Alpha Video Training

Thread: A4 was working yesterday, today it won't start!

Adam Lloyd

Default A4 was working yesterday, today it won't start!

I clicked on the desktop icon to start A4V8 today that I have been using for many many months. It started loading as it usually does, opening a dos window, but then the window just collapses and disappears. No error message, nothing. If I double click again, same thing happens.

Nothing has changed on my computer, except I downloaded and installed the microsoft security updates for Windows XP. I also deleted two files in my Sun Java directory, which I don't think have anything to do with A4.

I've also tried going to the directory where A4V8 is stored and directly clicking on the exe. Same problem.

Any ideas?

Thanks for your help!

Adam Lloyd

Default RE: A4 was working yesterday, today it won't start

PS - it occurs to me that if there is an error message, it might be zipping by so fast I don't see it. It may be useful if there is some way to slow down the loading process, or make the window require confirmation before closing. Is there a way to do that?

Real Name
    joseph mar

Try re-installing A4 and see what happens.

Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz

Adam

Use a DOS window that you open yourself.

Start - Run - cmd

Then navigate to the Alpha 4 directory and run the bat file that starts your app. The dos window shouldn't close and should show any messages.

The other option is to set the property of the dos window to not close on exit.

I like the first option because it is a temporary situation and does require you to undo things to bring it back to normal.

Adam Lloyd

I'm on WinXP, so unfortunately going through cmd just has the effect of a different method of starting the program - in windows - without any difference after the command has been entered. A new window opens up when I type "A4.exe" for example, as if I had clicked on an icon, and it quickly shuts off again.