Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Crashes?

  1. #1
    Joan Hannan
    Guest

    Default Crashes?

    I'm a big fan of A4V6 except for the fact that it is constantly crashing - especially on a busy Monday or when I'm trying to get a last minute order out.
    Can anyone tell me if this problem has been solved with A4V7?
    I'm still using Windows 95, but hope to upgrade. Thanks for any help.

    Joan

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic DaveM's Avatar
    Real Name
    Dave Mason
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Hudson, FL
    Posts
    6,026

    Default RE: Crashes?

    Joan

    I have switched to a5 now, but use/used a4v6 for a long time and it rarely had a problem. I had fwew crash problems, and when I did, they were found to be my errors


    Dave

  3. #3
    Member Mike Konoff's Avatar
    Real Name
    Mike Konoff
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    746

    Default RE: Crashes?

    Hi Dave,

    It might be helpful to others if you post what those errors were that you found so that others may keep your experiences in the back of their mind when they experience crashes and possible have an opportunity to eliminate them.

    Thanks,
    Mike

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    Jeff Fried
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    589

    Default RE: Crashes?

    The point Joan is trying to make is whether, given a scenario in v6 that causes a crash, does v7 NOT crash under the same scenario. I would be highly interested in learning whether left alone, the v7 upgrade alone will solve many stability problems. Clearly there are many situations where user error and design will bring the system down, but it's those other, inexplicable crash scenarios that it would be interesting to see.

    Separately, I noticed the same DPMI is being used in v7. I know there was an alternate DPMI offering that sometimes solved some crash problems in v6. I was hoping to see an improvement or upgrade in the DPMI technology.

  5. #5
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Cal Locklin
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    S.E. Michigan
    Posts
    5,763

    Default RE: Crashes?

    Don't get mad - this is just intended to help...

    I learned the hard way - If my application crashes but others don't have the same problem, I'm probably doing something wrong. (Note: probably)

    Case in point: (This was an A5 app but concept is still applicable.)
    I recently developed an application that ran flawlessly on my single user computer but started causing crashes when run on the client's network. We later discovered that it worked flawlessly when only 1 or 2 people used it on the network. This made us suspect the network but a network expert checked it out - even temporarily ran all new external hardware for the network on the floor - and the problem continued. We now suspected a bad network card but it didn't seem to matter which computer was left off the network - as long as 3 or more used it, the system crashed. Finally, with the clients permission, I put the application on the network expert's own network just to prove that my application would work on a good network. WRONG - it still crashed. So, I spent a day and a half at the customer's office tracking down the problem and finally found a reference to an index named "Order_numb" that should have been "Ord_numb". There was no index named "Order_numb" but the script ran without error anyway. (OK, this could be considered a bug because it didn't send an error message but the basic error was still mine.)

    Luckily the customer was very patient as this took over 3 months to resolve.

    I'm not saying the problem is yours. I'm just saying, "Look REAL hard!" I have very few customers using A4 any more but those that did had very few crashes.

  6. #6
    Member
    Real Name
    Jeff Fried
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    589

    Default RE: Crashes?

    Thanks for your response. However, your response would suggest that Alpha Four v6 is perfectly stable and only user error can explain crashes. Why, then, does Alpha Software release version 7 saying that, among other improvements, it is more stable? What does stable mean? Resistance to user errors?

    I believe that there are situations where bugs exist within the code for Alpha Four (and almost every other commercial application) where instabilities cause crashes or other problems. Your point is not lost, however. It's true that there are some problems that are hard to find, which is the point I see you making. That is not, however, the issue I wanted to address. I wanted to address the issue of bugs within Alpha Four v6 that are solved in Alpha Four v7.

  7. #7
    Allen Palmer
    Guest

    Default RE: Crashes?

    I have found at least instance where V7 would not crash while V6 would crash with either DPMI extender attached to it. I am running under Win98 SE.

    I have developed a mail label designed to print envelopes in the typeset mode. Apparently it had been partially corrupted in such a way that it would print exactly the way I intended. When I brought it up to edit and tried to hit the Alt-O command, however, it would crash every time on V6. When the same file was opened with V7, Alt-O took me to the options screen where an extra field was listed with very unusual properties.
    Field: % (percentage symbol)
    Type: * (asterik)
    Len: 11
    Just: L

    I tried to remove every field from the label and then put one back but the wierd field remained. I ended up deleting it and recreating it which completely solved that problem.

    I'd like to think the failure of V7 to crash indicates more stability and it certainly led me to a good solution fairly quickly.

    Al Palmer

  8. #8
    Member
    Real Name
    Jeff Fried
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    589

    Default RE: Crashes?

    Interesting. And very encouraging.

  9. #9
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Ken Herrold
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Posts
    1,081

    Default RE: Crashes?

    Hi All...

    Have to share this with you. I too, have a personal application I use daily. I've also developed and sold several others - they don't crash without reason! I couldn't understand all of you talking about crashes until I saw my really first recent one - On V7! - right after the upgrade on this personal program which has run flawlessly for at least 4 years.

    Don't know why, but I examined the field rules of the crashing form and found a Trigger script attached on an 'exit field' event. The I remembered reading a 'readme.*' file in one of the upgrades prior to V7 that said "... not a good idea to use exit triggers..." Or words to that effect. I changed it to a 'enter' trigger on the next field and it stopped.

    You can guess that I blamed the #@!$#%ed Alpha 7 for the problem and was W R O N G. It's been several days of the same use and no crashes!

    SEE.....!

    Ken

Similar Threads

  1. A5 crashes - solved???
    By crimmelcp in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 03-20-2001, 04:32 AM
  2. More crashes
    By davidv43 in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-20-2001, 11:23 AM
  3. Crashes following upgrade to 4.5
    By Jenny Earnshaw in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-20-2001, 11:20 AM
  4. V1.03 CRASHES
    By andrew pettey in forum Alpha Five Version 1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-22-2000, 10:52 AM
  5. GPF Crashes
    By Bonnie Jacques in forum Alpha Five Version 1
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-17-2000, 09:50 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •