Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Displaying Filters and Pointer arrys in same box

  1. #1
    Member Graham Wickens's Avatar
    Real Name
    Graham Wickens
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Gloucestershire, UK
    Posts
    753

    Default Displaying Filters and Pointer arrys in same box

    I got my script with my previous request (see
    what am I doing wrong with this {condition} in a dialog?


    I got it all working, but it became messy with dialog boxes all over the place !

    So I wonder if it is possible to prompt for a value and setup the pointer array using that uses this value in the same dialog?

    Set up my prompt for value "Code"
    Code:
    dim index as n
    ui_dlg_box("test",<<%dlg%
    {region=a}
    Code: [.10vSearchValue!Change];
    {endregion};

    Display the pointer array


    Code:
    {start_pos}
    {region=a1}
    [%O==eval(value + ".Code" + ' ' + value + ".Reg")%.48,1index^#Code_array];
    {endregion};
    {region}
    <12OK!OK>;
    {endregion}
    failed attempt to set the array with filter

    Code:
    %dlg%,<<%code%
    if a_dlg_button = "OK" then
        'do nothing - the dialog will close
    else if    a_dlg_button = "Change" then
        a_dlg_button = ""
        vFilter  = "Code = "-quote(vSearchValue)
        vOrder   = "Code+reg"
        code_rec_count = tablecount("logging",vFilter)
        if code_rec_count > 0 then
            dim Code_array[code_rec_count] as p
            Code_array.initialize_from_table("logging",vFilter,vOrder)
        end if
    else
        a_dlg_button = ""
    end if
    %code%)


    Can it be done, or am I wasting my time?
    Last edited by Graham Wickens; 08-23-2019 at 11:16 AM.
    --
    Support your local Search and Rescue Unit, Get Lost!

    www.westrowops.co.uk

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic MoGrace's Avatar
    Real Name
    Robin
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    3,641

    Default Re: Displaying Filters and Pointer arrys in same box

    This seems to be a potential conflict:

    vFilter = Vfilter+vFilter
    vFilter = "Code = "-quote(vSearchValue)

    Wouldn't the 2nd line overwrite the first?
    Robin

    Discernment is not needed in things that differ, but in those things that appear to be the same. - Miles Sanford

  3. #3
    Member Graham Wickens's Avatar
    Real Name
    Graham Wickens
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Gloucestershire, UK
    Posts
    753

    Default Re: Displaying Filters and Pointer arrys in same box

    first line since deleted!
    --
    Support your local Search and Rescue Unit, Get Lost!

    www.westrowops.co.uk

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic MoGrace's Avatar
    Real Name
    Robin
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    3,641

    Default Re: Displaying Filters and Pointer arrys in same box

    How about the ' - ' before quote?
    Robin

    Discernment is not needed in things that differ, but in those things that appear to be the same. - Miles Sanford

  5. #5
    Member Graham Wickens's Avatar
    Real Name
    Graham Wickens
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Gloucestershire, UK
    Posts
    753

    Default Re: Displaying Filters and Pointer arrys in same box

    --
    Support your local Search and Rescue Unit, Get Lost!

    www.westrowops.co.uk

  6. #6
    "Certified" Alphaholic MoGrace's Avatar
    Real Name
    Robin
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    3,641

    Default Re: Displaying Filters and Pointer arrys in same box

    See my post in the other thread, what you want is:

    vFilter = "Code"-" = "-quote(var->vSearchValue)

    ?vFilter
    Code = "the var content"

    if the content of Code has trailing spaces, then the content of both the field and var will be trimmed.

    But I may be wrong since I didn't test with a field.
    Last edited by MoGrace; 08-25-2019 at 11:43 AM.
    Robin

    Discernment is not needed in things that differ, but in those things that appear to be the same. - Miles Sanford

Similar Threads

  1. Set pointer from Form Window Pointer
    By pboomwork in forum Alpha Five Version 10 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-26-2016, 03:41 PM
  2. How to get pointer to child table from a <form> pointer
    By aschone in forum Alpha Five Version 8
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-07-2007, 04:22 PM
  3. url filters
    By finditqwik in forum Web Application Server v7
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-29-2006, 08:09 AM
  4. Filters
    By Robert Stewart in forum Alpha Five Versions 2 and 3
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-01-2000, 12:44 AM
  5. Displaying Report Filters
    By Jose de Leon in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-22-2000, 07:31 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •