Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 28 of 28

Thread: Remote Access Software

  1. #1
    VAR davej's Avatar
    Real Name
    Dave Jampole
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Haughton, LA ( just east of Shreveport, Louisiana)
    Posts
    2,524

    Default Remote Access Software

    I have a client using A4V8. Both of us are running Win XP Pro (SR1). I'm looking for a remote access program that will allow me to provide remote support.

    I talked to GoToMyPC, but they told me their program would NOT work with a DOS-based program. Same with Laplink Everywhere. We tried LogMeIn Pro and it took a week to get his system repaired from the problems LogMeIn caused.

    I'm looking for a user who has first-hand experience with PcAnywhere and A4V8 (or V7 or V6) running under Win XP Pro that can share their experience.

    Dave

  2. #2
    Member
    Real Name
    Keith George
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Near Penzance Cornwall UK
    Posts
    205

    Default RE: Remote Access Software

    Hi Dave,

    I don't know for sure, but I believe the remote assistance built into XP will work with a DOS based program "if" it is displayed in a window.

    Good luck,

    Keith

  3. #3
    VAR davej's Avatar
    Real Name
    Dave Jampole
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Haughton, LA ( just east of Shreveport, Louisiana)
    Posts
    2,524

    Default RE: Remote Access Software

    Keith,

    Thanks for the heads-up. I'll play with it and see if it works for us.

    Dave

  4. #4
    Hugh Der
    Guest

    Default RE: Remote Access Software

    You could alwasy use something like VNC to remotely control the client machine and in so doing access the application. VNC is a freeware program.

  5. #5
    VAR davej's Avatar
    Real Name
    Dave Jampole
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Haughton, LA ( just east of Shreveport, Louisiana)
    Posts
    2,524

    Default RE: Remote Access Software

    Hugh,

    I completely forgot about VNC. Thanks.

    Dave

  6. #6
    Alpha Software Employee Lenny Forziati's Avatar
    Real Name
    Lenny Forziati
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Alpha Software
    Posts
    4,695

    Default RE: Remote Access Software

    Just another vote for Remote Desktop Dave. It's built into XP Pro and is much more responsive than VNC, pcAnywhere or the other remote control solutions. It should work just fine as long if you are running A4 in a window, I use it with command prompts all the time. I suspect you might have a problem if you try to run A4 in full screen though.

  7. #7
    VAR davej's Avatar
    Real Name
    Dave Jampole
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Haughton, LA ( just east of Shreveport, Louisiana)
    Posts
    2,524

    Default RE: Remote Access Software

    Lenny,

    Thanks for the info on Remote Desktop. I may have to use one of the other alternatives since my user want to run the A4V8 app in full-screen mode.

    Dave

  8. #8
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,628

    Default RE: Remote Access Software

    Dave

    Let m eknow if you find one that runs with a DOS window in full screen mode.

    I dont' remeber seeing one. For support purposes, I have to take it out of full screen mode to use connect remotely......

  9. #9
    Member
    Real Name
    Keith George
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Near Penzance Cornwall UK
    Posts
    205

    Default RE: Remote Access Software

    Dave, your client can use Alpha in full screen when all is well, you just need it in a window for any remote assistance work you want to do.

    Keith

  10. #10
    VAR davej's Avatar
    Real Name
    Dave Jampole
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Haughton, LA ( just east of Shreveport, Louisiana)
    Posts
    2,524

    Default RE: Remote Access Software

    Keith,

    You are absolutely correct. However, my end user is, to say it kindly, not very computer literate. I want to eliminate as much fog and confusion as possible. He likes to run in full screen mode and I'm concerned that I'll have to access his system remotely when he has left it in full screen mode.

    Dave

  11. #11
    Hugh Der
    Guest

    Default RE: Remote Access Software

    Dave,

    You just have to have him start the server function, say TightVNC Server on his machine when you need access. He can start by minimizing the screen and clicking on the Server application that you place on his desktop. After this he can just maximize back into his full-screen application. At your end when you are done you can remotely shutoff his machine or shutdown the Server application.

  12. #12
    VAR davej's Avatar
    Real Name
    Dave Jampole
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Haughton, LA ( just east of Shreveport, Louisiana)
    Posts
    2,524

    Default RE: Remote Access Software

    Hugh,

    Makes sense to me. Thanks.

    Dave

  13. #13
    Member
    Real Name
    Larry Carraher
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    WV
    Posts
    165

    Default RE: Remote Access Software

    Dave,

    Just reading through some of the V7/V8 entries and yours caught my eye.

    I work with beverage distributors all across the US. As you might suspect, they don't all have the same PC, OS, or experience level.

    I use XP-PRO x10 User and keep all 10 activity slots full - all the time.

    I have not yet found a situation where GTMPc does not work.

    I often times access UNIX, LINUX, RISC, etc. OS's.

    Hope this helps - or at least sheds some light.

    lar :-)

  14. #14
    VAR davej's Avatar
    Real Name
    Dave Jampole
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Haughton, LA ( just east of Shreveport, Louisiana)
    Posts
    2,524

    Default RE: Remote Access Software

    Larry,

    I should have 'closed the loop' and posted my results. Sorry.

    We are using Real VNC and it is brain-dead simple, (which makes it a natural fit for me), AND free. My client is NOT computer literate and even he can set up a VNC connection.

    Dave

  15. #15
    Member dpawley's Avatar
    Real Name
    David Pawley
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Denver, Colorado
    Posts
    133

    Default

    We are currently using Windows Remote desktop to remotely run a "query only" version of a A4v7 application. Seems to work okay. We are currently researching using Citrix for remote users who do not have a local machine to connect. I'll let you know what we find out.
    Dave

  16. #16
    Member
    Real Name
    Sabrina Steketee
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    5

    Default Remote Access software for WinXP that works well with A4v8

    Hi. We have used a program for years called Proxy that is put out by Funk software. www.funk.com . It is not free but it works really great for remote access and it works on all the various platforms we use (all windows versions and dos and netware). You can run Alpha full screen within a dos window. And it handles remote printing using the a4v8 windows drivers and has a great file transfer feature. It is much less overhead than any other remote access program we tried.

  17. #17
    VAR csda1's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ira J Perlow
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Boston, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    3,530

    Default

    Dave,

    Most A4v6 and up versions do not like PCAnywhere. I'm not sure of the reason, but it constantly gives problems when accessing A4 (Keys that take minutes to be accepted).

    I suggest using a VNC variant. I use UltraVNC available at
    http://www.UltraVNC.com

    It also has the side benefit of being free and works well.
    Regards,

    Ira J. Perlow
    Computer Systems Design


    CSDA A5 Products
    New - Free CSDA DiagInfo - v1.39, 30 Apr 2013
    CSDA Barcode Functions

    CSDA Code Utility
    CSDA Screen Capture



  18. #18
    VAR davej's Avatar
    Real Name
    Dave Jampole
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Haughton, LA ( just east of Shreveport, Louisiana)
    Posts
    2,524

    Default Remote Access Software

    Thanks for the suggestions - we settled on RealVNC and it works well enough for our purposes.
    Dave Jampole
    www.customalpha.com

    Women and cats will do whatever they want. The sooner men and dogs realize that, the happier they will be.


  19. #19
    Member
    Real Name
    MikeAdams
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Remote Access Software

    Hey. I have used PCAnywhere trial version on XP computer and it works good. Additionally, I have even used logmeinrescue, gosupportnow, etc. remote support tools demo versions and they are good too.

  20. #20
    Member
    Real Name
    William F Greenberg
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Loxahatchee/Palm Bech Florida
    Posts
    185

    Default Re: Remote Access Software

    I've used gotomypc and it runs a4v8 great. The issue is printing with it but if you transfer your dbf databases to your local computer you will be able to print.

  21. #21
    Member Tim Sutherland's Avatar
    Real Name
    Tim Sutherland
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    290

    Default Re: Remote Access Software

    Quote Originally Posted by BillWFG View Post
    I've used gotomypc and it runs a4v8 great. The issue is printing with it but if you transfer your dbf databases to your local computer you will be able to print.
    I've tried just about everything out there, and for printing remotely, I've found Teamviewer to be the most reliable.

    We access our system remotely on a regular basis and Teamviewer has worked very well for us.

  22. #22
    Member
    Real Name
    William F Greenberg
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Loxahatchee/Palm Bech Florida
    Posts
    185

    Default Re: Remote Access Software

    can you print when connected to a4v8 remotely with Teamviewer ?
    Last edited by BillWFG; 12-12-2013 at 06:48 PM.

  23. #23
    Member Tim Sutherland's Avatar
    Real Name
    Tim Sutherland
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    290

    Default Re: Remote Access Software

    Quote Originally Posted by BillWFG View Post
    can you print when connected to a4v8 remotely with Teamviewer ?
    I didn't start using Teamviewer until v10 of Alpha, but I am sure it will.

    It should print from any application that runs from within Windows.

    They have a free version if you'd like to give it a try.

  24. #24
    Member
    Real Name
    Alan Tattersall
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    13

    Default Re: Remote Access Software

    I've been using GoToMyPC for years for this very purpose. It works fine so long as you remain within a window. Full screen mode doesn't work

  25. #25
    Member
    Real Name
    William F Greenberg
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Loxahatchee/Palm Bech Florida
    Posts
    185

    Default Re: Remote Access Software

    Are you able to print when you login using GoToMyPc.com? My work around is to transfer the files I use to print with in A4v8 and then print from my locale machine.

    I hope you have a better way of printing.

  26. #26
    Member
    Real Name
    Alan Tattersall
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    13

    Default Re: Remote Access Software

    Because I'm running A4 in XP compatibility mode which itself is running under Windows 7 Pro 64 bit, I decided long ago to make all A4 printed output go to an XPS printer. This had the effect of transferring all printed output (in XPS format) to the Windows 7 operating system under which XP compatibility mode is running. This might seem left-handed but it has a number of advantages, one of which is it allows the users to freely print the XPS printed output to any Windows attached printer they like, networked or otherwise. They can also easily reprint reports they've managed to lose. Although this isn't the reason I did things this way, it also plays right into GoToMyPC's hands because, instead of printing the XPS file to a local printer, I can just as easily print it to the GoToMyPC printer which you can assign (in GoToMyPC) to any printer you like at your end.

    Of course, you don't have to be running in XP compatibility mode in order to print to an XPS file. If you're running A4 natively under, say, XP you can still print to XPS provided that you've installed XPS on XP. Hope this helps, it certainly works for us.

  27. #27
    Member
    Real Name
    William F Greenberg
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Loxahatchee/Palm Bech Florida
    Posts
    185

    Default Re: Remote Access Software

    I've kept 6 computers with Win XP operating system in them. This i s for my staff to run the A4V8. Also I have one person that's running an office in another city. This is where my issue is. They have to use the GoToMyPC to tie in and then do the transfer to print. Either I need to complete my Alpha Anywhere version of my program or learn how to setup XPS. I know I am going to sound very dumb but is there a driver for XPS or how do I send the data to print using it?

  28. #28
    Member
    Real Name
    Alan Tattersall
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    13

    Default Re: Remote Access Software

    You'd have to download and install the XML Paper Specification essentials pack - here is the link - http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/downl....aspx?id=11816
    You'd find this adds a printer called XPS Document Writer (or something like that). You can then point A4 to that printer in the same way as you do with any other windows printer. When you print to that printer using A4, a dialogue box comes up asking you where you want the printed output to go (just as if you were printing to PDF). Once it's printed to an XPS file, you double-click on that file, Print ... and this is where you can choose which printer you really want it to go do, including the GoToMyPC printer. In summary, installed XPS is much like installing a PDF printer, and the way you use it is the same. In fact, now I've said that, if your A4 supports printing to PDF, maybe you could use that instead of XPS?

Similar Threads

  1. Remote viewer software
    By Jim Stermer in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-26-2005, 07:58 AM
  2. Remote Alpha access
    By Jay Talbott in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-26-2002, 06:34 PM
  3. Remote wireless access
    By Steven Devaney in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-02-2002, 08:27 AM
  4. Remote access
    By tlyon in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-26-2001, 03:15 AM
  5. Remote access ot Alpha5.
    By Gil Smith in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-21-2001, 01:09 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •