Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Port 80

  1. #1
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Bill Belanger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Caribou Maine
    Posts
    1,053

    Default Port 80

    I want Network Solutions to send the requests for my site to my own computer but they don't allow specifying a port number (:300) I know the default is 80 but I can't access my computer if the WAS is set to 80. What can be using 80?

    Thanks
    Bill Belanger

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Bill Belanger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Caribou Maine
    Posts
    1,053

    Default RE: Port 80

    Found my answer. Verizon DSL has different levels of service. If you go with a dynamic IP service, port 80 is blocked, if you pay for the static IP address, it is not.

    Bill Belanger

  3. #3
    VAR
    Real Name
    Cheryl Lemire
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Pembroke Pines, FL
    Posts
    2,914

    Default RE: Port 80

    Hi Bill,

    Try setting your WAS to port 81 and see if it works. The url to access it would then be: http://www.somename.com:81/

    Cheryl

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Bill Belanger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Caribou Maine
    Posts
    1,053

    Default RE: Port 80

    Thanks Cheryl. The problem is Network Solutions will only allow numbers and periods. It won't accept a colon. I'm trying to host my own website and I need to input the url at the DNS to forward the requests to my computer

    Bill Belanger

  5. #5
    VAR
    Real Name
    Cheryl Lemire
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Pembroke Pines, FL
    Posts
    2,914

    Default RE: Port 80

    I understand your dilemma. It is a personal preference I guess. I know the network solutions will only do the domain name (that is not a network solutions issue, I do believe it is all DNS). I have my WAS on port 81, my dns points pagecrazy.com to my network IP. I just have all my links that need to go to WAS hardcoded in so that it is pagecrazy.com:81/

    I realize this is not the best solution, but if you cannot use port 80, I see it as the only solution.

    As far as port 80, check to see if IIS has been installed. It was on my machine. I actually removed the service but still cannot use port 80 because my cable access connection blocks port 80 access to my network. So I am still forced to use port 81 :)

    Just thoughts and suggestions.

  6. #6
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Bill Belanger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Caribou Maine
    Posts
    1,053

    Default RE: Port 80

    Port 81 sounds like a good idea, then hackers wouldn't be so likely to get into my computer. I don't understand the "hardcode" When the DNS points to your IP, then how do direct it to port 81?

    Bill

  7. #7
    VAR
    Real Name
    Cheryl Lemire
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Pembroke Pines, FL
    Posts
    2,914

    Default RE: Port 80

    You can't direct it to port 81. You have to tell anybody that is going to access that domain name that they need to type :81 after your domain name in order to access the site.

    The hard coding I am referring to is if you are putting 'links' on a web site you would have to hard code the main page.

    a href="http://www.pagecrazy.com:81/"

    In my particular instance, my pagecrazy.com is pointing to a regular web server and I have home.pagecrazy.com pointing to my server IP. If I want somebody to access the site I tell them to go to http://home.pagecrazy.com:81/

    On my WAS pages within my site I can use normal path names in my links because they are coming in via :81 to begin with so that will carry them every where else.

    NOTE: You will not be able to access my site here now as it is NOT on :)

    I hope that made sense.

  8. #8
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Bill Belanger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Caribou Maine
    Posts
    1,053

    Default RE: Port 80

    Thanks Cheryl. I'm trying to get away from someone else hosting a site for me. I've had very bad luck with providers. My sites seem to always be down.

    On the other hand, I think Register.com gives you a free web page when you register with them. I could use that "one page" site to direct users to my "server"

    Thanks for the idea, I like it...

    Bill

  9. #9
    VAR
    Real Name
    Cheryl Lemire
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Pembroke Pines, FL
    Posts
    2,914

    Default RE: Port 80

    Hi Bill,

    That would work as well. However,

    ""then hackers wouldn't be so likely to get into my computer""

    If you are going to have a direct link to your site then you have no longer decreased the above. Then again, if your site is going to be public, then you should have the public link access available.

    That is a benefit of my having www.pagecrazy.com or pagecrazy.com in one location, and home.pagecrazy.com in another location. I am restricting access to home.pagecrazy.com. Of course, the best of hackers are not dumb by any means and if they really wanted access to my system, they would figure it out :)

    My pagecrazy.com is my business website which of course I want to be accessed by anybody and everybody that wants to see it. I use my home server for private or personal things, and for testing of course.

    Cheryl

  10. #10
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Bill Belanger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Caribou Maine
    Posts
    1,053

    Default RE: Port 80

    OK, got my static IP address which opened up port 80 to anonymous internet requests. Now, since I have four different businesses, and they are not at all related, I would like people who enter different URLs into their browser to get different home pages. I only have one IP address so my "server" needs to resolve the different requests to serve up different home pages. IIS does it with "host headers", by grabbing part of the URL that was used to request the home page in the first place. Can we do that with Alpha / WAS?

    Bill Belanger

  11. #11
    Alpha Software Employee Lenny Forziati's Avatar
    Real Name
    Lenny Forziati
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Alpha Software
    Posts
    4,680

    Default RE: Port 80

    “Virtual hosting” is the term for hosting two or more distinct web sites on a single web server. Each distinct site is considered a virtual host and each virtual host has its own configuration and settings.

    Without virtual hosting capabilities, you could host multiple sites on a single server, but they would all share a common web root and set of configuration directives. As a result, a user requesting http://www.site1.com would receive the same page as a user requesting http://www.site2.com. To get to the proper pages, you could instead use http://www.site1.com/site1 and http://www.site2.com/site2, but this is far less convenient for the web site users and still does not address the problem when a user forgets the full URL.

    The current version of the Web Application Server does not support virtual hosting natively. However we have a module for the Apache web server currently in final beta testing that allows the Apache server to become a front-end for your Web Application Server and enables virtual hosting, SSL and load balancing.

    We are also working to add virtual hosting directly to the Web Application Server itself. This will eliminate the need to use the Apache module for this functionality and make server administration more straightforward. However this will not be available as soon as the Apache module will be.

    Another option is for you to write a small A5W page that implements a limited virtual hosting configuration, then include this in every other page. There is a variable, Request.Host, that is available to each of your pages that contains the name of the requested hostname(*). This is the value that virtual hosting is based upon.

    -Lenny

    (*) The Host header is part of the HTTP/1.1 standard and must be included by all HTTP/1.1 clients (web browsers). However some older web browser still use HTTP/1.0, which does not include the Host header in the request. In this case, Request.Host will be empty. This clients will not work on any name-based virtual server.

  12. #12
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Bill Belanger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Caribou Maine
    Posts
    1,053

    Default RE: Port 80

    Thanks Lenny, it sounds like you'll eventually have exactly want I feel a lot of us want to do with WAS. In the meantime I'll just continue to pay Network Solutions to host a 1 page site for $1.50 per month with the appropriate link on that page. Not all that bad.


    I was told that virtual hosting would not support SSL so what you're saying is even better news.

    You guys are awesome!

    Bill Belanger

  13. #13
    Alpha Software Employee Lenny Forziati's Avatar
    Real Name
    Lenny Forziati
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Alpha Software
    Posts
    4,680

    Default RE: Port 80

    If you use name-based virtual hosting, you will only be able to use SSL for one virtual host. This is a limitation of the way the SSL protocol is implemented. Apache has a good explanation of why this is so on their site (http://httpd.apache.org/docs-2.0/ssl/ssl_faq.html#vhosts2), here is a synopsis:

    Because the SSL configuration would belong to the virtual host, the server needs to know which virtual host was requested in order to decrypt the SSL data. Hoewever the SSL protocol also encrypts the Host header, so it can't determine which host is being requested until after it decrypts the request.

    -Lenny

Similar Threads

  1. Port 80 Already In Use???
    By Rich Hartnett in forum Web Application Server v6
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-28-2011, 10:55 AM
  2. AOL and port 587
    By urbanski in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-13-2005, 03:21 AM
  3. port 80
    By Ian_Edwards in forum Web Application Server v6
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-20-2005, 09:43 AM
  4. USB Port
    By CubDriver in forum Alpha Four Versions 7 and 8
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-01-2003, 07:11 AM
  5. Port Alpha4 v8
    By jr223 in forum Alpha Four Versions 7 and 8
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-17-2003, 06:31 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •