Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Unable to Open Report

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Terance
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    3

    Default Unable to Open Report

    I have created a report. Then I created a button and added Action Javascript to open that report by PDF. It works in both Working and Live Preview. However, I got "500 - Internal server error" after publishing. Please help.

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic Ted Giles's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ted Giles
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    In the Wolds, Louth, Lincolnshire, UK
    Posts
    4,355

    Default Re: Unable to Open Report

    Check that you have set file permissions to Read/Write on the server.
    Ted Giles
    Example Consulting - UK
    .

    http://ec12.example-software.com//
    See our site for Alpha Support, Conversion and Upgrade.

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Terance
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: Unable to Open Report

    Quote Originally Posted by Ted Giles View Post
    Check that you have set file permissions to Read/Write on the server.
    Thank you for your reply. Sorry, I am new to Alpha and not quite sure about the mechanism for opening PDF report by Alpha apps. I created the report layout with database connection and extracting data from SQL Server; I suppose the PDF will be generated when I click the button. Do you mean that there is a physical file existing in IIS Server and I have to set the file permissions?

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    Terance
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: Unable to Open Report

    Quote Originally Posted by terancetso View Post
    Thank you for your reply. Sorry, I am new to Alpha and not quite sure about the mechanism for opening PDF report by Alpha apps. I created the report layout with database connection and extracting data from SQL Server; I suppose the PDF will be generated when I click the button. Do you mean that there is a physical file existing in IIS Server and I have to set the file permissions?
    I have just tried to update the permissions in IIS server, however, the problem still exists. Let me further explain my problem: After clicking on the button, the windows pops up and loads for a few seconds. Then it is forwarded to index.a5w with response code 500. From the IIS log, I found that the .a5rpt is loaded with http response code 200.

Similar Threads

  1. Unable to open anything in workspace
    By irfan112 in forum Application Server Version 11 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-03-2015, 02:44 AM
  2. Unable to open Report - MySQL
    By JH10 in forum Application Server Version 10 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 08-04-2010, 05:36 PM
  3. Unable to Open Set
    By Phil Rolf in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 01-05-2003, 03:10 PM
  4. UNABLE TO OPEN DATABASE
    By Bobby Neal in forum Alpha Four Version 6 and Prior
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-12-2002, 05:14 AM
  5. Unable to open set
    By ed sclare in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-05-2002, 06:44 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •