New call-to-action
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Force Field Rules (OnWroteField) to execute

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Janet Frederick
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Posts
    6

    Default Force Field Rules (OnWroteField) to execute

    I have a browse that lists items records. There is a second (lookup) table which contains ranges for various fields of the browse table. Several fields in the browse table use the

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic MoGrace's Avatar
    Real Name
    Robin
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    3,739

    Default Re: Force Field Rules (OnWroteField) to execute

    Hi Janet - Welcome to the board.

    It seems your post got cut off - try again!
    Robin

    Discernment is not needed in things that differ, but in those things that appear to be the same. - Miles Sanford

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Janet Frederick
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Force Field Rules (OnWroteField) to execute

    Here's the rest of question...I have a browse that lists items records. There is a second (lookup) table which contains ranges for various fields of the browse table. Several fields in the browse table use the OnWroteField "trigger" in field rules. The OnWroteField script uses the item sku to locate the item in the lookup table, then validate that the the user entered a value that is within acceptable range for that field. I then put the result in a hidden field and use the column properties to modify the font colors in the browse accordingly. My problem is when a user changes the item sku value, the field rules (OnWroteField) for the fields in that row do not execute to refresh their values accordingly. My question: Is there a way to force the OnWroteField trigger to execute for specific fields when the sku changes?

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic Ted Giles's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ted Giles
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    In the Wolds, Louth, Lincolnshire, UK
    Posts
    4,492

    Default Re: Force Field Rules (OnWroteField) to execute

    Are you working with Scan Shark?
    Ted Giles
    Example Consulting - UK
    .

    http://ec12.example-software.com//
    See our site for Alpha Support, Conversion and Upgrade.

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    Janet Frederick
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Force Field Rules (OnWroteField) to execute

    No. Not working with Scan Shark.

  6. #6
    "Certified" Alphaholic Ted Giles's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ted Giles
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    In the Wolds, Louth, Lincolnshire, UK
    Posts
    4,492

    Default Re: Force Field Rules (OnWroteField) to execute

    Any chance of a small example?
    Ted Giles
    Example Consulting - UK
    .

    http://ec12.example-software.com//
    See our site for Alpha Support, Conversion and Upgrade.

  7. #7
    Member
    Real Name
    Janet Frederick
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Force Field Rules (OnWroteField) to execute

    I can provide a sample of the code, but I'm not sure it will add any clarity. The user is testing product samples and entering the test results. Simply put, when the user enters a new record in the browse, I use "Edit Field Rules" to verify, field by field whether each value is within an acceptable range (based on the item#/sku). If, after entering these values, the user goes back and changes the sku , the field rules that validated each field don't re-execute. So, the values are left as they were for the original sku. I'm wondering if I can somehow force the "Field Rules" to execute without the user having to go to each individual field and re-enter a value.

    If you'd still like to see a sample - I'd be glad to provide it. Let me know if you want screen shot of the browse or sample of the field edit code.

  8. #8
    "Certified" Alphaholic Ted Giles's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ted Giles
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    In the Wolds, Louth, Lincolnshire, UK
    Posts
    4,492

    Default Re: Force Field Rules (OnWroteField) to execute

    https://documentation.alphasoftware....ld%20Rules.xml

    Try this. You can add that process to a button or automatically OnSave, if I have understood what you are after
    Ted Giles
    Example Consulting - UK
    .

    http://ec12.example-software.com//
    See our site for Alpha Support, Conversion and Upgrade.

  9. #9
    "Certified" Alphaholic MoGrace's Avatar
    Real Name
    Robin
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    3,739

    Default Re: Force Field Rules (OnWroteField) to execute

    A screenshot of the browse would be helpful. But you could also embed the browse on a form and pull out the fields for the current record onto the form for editing. Then you can use form or button events to validate & update the data.
    Robin

    Discernment is not needed in things that differ, but in those things that appear to be the same. - Miles Sanford

  10. #10
    "Certified" Alphaholic Ted Giles's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ted Giles
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    In the Wolds, Louth, Lincolnshire, UK
    Posts
    4,492

    Default Re: Force Field Rules (OnWroteField) to execute

    Working with a Browse to update records is sometimes a pita.
    As Robin suggested, a Form Field is easier to handle, but it's your train set and design.
    If you are amenable I would appreciate a look at where you are at the moment, so a Workspace to see and cogitate over would be great.
    Ted Giles
    Example Consulting - UK
    .

    http://ec12.example-software.com//
    See our site for Alpha Support, Conversion and Upgrade.

  11. #11
    Member
    Real Name
    Janet Frederick
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Force Field Rules (OnWroteField) to execute

    I've attached a screen shot of the browse. Here's the code from one of the field rules (OnWroteField tab). I use the "weight_calc" value to set the font color in the browse column properties. It's actually a saved field in the table which is useful when exported to Excel for further analysis.

    dim sku_current as n
    dim low_value as n
    dim high_value as n

    sku_current=testfile->sku

    'Get allowable range of values from lookup table
    low_value=lookupn("F",sku_current,"weight_low","items_qc","Item_Code")
    high_value=lookupn("F",sku_current,"weight_high","items_qc","Item_Code")

    if (low_value=0 .AND. high_value=0) then
    testfile->weight_calc="???"
    ui_msg_box("WARNING","The Item SKU or Range Values Missing",UI_ATTENTION_SYMBOL)

    else if (testfile->net_wt < low_value) then
    testfile->weight_calc="low"
    ui_msg_box("WARNING","Net Wt is below range. Range = " + low_value + " - " + high_value,UI_ATTENTION_SYMBOL)

    else if (testfile->net_wt > high_value) then
    testfile->weight_calc="high"
    ui_msg_box("WARNING","Net Wt is above range. Range = " + low_value + " - " + high_value,UI_ATTENTION_SYMBOL)
    else
    testfile->weight_calc="ok"

    end if
    Attached Images Attached Images

  12. #12
    "Certified" Alphaholic Ted Giles's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ted Giles
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    In the Wolds, Louth, Lincolnshire, UK
    Posts
    4,492

    Default Re: Force Field Rules (OnWroteField) to execute

    I would probably not have created a process this way, but then I don't know all the circumstances.
    So I created several scenarios using just Field Rules;

    Between Values
    From Cross File Validation
    Greater than or Less than Values
    Color switching based on values

    These all act as required with warnings as appropriate from the Browse when data is changed.

    May I suggest that you add the Re-evaluate Field Rules process to a Button and try that?
    If you struggle to find this feature, look in the Menu Commands which is in the Code/Action Scripting section.

    And, I would appreciate a copy of the example app if you have time.
    Ted Giles
    Example Consulting - UK
    .

    http://ec12.example-software.com//
    See our site for Alpha Support, Conversion and Upgrade.

  13. #13
    Member
    Real Name
    Janet Frederick
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Force Field Rules (OnWroteField) to execute

    Thank you for your feedback. Sorry, I got busy on another project. I looked at the re-evaluate field rules process, sounds promising. Can I add a button to a browse? Does this go back to the suggestion that a form would be a better choice for this situation? Also, couldn't find the Code/Action Scripting section - is this for forms?

  14. #14
    "Certified" Alphaholic Ted Giles's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ted Giles
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    In the Wolds, Louth, Lincolnshire, UK
    Posts
    4,492

    Default Re: Force Field Rules (OnWroteField) to execute

    Not just for Forms. For everything.

    Control Panel
    ..Code Tab - last on the right
    ....White Space Right Click
    .......New
    .........Action Scripting - you have a choice.

    It would be advisable to create a Form and insert the saved Browse, and then create the Reevaluate Rules.

    If you wish to use the Native Browse without having it embedded in a Form, add the Action Scripting to the OnRowDblClick in the Browse Properties, to test it.
    Ted Giles
    Example Consulting - UK
    .

    http://ec12.example-software.com//
    See our site for Alpha Support, Conversion and Upgrade.

  15. #15
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,662

    Default Re: Force Field Rules (OnWroteField) to execute

    Quote Originally Posted by SCity View Post
    Can I add a button to a browse?
    Yes you can add a button to a browse by modifying a column heading and adding a button - along with the normal heading text for that column.

    AddButton2Browse.jpg
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

Similar Threads

  1. Help with "onWroteField" in a field rule
    By Graham Wickens in forum Alpha Five Version 11 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-09-2019, 12:27 PM
  2. Should the OnWroteField event fire when the field is changed from a web page?
    By russgoeckner in forum Application Server Version 11 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-14-2013, 01:27 AM
  3. Field Rules "OnWroteField" events
    By enstorms in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-02-2009, 08:12 AM
  4. onwrotefield field event logic error
    By Bob Arbuthnot in forum Alpha Five Version 8
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 05-23-2007, 12:01 AM
  5. Force a Re-calc of field rules while inputing data
    By johngt in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-19-2001, 03:54 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •