Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: WinAgent Icon

  1. #1
    Bob Llllja
    Guest

    Default WinAgent Icon

    Does anyone know how to remove the WinAgent icon from the system tray in XP (A4V8) Thanks.

  2. #2
    VAR
    Real Name
    Cheryl Lemire
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Pembroke Pines, FL
    Posts
    2,914

    Default RE: WinAgent Icon

    Hi Bob,

    Right click on the icon and select STOP WinAgent. I unfortunately do not know how to remove it permanently. Every time you open A4 it will re=ap

    Good luck
    Cheryl

  3. #3
    VAR
    Real Name
    Cheryl Lemire
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Pembroke Pines, FL
    Posts
    2,914

    Default RE: WinAgent Icon

    Hi Bob,

    Right click on the icon and select STOP WinAgent. I unfortunately do not know how to remove it permanently. Every time you open A4 it will re-appear in the tool bar.

    Good luck
    Cheryl

  4. #4
    Bob Llllja
    Guest

    Default RE: WinAgent Icon

    Your correct on the right click--stop it. But like you said, it re-appears each time. I don't want it to be there! Aarrgghh. (Got's to be a registry entry (or something) somewhere. Does anyone know what the "Winagent" is specifically used for? (Is it required to run Ver 8 in windows, or it it specifically for the EMail portion (Which I don't use, want or need) I could then stop winagent from starting in the startup bat file. Anyone have any thoughts? Thanks.

  5. #5
    Mike Rasimowicz
    Guest

    Default RE: WinAgent Icon

    From what little I know about it, it is a program that is needed for Alpha to use the windows print drivers.

    I have a question for everyone. I have a vendor supplied application that was writen in an older version of Alpha. Now that we are using XP machines we had her move us to Alpha 7, but we still can not see our windows printers. Any ideas?

  6. #6
    Pawan Deshpande
    Guest

    Default RE: WinAgent Icon

    Hi Bob,

    Winagent.exe is found in your Alpha4v8 directory. This program sits in the memory and does your windows printing, emailing and faxing jobs. Everytime A4 starts, winagent will automatically start. Its written like that in Alpha_start1.bat. If you dont want it to be like that then, you can say "rem" before the command winagent "|path=spool|delete=yes|keep_req=no"

    So, your Alpha_Start1.bat should look something like this.
    rem winagent "|path=spool|delete=yes|keep_req=no"

    or you can altogether remove the line from the file.

    regards
    Pawan Deshpande.
    Alpha Software, Inc
    1-800-451-1018 ex - 23

  7. #7
    Member Mike Konoff's Avatar
    Real Name
    Mike Konoff
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    746

    Default RE: WinAgent Icon

    Pawan:

    Sounds to me that you will need winagent to print to windows printers. Can you explain how removing winagent.exe will effect printing with regard to printing in both the traditional dos manner that A4 was originally designed and to windows printers?

    Thank you,
    Mike

  8. #8
    Pawan Deshpande
    Guest

    Default RE: WinAgent Icon

    Mike,

    Yes, as you have mentioned, Winagent is required for printing to any Windows printer and also for Email and Fax functionalities.

    pawan.

  9. #9
    James Markis
    Guest

    Default RE: WinAgent Icon

    These posts are great. I had the same question and found it instantly here. Thanks.

    I also noticed that you can terminate the resident winagent right after use by editting the ALPHA_START2.BAT file which is self explanitory and looks like this (uncommenting the line means removing the "rem" before it, rem=remark) :

    rem There is no need to stop Winagent when exiting A4 because winagent.exe takes up so little memory.
    rem However, if you do want to stop Winagent when exiting from A4, uncomment the following line.
    rem start winagent "command=quit"

Similar Threads

  1. The elusive winagent.exe...
    By rae4sp in forum Alpha Four Versions 7 and 8
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 05-23-2005, 09:20 AM
  2. Windows can't find winagent
    By Ernest Paushter in forum Alpha Four Versions 7 and 8
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-17-2004, 08:36 AM
  3. Starting Winagent.exe
    By Bill W.F. Greenberg in forum Alpha Four Versions 7 and 8
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-12-2004, 06:19 AM
  4. Configure Email using WinAgent
    By Matthew Kruse in forum Alpha Four Versions 7 and 8
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-17-2004, 07:46 AM
  5. Alpha4v7 won't load winagent on my Windows98
    By Pamela Stevens in forum Alpha Four Versions 7 and 8
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-02-2002, 07:11 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •