Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: File offset is to (sic) large

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Bob Shipley
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    43

    Default File offset is to (sic) large

    I have a table with 60214 records and is 21,313,402 bytes. I have an operation that has worked flawlessly for literally years that appends transaction table records to the larger table. I am now getting an error that states "File offset is to large". NOTE: this is a direct quote not a misspelling. Have I hit the maximum table size? I searched the forum have not found any reference to that error message.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Finian Lennon
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    1,805

    Default Re: File offset is to (sic) large

    This is not remotely close to the table size limit, unless you have exceeded the number of allowed fields which is(from my faulty memory) 512.

    Are there memo fields in the tables? if yes, I would suspect memo field corruption.
    Finian

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Bob Shipley
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    43

    Default Re: File offset is to (sic) large

    Thank you for the reply.

    Yes, there are memo fields involved.

    On the supposition that it's a corrupt memo field, I replaced the "faulty" table with one from a back up and tried to run the append again. Now I get an error that states "Error running append operation. Corrupt arena."

    I searched the phorum for "corrupt arena" but didn't find anything useful.

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic Tom Henkel's Avatar
    Real Name
    Tom Henkel
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    1,875

    Default Re: File offset is to (sic) large

    Did you replace ALL of the associated files? .dbf, .ddd, .ddm, .ddx, .ftp? Otherwise, things won't sync up properly.

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    Bob Shipley
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    43

    Default Re: File offset is to (sic) large

    Tom,

    Yes, I copied all the associated files.

    This is fixed. I presume Finian was correct and it was a corrupt memo field. I went back and restored the table and associated files from 8 weeks ago and then re-appended all the data since then (Yay! that was fun!) but it's operational now.

  6. #6
    "Certified" Alphaholic Ted Giles's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ted Giles
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    In the Wolds, Louth, Lincolnshire, UK
    Posts
    4,364

    Default Re: File offset is to (sic) large

    Bob, there used to be a repair feature for Memo fields.
    They are a real problem sometimes when corrupt and finding the bad one is a pita.
    It might pay to backup the table with the memo fields in it - say daily in a cycle which suits your data usage - so you can back track and restore as soon as you hit a glitch.
    Ted Giles
    Example Consulting - UK
    .

    http://ec12.example-software.com//
    See our site for Alpha Support, Conversion and Upgrade.

  7. #7
    Member
    Real Name
    Bob Shipley
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    43

    Default Re: File offset is to (sic) large

    Ted,

    I understand. I actually back up all files every night because Jesus Saves. This is exactly what saved my bacon this time.

    Bob

  8. #8
    Member
    Real Name
    Marco Gallardo
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    34

    Default Re: File offset is to (sic) large

    I once had a bad memo offset pointers cause an FTP file to grow in size AFTER packing.

    I was able to repair the file by removing the corrupt indexes from the DBF and letting the table.pack() function do the rest. I did loose the memos after the packing but from visual inspection of the FPT data I could see the memo was already lost. Sadly I don't think I had a backup that went back far enough to recover the data.

    FPT and DBF file structures are pretty straight forward and available online. If you don't mind using a hex editor and you might be able to do something similar. You can check my post on the topic, though I fear the solution post I made gets a bit confusing. I think my brain was scrambled after fixing my problem. Like a bozo, I had actually reversed engineered the pertinent parts of the DBF and FPT file structures... before realizing i could just look it up online. *SMH*

Similar Threads

  1. How to download a very large pdf file
    By jcarrallo in forum Mobile & Browser Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-13-2016, 11:50 AM
  2. Large File Uploads
    By draz9 in forum Mobile & Browser Applications
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-28-2014, 05:37 PM
  3. Large SEM file Question
    By Bill Walker in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-30-2005, 09:03 PM
  4. How Large a File does A5 Support?
    By Dana Shields in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-11-2003, 08:35 AM
  5. Large ALM file
    By richkerr in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-30-2003, 04:43 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •