Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Alpha Five as a hosted application

  1. #1
    Trevor Bramble
    Guest

    Default Alpha Five as a hosted application

    (note: My familiarity with Alpha Five is shallow at best, and some of this will likely reflect ignorance - I'm much more at home in more traditional web technologies.)

    We're examining an existing Alpha Five application with the intention of serving it as an application service provider (ASP) over the web.

    The idea is to have this app hosted remotely, available to several users from several organizations at the same time, each with their own unique data.

    We've determined that the application would require a separate instance for each organization, and so the question becomes: How many instances of Alpha Five can be supported, and what factors affect this, or would be affected?

    I have a vague notion of putting up a login page that, based upon the login, would send visitors to the appropriate instance (differentiated by port number) and perhaps even spawning the A5 instance in realtime when requested, then closing it when the session is concluded.

    Can anyone answer the question above or provide other insight into a deployment of this kind?

    Thank you,
    Trevor

  2. #2
    Alpha Software Employee Lenny Forziati's Avatar
    Real Name
    Lenny Forziati
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Alpha Software
    Posts
    4,701

    Default RE: Alpha Five as a hosted application

    Trevor, there is no need to use a seperate instance for each organization. In fact, it is not possible to use different settings for multiple instances of the server, they would all look at the same settings.

    What you are trying to do is called virtual hosting. This version of the Web Application Server does not have virtual hosting support built-in, but you can enable this using our module for Apache. It is still in beta at this time.

    It is also possible based on the scenario you describe (a centralized login), that you don't even need virtual hosting at all. Your login routine could set variables to control your application, such as database location, user preferences, etc all within the same web site.

    -Lenny

  3. #3
    Trevor Bramble
    Guest

    Default RE: Alpha Five as a hosted application

    -----
    It is also possible based on the scenario you describe (a centralized login), that you don't even need virtual hosting at all. Your login routine could set variables to control your application, such as database location, user preferences, etc all within the same web site.
    -----

    That's the way I'd like to do it, of course. But the application wasn't created with such considerations in mind and we're trying to avoid re-engineering the entire thing in the process. Though if it isn't possible to run concurrent instances of A5 with distinct configurations, that doesn't seem possible.

    Thanks, Lenny.

    Trevor

  4. #4
    Alpha Software Employee Lenny Forziati's Avatar
    Real Name
    Lenny Forziati
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Alpha Software
    Posts
    4,701

    Default RE: Alpha Five as a hosted application

    Trevor, if you have an existing desktop app, it is going to need to be at least partially recreated to web-enable it. If it is already built as a web application, you should be able to override any properties based on the login with rebuilding the whole site.

    -Lenny

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    john bowen
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    160

    Default RE: Alpha Five as a hosted application

    Trevor:

    Alpha 5 WAS server is set-up to handle this situation using Apache as your front-end server that will handle the virtual domains and send the requests to the appropriate back end server. In your case, you may want to have more then one Alpha 5 server... or you can run multiple (almost) virtual apps on one box.
    Along with this configuration you can also provide load balancing among several machined.

    BTW, Our beta test server is running multiple apps with multiple databases on one box.

    John Bowen
    www.Alpha5host.com

Similar Threads

  1. Can the desktop ver of A5V6 see a web hosted db ?
    By clintg@erols.com in forum Web Application Server v6
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-14-2005, 06:02 AM
  2. How can I Autoexec my new Alpha application?
    By Terry Trayton in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-19-2005, 02:24 PM
  3. building an application with alpha 5
    By alpa jaiswal in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-31-2002, 03:49 AM
  4. Does anyone know a CRM application for Alpha Five?
    By Enrique Rendon in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-03-2002, 01:39 PM
  5. Alpha WEB Application
    By Anthony Tampone in forum Announcements
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-23-2001, 03:05 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •