New call-to-action
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: MSVBVM60.dll Not found

  1. #1
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Ken Herrold
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Posts
    1,081

    Default MSVBVM60.dll Not found

    Guys:

    I'm not a user of blinking fields and have had no real printer issues with the new verson.

    I thought, Why not? - I'll just keep everyting up to date and loaded Selwyn 701 Patch. When I clicked A4.[exe] I got the above windows' error message. I'm sure it's something I did wrong.

    Ken

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Tom Cone Jr
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    23,317

    Default RE: MSVBVM60.dll Not found

    Ken, here's a wild guess...perhaps you aborted the installation routines prematurely? I suggest you reboot and try again. -- tom

  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Charlie Crimmel
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    West Virginia
    Posts
    1,695

    Default RE: MSVBVM60.dll Not found

    Ken:
    attached is the msvbms60 file.
    put it in the windows system directory

    one other thought: if you already have the file, then it might be a path problem.
    if you already have it in the windows system folder copy it to the directory where you installed version 7

    Charlie Crimmel

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Ken Herrold
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Posts
    1,081

    Default RE: MSVBVM60.dll Not found

    Tom and Charlie:
    Here's the scenario.. I was playing around with A4.exe [in Selwyn's ver 7.01 patch download] and, when clicked, the error was displayed and alpha did not load.

    I've since discovered that starting V7 with the alpha_start1.bat, which I edited to call alpha_start2.bat, replacing the variable %1,%2,%3. etc with actual db-to-open and app name, it all seemingly works fine. I did not specifically test the blinking field issue.

    I suspect that a4.exe is hard coded to the default install path and will only work if that path is left unaltered. I installed the program to C:A4V7 overriding the install suggestion for path.

    Can't figure why THEY did't just 'call' that second batch with the first. Apparently that is what the A4.exe is supposed to do.

    Just some observations. Any further thoughts from you guys?

    Ken

  5. #5
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Tom Cone Jr
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    23,317

    Default RE: MSVBVM60.dll Not found

    Ken,

    Only thought here is that perhaps it would be advisable to get more information on what A4.exe does and does not do before modifying the start up routines as you describe. The error message suggests to me that there's a pathing issue in your modified setup. -- tom

  6. #6
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Ken Herrold
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Posts
    1,081

    Default RE: MSVBVM60.dll Not found

    Tom:

    Played with it some more.....I failed to note that I've run a search for the subject dll and don't have it in my system. Charlie's, is the wrong one [or perhaps he named it wrong somehow].

    Mind you , I'm not complaining just investigating. The path issue I believe must be in the A4.exe as the paths that I edited into the Start2 bat work without incident. Still don't know what loads the DLL file especially when I can't find it on my system anyway. ENIGMA?

    Say, by the way, V7 DOES seem to be 'snappier' doesn't it? Maybe my imaginiation.

    Very insteresting Like they used to say on Laugh In.

    Ken

  7. #7
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Tom Cone Jr
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    23,317

    Default RE: MSVBVM60.dll Not found

    Ken,

    I think the missing dll is used by the installer. It's a version of the visual basic runtime engine (I think)... The fact that it's now missing is probably inconsequential.

    -- tom

  8. #8
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Ken Herrold
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Posts
    1,081

    Default RE: MSVBVM60.dll Not found

    Tom:

    We wonder why we just don't pick up the phone and call each other.

    Look what I foun about tbe dll at...
    http://www.antivirus.com/vinfo/virusencyclo/default5.asp?
    VName=WORM_NAKED.A

    Whew, can this be a monster or what?

    Ken

  9. #9
    Alpha Software Employee Selwyn Rabins's Avatar
    Real Name
    Selwyn Rabins
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    5,310

    Default RE: MSVBVM60.dll Not found

    The a4.exe program in the Alpha Four V7.01 patch (as well as all new versions of Alpha Four V7 sold after a certain date) requires the presence of certain system DLL files on your computer.

    The majority of newer machines already have these DLL files installed.

    If you get an error message when trying to run A4.exe, then your machine is missing these DLL files.

    You can download a program from our Web site that will install the missing DLL files.

    The URL for this download is:

    http://www.alphasoftware.com/ftp/alpha_four/V7/install_vb_runtime.exe

  10. #10
    Brenden Cobb
    Guest

    Default RE: MSVBVM60.dll Not found

    Ken-

    MSVBVM60.DLL is a standard Visual Basic 6.0 Runtime file needed by all Visual Basic 6.0 programs to run.

    There is no relationship between this DLL and a virus.

    -Brenden

    Brenden Cobb
    Alpha Software

  11. #11
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Ken Herrold
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Posts
    1,081

    Default RE: MSVBVM60.dll Not found

    Selwyn and Brandon:

    Thank you both - I'm downloading as we speak.

    H A P P Y N E W Y E A R to ALL

    Ken

  12. #12
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Ken Herrold
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Posts
    1,081

    Default RE: MSVBVM60.dll Not found

    More....

    We need to share this information to all to clear up possible misconceptions. What I found was that the MSVBM60.DLL is one file, among several others, that the Virus corrupts. What happened in my case is that I probably had the files, placed in the system by the default installation routine of Windows 98 [ver 4.10.1998]. My system WAS invaded by the Virus; Norton A-V found several infected files; and was unable to 'repair' these. They were either deleted or disabled by Norton. The downloaded replacements are, indeed back in the system and all performs as advertised - EVEN the blinking fields [full screen - not windowed, as before].

    The point in all of this is to clear up the fact that ONLY the AUTHOR of the VIRUS is to blame for this whole problem. We're grateful as always for the help from Alpha and for the download solution.

    ALPHA ON.... Everyone

    Ken

  13. #13
    David Mason
    Guest

    Default RE: MSVBVM60.dll Not found

    To all,

    I believe several of the VB files also have to be registered after they are copied to the proper folders. It may be a good thing if alpha sent them in an install program.

    Dave

Similar Threads

  1. Report not found
    By Louis Nickerson in forum Web Application Server v6
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 03-28-2005, 11:09 AM
  2. case_cmd() not found
    By fairviewcomputing in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-22-2004, 01:06 PM
  3. Property not found
    By Diana Lusty in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-28-2004, 08:45 AM
  4. Tagname Not found
    By Thomas Holt in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-06-2002, 12:48 PM
  5. No records found!!!
    By Jeremy Packman in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 10-09-2000, 12:47 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •