Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: 2020 defaults to 1920??

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Terri Hernacki
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    South Elgin IL
    Posts
    170

    Default 2020 defaults to 1920??

    Came in this morning and our dates are now defaulting to 1920 instead of 2020. Where do I go to fix this?
    I was surprised because up to now our 'year' was always correct.
    Thanks in advance for any help.

    Terri

  2. #2
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,657

    Default Re: 2020 defaults to 1920??

    It's a setting that you need to change.

    Control panel - view - settings - system - date

    change 20 to 99 - a Y2K hangover that we won't have to worry about in our lifetime.
    Last edited by Al Buchholz; 01-02-2020 at 11:44 AM.
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Terri Hernacki
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    South Elgin IL
    Posts
    170

    Default Re: 2020 defaults to 1920??

    So I need to check 'Require all years to be fully specified' - yes?
    And that now forces the users to actually input the 4 digit year? they are used to just inputting the month and date and have the year auto populate, but if this is the only work around so be it!

    How are you?

    Terri

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Gregg Schmidt
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee
    Posts
    1,406

    Default Re: 2020 defaults to 1920??

    you do have the option of changing that 20 to 30 , which will solve your problem for the next 10 years.

    or

    change 20 to 99 - a Y2K hangover that we won't have to worry about in our lifetime.
    Last edited by Al Buchholz; 01-02-2020 at 11:45 AM. Reason: additional change option for the next 79 years.

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    Terri Hernacki
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    South Elgin IL
    Posts
    170

    Default Re: 2020 defaults to 1920??

    Thank you Al and Gregg!

  6. #6
    "Certified" Alphaholic MoGrace's Avatar
    Real Name
    Robin
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    3,714

    Default Re: 2020 defaults to 1920??

    99 might be ok if you aren't entering birthdates
    Robin

    Discernment is not needed in things that differ, but in those things that appear to be the same. - Miles Sanford

  7. #7
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,657

    Default Re: 2020 defaults to 1920??

    Quote Originally Posted by MoGrace View Post
    99 might be ok if you aren't entering birthdates
    It's only a default setting value.

    It can still be over ridden, so you need to pick the most likely occurrence and adjust for the rest by typing in the CCYY.
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  8. #8
    Member
    Real Name
    Marco Gallardo
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    36

    Default Re: 2020 defaults to 1920??

    Quote Originally Posted by TerriH View Post
    So I need to check 'Require all years to be fully specified' - yes?
    And that now forces the users to actually input the 4 digit year? they are used to just inputting the month and date and have the year auto populate, but if this is the only work around so be it!

    How are you?

    Terri
    If you are running a networked version like I am with multiple users, it might save you some trouble to change the setting programmatically.

Similar Threads

  1. A friendly word of warning about the date 01/01/2020
    By Jay Talbott in forum Windows Desktop Applications
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-25-2020, 08:47 AM
  2. Date Picker, Enter Year 2020 but Saves as Year 1920!
    By shood38 in forum Mobile & Browser Applications
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-14-2020, 06:14 PM
  3. As of April 2020 all new iOS PhoneGap Apps must use the Alpha WkWebview Plugin
    By Bob Moore in forum Mobile & Browser Applications
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-24-2019, 12:43 AM
  4. Updating Booking calendar for 2019 & 2020
    By Paul Keane in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-31-2018, 12:47 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •