Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Do you use TabbedUI for your apps, or different menu systems?

  1. #1
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Jaime Ben David
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Karkur, Israel
    Posts
    1,051

    Default Do you use TabbedUI for your apps, or different menu systems?

    Hi
    I'm looking at maybe using an UX with menubars and flyingout menus, instead of the TabbedUI. What do you guys use?
    Tried playing with ExpandingMenu control a bit, but it's a pain (if almost impossible) to adapt it to Right-to-Left environment...

    Thanks
    Jaime

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic CharlesParker's Avatar
    Real Name
    Charles Parker
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    New Orleans, LA
    Posts
    2,117

    Default Re: Do you use TabbedUI for your apps, or different menu systems?

    I use BOTH depending on what the user chooses. have a look at https://www.nwcopro.com
    username: owner@owner.com
    PW: qazwsx

    I am sure you will recognize the layouts and parts I might have used to produce the layouts. Basically if your on an ipad or mobile phone you'll want to choose the field app instead of the desktop app (which is the tabbedui)
    NWCOPRO: Nuisance Wildlife Control Software My Application: http://www.nwcopro.com "Without forgetting, we would have no memory at all...now what was I saying?"

  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Jaime Ben David
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Karkur, Israel
    Posts
    1,051

    Default Re: Do you use TabbedUI for your apps, or different menu systems?

    That's nice Charles. I see what you did. I am a little scared to use a ux with panels, it becomes slow quite fast when adding many panels that run grids and ux each

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic CharlesParker's Avatar
    Real Name
    Charles Parker
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    New Orleans, LA
    Posts
    2,117

    Default Re: Do you use TabbedUI for your apps, or different menu systems?

    It can. I would recommend building it as compartmentalized as possible, in other words build a stage to house embedded components with delayed render. Also keep the number of fields down to the absolute minimum. Another thing you can do is load a list without a detail view, then open an editing component to select only the one record your editing. Also, and probably most important is to index the database table on the filtering criteria and move that field or fields to be first in order - this seems to make a huge difference in timing. Beyond that, you can use a view for that initial list with ONLY the fields you will display in the list and that will load much faster than a full table, like I said, to edit just make another component that will load the single row.
    NWCOPRO: Nuisance Wildlife Control Software My Application: http://www.nwcopro.com "Without forgetting, we would have no memory at all...now what was I saying?"

Similar Threads

  1. TabbedUI Menu Button advanced styling
    By coleresources in forum Mobile & Browser Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-22-2014, 01:21 PM
  2. TabbedUI Menu Button advanced styling
    By coleresources in forum Application Server Version 11 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-21-2014, 02:27 AM
  3. Mobile TabbedUI Show Menu When Tab Closed.
    By tommyrotten in forum Application Server Version 11 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-22-2012, 06:41 PM
  4. Alpha web apps linked to TAPI/phone systems
    By benne30 in forum Application Server Version 11 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-19-2012, 10:30 AM
  5. networking 2 systems
    By terry beeman in forum Alpha Four Version 6 and Prior
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-15-2000, 03:43 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •