of the re-do/repair jobs I do, the first thing is to get file and field names into compliance. Sometimes that is an hour and sometimes many hours. Many hours is because everywhere in tha pp, those long names have to be corrected. I charge by the hour, so it can be a bit expensive to do. Another one is tables with 400-500- fields in them. That can really get exhausting.
    Dave Mason
    dave@aldausa.com
    Skype is dave.mason46

Similar Threads

  1. Application Server Vulnerability Notice *UPDATED*
    By Lenny Forziati in forum Announcements
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-09-2018, 10:25 AM
  2. Application Server Vulnerability Notice *UPDATED*
    By Lenny Forziati in forum Mobile & Browser Applications
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-07-2018, 04:51 PM
  3. Updated Web Application Framework from AlphaToGo
    By Steve Wood in forum Announcements
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-23-2017, 02:52 PM
  4. Hyperlink for Desktop Application Memo Field
    By jbk in forum Alpha Five Version 10 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-26-2012, 01:12 PM
  5. Event field rules not working the same between desktop and web
    By Sperrrow in forum Application Server Version 10 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-24-2010, 04:28 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •