Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: data entry changing

  1. #1
    Rick Pinley
    Guest

    Default data entry changing

    A4v7, when I make a change in my customer database, same customer number. I just want to changed name of person. All past invoices change to new name. How do I prevent this from happening?

  2. #2
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,628

    Default RE: data entry changing

    Rick

    To accomplish that you need to have the name of the customer kept at the invoice table in addition to keeping it at the customer level.

    My guess is that the customer identifier is the only link to the customer that is kept at the invoice level. So you are doing a link back to the customer table to get the name.

    Keeping the name at both the customer and invoice is redundant until there is a change of name, but it also keeps the history.

  3. #3
    Rick Pinley
    Guest

    Default RE: data entry changing

    Thanks for the quick reply.... I think I understand what you are saying..... I tried a different soulution and have really screwed things up..... My invoices now print multiple entries, I changes a few "set" settings I know of (mistake). I can't remember which ones I changed. Printer problems have arised also...... Any suggestions.....other than shoot it!

  4. #4
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,628

    Default RE: data entry changing

    Rick

    Can you go back to a copy that you had prior to the changes? Or can you zip it up and attach to a message or email it to me?

  5. #5
    Rick Pinley
    Guest

    Default RE: data entry changing

    Al

    I can do that. Im not sure which one is the offending file. I can zip and send everything. tell me where to send it too.

  6. #6
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,628

    Default RE: data entry changing

    Rick

    alb@bookwood.com

    Or when you put the cursor over a highlighted name you should see the email address in the browser status line. Or I click on the name and it starts my email client and addresses the email.)

    If the zip file is over 10 mb, send me another email. I'll have to give you an alternate method.

  7. #7
    Rick Pinley
    Guest

    Default RE: data entry changing

    Thanks for the help,it will take a few days to get it to youvery busy. I hope this wont inconvience you much.

    Thanks - Rick

  8. #8
    Rick Pinley
    Guest

    Default RE: data entry changing

    Al your address link does not work. Can you send another address....Thanks Rick

  9. #9
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,628

    Default RE: data entry changing

    Rick

    Thanks for letting me know. I've just noticed that some routing is not getting to me.

    As an alternate use bwslab@hotmail.com

  10. #10
    Rick Pinley
    Guest

    Default RE: data entry changing

    Al this one didnt work either

  11. #11
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,628

    Default RE: data entry changing

    Rick

    Did you get the email that I sent to your address directly?

  12. #12
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,628

    Default RE: data entry changing

    Rick

    I was able to send and receive to the hotmail account from my bookwood.com

  13. #13
    Rick Pinley
    Guest

    Default RE: data entry changing

    Al, still cant send file.

  14. #14
    Rick Pinley
    Guest

    Default RE: data entry changing

    Al, still cant send file. Im send one of them here

  15. #15
    Rick Pinley
    Guest

    Default RE: data entry changing

    Al, tried to send a file through here, didnt go either. Now what?

  16. #16
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,628

    Default RE: data entry changing

    Rick

    I sent an email with a link that you can use to upload the file.

  17. #17
    Rick Pinley
    Guest

    Default RE: data entry changing

    I used the up-link and was able to send the SBA file which is the environment which my Av4 work but I cant send the rest of the files must be to big. I'll try to par out those which you may not need and resend soon.

Similar Threads

  1. Changing data parameters
    By Toni Wynecoop in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-19-2004, 04:04 PM
  2. Changing imported data
    By Pat in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-13-2003, 07:34 AM
  3. Changing data in table
    By Greg Ojeda in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-17-2003, 12:05 AM
  4. Changing the prompt order for entry
    By Ron Rollband in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-02-2003, 01:21 PM
  5. Mystery of the changing data
    By Ohlen Cartmell in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-03-2002, 08:11 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •