Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: UX Component on Desktop

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Alex Muir
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Stocksfield UK
    Posts
    443

    Default UX Component on Desktop

    Hello

    Can someone be kind enough to point me in the Help where I can get information on this.

    Thanks you for your help. It is much appreciated.

    Kind regards

    Alex
    Database Software Solutions Limited
    www.dbasesolution.co.uk
    PRECISE360 -
    LYNCHPIN -

  2. #2
    Member
    Real Name
    Alex Muir
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Stocksfield UK
    Posts
    443

    Default Re: UX Component on Desktop

    Hello

    Can anyone point me to where in the Help system I can get up to speed on adding a UX component to a desktop?

    Many thanks

    Alex
    Database Software Solutions Limited
    www.dbasesolution.co.uk
    PRECISE360 -
    LYNCHPIN -

  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic MoGrace's Avatar
    Real Name
    Robin
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    3,696

    Default Re: UX Component on Desktop

    THIS ONE looks promising...
    Robin

    Discernment is not needed in things that differ, but in those things that appear to be the same. - Miles Sanford

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    Alex Muir
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Stocksfield UK
    Posts
    443

    Default Re: UX Component on Desktop

    Hello

    I think a faster learning curve for us would be to invest in some training specifically on how to add UX Components to desktop applications.

    Is there anyone out there who could help on this either by us physically visiting or on line?

    Kind regards


    Alex
    Database Software Solutions Limited
    www.dbasesolution.co.uk
    PRECISE360 -
    LYNCHPIN -

  5. #5
    "Certified" Alphaholic Ronald Anusiewicz's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ronald Anusiewicz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Southampton, MA
    Posts
    1,583

    Default Re: UX Component on Desktop

    Hi Alex,

    I dabbled a little with this and it is really quite easy.
    From the developer control panel, open the web control panel.
    Create the web component you want to work with and you are done.

    In my case, we created a menu ux that would open different web components
    from buttons. We create an autoexec script that would open the menu ux when the
    app was started. This all ran using the runtime version of alpha.

    In a sense. web components are very similar in how they work to xdialogs.

    What I did find was we had different issues depending on what version of Alpha we were using.
    Also, we found that the web components worked better with a SQL type of back end vs dbfs.

    If you want, you can private message me and we can set up a Skype connection and I can show
    you what I have done.

    Ron
    Alpha Anywhere v3.5
    Version 12.3, Build 2999
    MySql56 & DBF's

    Alpha 4, 5, Anywhere

    Ron Anusiewicz

  6. #6
    "Certified" Alphaholic MoGrace's Avatar
    Real Name
    Robin
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    3,696

    Default Re: UX Component on Desktop

    Hi Ron,
    Can you post a video link here? I would like to see what you have done too.
    Robin

    Discernment is not needed in things that differ, but in those things that appear to be the same. - Miles Sanford

  7. #7
    "Certified" Alphaholic Ronald Anusiewicz's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ronald Anusiewicz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Southampton, MA
    Posts
    1,583

    Default Re: UX Component on Desktop

    I do not have a video. I can use Skype, one does not need a camera, to make a voice call. I can then share my screen
    and demonstrate what I have done. One needs a Skype account, a microphone and speaker/headphones.
    Alpha Anywhere v3.5
    Version 12.3, Build 2999
    MySql56 & DBF's

    Alpha 4, 5, Anywhere

    Ron Anusiewicz

  8. #8
    "Certified" Alphaholic Ronald Anusiewicz's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ronald Anusiewicz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Southampton, MA
    Posts
    1,583

    Default Re: UX Component on Desktop

    I put together a very basic WEB on desktop application. You can run this from a runtime version or a developer version of V11 or AA.

    The last official version of 11 is 3381 but it has bugs that broke this app. I built this using V11 pre-release 3788. I know it runs using V11 Build 3788 and AA 4099 or earlier.

    I did not spend the time to make it pretty. There is data in the tables (DBFs) that you can edit, add to or delete. The app is using what was available in V11 at that time. AA has many more features that should work on the desktop. The down side is support for DBF files may be missing in more recent builds of AA.

    In addition, I did WEB on the desktop using a MySQL backend. Works just fine.

    Enjoy
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Alpha Anywhere v3.5
    Version 12.3, Build 2999
    MySql56 & DBF's

    Alpha 4, 5, Anywhere

    Ron Anusiewicz

Similar Threads

  1. A Web Component Desktop??
    By forskare in forum Alpha Five Version 11 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 41
    Last Post: 04-19-2013, 09:30 AM
  2. web component in desktop
    By GGandhi in forum General Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-04-2013, 04:31 PM
  3. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-19-2012, 11:44 AM
  4. Dialog Component for Desktop
    By gatorfans99 in forum Alpha Five Version 11 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-17-2012, 07:44 PM
  5. Web Component in Desktop App
    By omagarc in forum Application Server Version 10 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-28-2010, 07:14 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •