Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: SQL Queries

  1. #1
    Sonia Sidhwaney
    Guest

    Default SQL Queries

    This seems so basic for any database but I have trouble finding a way to write sql queries to insert/update/delete/copy data fields from one table to another.
    I find sql genie only inside web components not at any command prompt.
    I tried to copy records from browse and pasting to xl, word or clipboard but only it works for one record ot first field.
    I am sure some of you must have been doing these operations. Please advise me, how do I accomplish simple data processing tasks of manipulating data among different tables.

    Thank you
    Sonia

  2. #2
    Former Alpha Employee Edward Larrabee's Avatar
    Real Name
    Edward Larrabee
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    1,385

    Default RE: SQL Queries

    Sonia,

    What you are looking for is not part of the current product. You will have some ability to do this in Alpha Five Version 7, but the full functionality is scheduled for Alpha Five Version 8.

  3. #3
    Sonia Sidhwaney
    Guest

    Default RE: SQL Queries

    Thank you for your response, Edward.
    so, it is going to be a long wait!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    I never thought this basic functionality is not part of alpha5.
    Sonia

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Cal Locklin
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    S.E. Michigan
    Posts
    5,763

    Default RE: SQL Queries

    What kind of data are you working with? If you are using .dbf files (the default file type for Alpha), there are ways to do everything you want but not with SQL.

  5. #5
    Sonia Sidhwaney
    Guest

    Default RE: SQL Queries

    i imported tables from access and oracle environment. I can always perform DML in any of access or oracle db. but i wanted to keep the interaction limited to alpha5 only in order to keep licensing cost down and keep users away from those environments, after I import tables. basically to simplify web design I need to keep redundent information of some columns in multiple tables and I do not want to enter data more than once. If you know how to copy few columns of table data into another without interacting with access or oracle, I like to hear about it.

    Thank you
    Sonia

  6. #6
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Cal Locklin
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    S.E. Michigan
    Posts
    5,763

    Default RE: SQL Queries

    i imported tables from access and oracle environment
    OK, this sounds like you have imported the data from another source and it is now in .dbf files which Alpha can manipulate any way you want to. PLEASE CONFIRM THIS. Also, does the data then remain in the .dbf files or are you trying to get it back to the Access/Oracle tables?

    I need to keep redundent information of some columns in multiple tables
    This isn't very clear to me. Maybe there is a word missing. Do you really mean you want to KEEP redundant info?

    Re-reading it a few times, I'm getting the feeling that you have the same info repeated in different fields of multiple tables. If this is true, I would suggest building an input form where the user can enter the data only once then your application would enter it into the tables via scripting when the user clicks the 'submit' button.

    If you build a separate grid on your form for each table and allow the user to enter data in each one, I don't believe there is any easy way to fill one table based on the other. In order to do that there would need to be something to submit the page so the data from the first grid could be entered into the second grid. (A button works but some javascript might be more "user efficient". General question - can javascript be embedded in an Alpha Web Component?) However, the logic for this would have to be carefully and accurately defined and I don't believe there is any way to accomplish it with the A5 genies. I do believe there are some potential pitfalls that will have to be carefully evaluated to avoid problems.

    Actually, I'd also recommend looking at this very closely to see if it is truly necessary to repeat data. Having the same data in multiple places is usually a recipe for problems later. (Unless, of course, the field is a linking field for a set.) I just went through it with a customer who had stored his customer names in at least 6 different tables. Over the years, some fields were 23 characters long, some were 27, some were 30, and the newer ones were 40. As you can imagine, some were abbreviated and some were not and, to make it worse, some abbreviations were different than other abbreviations.

    In his case, he was lucky because each table also had a customer number and those were all the same. Without that, it would have been nearly impossible to correct everything and commonize the names. (And, yes, I have run into situations were it was impossible to match up all the variations.) To fix it properly, we should have eliminated all the duplicate names but that would mean checking and modifying set relationships and field references on some 200 reports and about 150 forms - not something I look forward to even if he pays me for it. Just resizing the existing fields on all those layouts took me nearly 2 hours.

    Cal Locklin
    www.aimsdc.net

  7. #7
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Cal Locklin
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    S.E. Michigan
    Posts
    5,763

    Default RE: SQL Queries

    Wait a minute - if you are importing data from another table, why are you ENTERing data? Are you actually entering new records or are you CHANGING data in existing records. Changing data is a whole different story.

Similar Threads

  1. queries
    By Mike Finnerty in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-18-2003, 02:07 PM
  2. Migrating Queries
    By William R Schone in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-03-2003, 05:50 AM
  3. Queries
    By John Gagnon in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-04-2002, 02:11 AM
  4. Help with queries
    By Jamin Dunivan in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-24-2001, 06:26 PM
  5. Queries
    By Frank Cozzi in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-20-2001, 12:53 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •