New call-to-action
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: can't get A4V8 to run on XP

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Joe Cotten
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    4

    Default can't get A4V8 to run on XP

    I have used A4V4 for many years. Upgraded from 98SE to XP Profession last September. A4V4 ran fine under 98SE, but would not run under XP.

    Bought A4V8 to bring me up to date. I loaded it in my computer and it wouldn't run either. So, I gave up and forgot about it for a while. Now I need the program.

    I did a search in this forum for all things regarding XP and A4V8 not running. I saw a few posts describing the problem I am having, but never any response to those posts. I know others have had this same problem, but I could not find any cure posted.

    When I click on the A4V8 icon (c:/alpha4v8/a4v8.exe)the screen flashes and then disappears. The program loads and then quits in a flash. It will not run. By the way, the old A4V4 does the exact same thing, so it is probably something in the way my new computer is configured.

    I have done the files=255 and buffers=60 thing in the config.nt file. Made no difference.

    I have run the program compatibility thing in XP. It doesn't make any difference.

    I know this is a problem others have had... how did you fix it?

    Joe


  2. #2
    VAR davej's Avatar
    Real Name
    Dave Jampole
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Haughton, LA ( just east of Shreveport, Louisiana)
    Posts
    2,524

    Default RE: can't get A4V8 to run on XP

    Joe,

    I run A4V8 in Windows XP Pro on my development system to support one of my clients with no problem whatsoever. However, I did experience the problem you describe on my laptop and solved it by copying the attached file (AUTOEXEC.NT) to the Windows\System32 folder. Try it and see if it fixes your problem.

    Dave

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Joe Cotten
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    4

    Default RE: can't get A4V8 to run on XP

    Thanks, Dave, for the autoexec.nt file.

    It appeared to be identical to the autoexec.nt file I have, but just to be sure, I renamed my old autoexec.nt file and then copied yours to my system32 directory. It made no difference. Neither version of Alpha4 will run.

    I have 3 other DOS programs that are running fine under XP Pro. There must be some little kink in the Alpha4 software that XP doesn't like. I am just not smart enough to find it.

  4. #4
    VAR davej's Avatar
    Real Name
    Dave Jampole
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Haughton, LA ( just east of Shreveport, Louisiana)
    Posts
    2,524

    Default RE: can't get A4V8 to run on XP

    Joe,

    Sorry the AUTOEXEC.NT file didn't do the job. When I contacted them with the problem, the autoexec file fixed it for me.

    You might want to give Alpha a call and see if they have any ideas.

    Dave

Similar Threads

  1. That old chestnut - W2K & A4v8
    By Paul H in forum Alpha Four Versions 7 and 8
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-03-2004, 03:46 PM
  2. A4V8 NO EMAIL IN XP
    By Richard Marshall in forum Alpha Four Versions 7 and 8
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-26-2004, 05:31 AM
  3. I want to instal my A4v8.
    By Tony Nichols in forum Alpha Four Versions 7 and 8
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-15-2004, 12:57 AM
  4. A4V8 will not start (PLEASE HELP)
    By mike miyar in forum Alpha Four Versions 7 and 8
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-07-2004, 09:27 AM
  5. A4V8 will not start
    By mike miyar in forum Alpha Four Versions 7 and 8
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-17-2004, 10:18 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •