Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Version 7 Running Version 3 Application

  1. #1
    Drew Newman
    Guest

    Default Version 7 Running Version 3 Application

    OK, I just upgraded to Windows XP and of course my old clunker Alpha 4 (Version 3), which ran just fine under Windows ME now crashes HARD. Nothing I do to the settings will make it run, and now it get a message that says:

    LAN Error: Adapter Malfunction - Please Reboot

    I'm not on a LAN, and from what I've read, only version 7 of the DOS program will work with XP . . .

    So I guess my question is whether or not the application I spent so long writing in Version 3 will transport seamlessly to version 7 . . . OR, if there's some trick I can get the program to perform to try and run in compatibility mode . . .

    Anyone have any ideas?

  2. #2
    Member
    Real Name
    Lee H. DeMary
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    4

    Default RE: Version 7 Running Version 3 Application

    I have exactly the same problem!! Hope someone comes up with an answer and soon---- Maybe its best to order the new upgrade version 7 -----Alpha advertizes printer drivers and such problems will go away with the new version 7 -----hummmm. My version of alpha4v3 has been running on Win95 platform for many years. Using two printer ports Lpt1 & Lpt2 hope the new version will allow that with XP. Shoot I guess I could have had a custom built up computer with Win95 but that presents problems for newer hardware ---- no way out but hope Version 7 works as advertized---
    Lee -

  3. #3
    Drew Newman
    Guest

    Default RE: Version 7 Running Version 3 Application

    I must say, I ordered version 7 and it came through as advertised, so far. The only thing I've had to was copy the a4pal file from my old system so I could use the same colors I was used to, as I had changed all the colors. Other than that it looks just like the old Alpha4 . . . I was hoping to get the new Zip Code directory, which apparently didn't come with it. I need to give them a call about that.

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    Allen Klimeck
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    539

    Default RE: Version 7 Running Version 3 Application

    do a search on the V6 forum for Lan error or similar

    try here:
    http://msgboard.alphasoftware.com/alphaphorum/read.php3?sortby=lastreply&direction=desc&num=5&id=4513&thread=4482

    all one line

Similar Threads

  1. Error 65535 Application Version 7
    By Diantha Wholey in forum Alpha Four Versions 7 and 8
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-27-2004, 05:52 AM
  2. V5 full version to home version
    By Marlene Brusko in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-04-2004, 09:19 AM
  3. Application Version Number
    By jeffemery in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-29-2004, 10:18 AM
  4. Home version to Full version compatibility
    By Marc King - A5solutions in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-21-2003, 10:04 PM
  5. Make a trial version of application?
    By Fred Daniel in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-18-2002, 06:09 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •